Is remote desktop connection only for computers within an internal network?

J32P2006

Gawd
Joined
Aug 27, 2005
Messages
681
Is Remote Desktop Connection only for connecting computers within an internal network?



For instance, Say I have two computers, each on it's own modem hooked to roadrunner. There within a mile from eachother, can I remote desktop from one to the other?

Also, if you can, then how do i set it up.
I see the tab Remote under My Computer Properties which you have to check both those check boxes, but what else do you have to do?

And how do you send an invite, or put in the person who can remote connect ?



Thanks for your time,
J32P2006
 

Kreator

Limp Gawd
Joined
Nov 17, 2005
Messages
251
Provided that it sounds like both PC's are running WinXP - you need the following:

-The external (public) ip address of each machine (http://www.network-tools.com will show you this when you first connect)
-Identify if you are using a router/switch with an internal network. IF so:
-Find the IP address on your internal network of those specific PC's
-Using the configuration page/software for either your router/switch, forward TCP port 3389 (default for RDP) to the internal IP's you found

-Then RDP into the external (public) IP address you first received and you should have connectivity.

Hope this helps
 

Kreator

Limp Gawd
Joined
Nov 17, 2005
Messages
251
no problem tell me if you run into trouble i frequent this forum looking for advice from those much more intelligent than i am
 

Malk-a-mite

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Feb 16, 2002
Messages
2,023
J32P2006 said:
I see the tab Remote under My Computer Properties which you have to check both those check boxes, but what else do you have to do?

And how do you send an invite, or put in the person who can remote connect ?

One of those boxes is for Remote Assistance, the other for Remote Desktop. They have different relationships to your computer and the type of access they offer.

Remote assistance walk thru:
http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/using/helpandsupport/learnmore/remoteassist/intro.mspx

Remote Desktop walkthru:
http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/using/mobility/getstarted/remoteintro.mspx
 

dbwillis

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jul 9, 2002
Messages
8,551
If you dont know the Internet IP's of the computers, you can always use one of the free DNS services (ie DynDNS) and then Remote Desktop to that address (www.webaddress.com)
 

feigned

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jan 7, 2003
Messages
1,224
no-ip.org is another. Highly recommended.

Good thing I saw this thread...forgot to reinstall the service to keep my no-ip address.
 
Top