Is it possible to share my pc's network connection w/ my 360?

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by dr.stevil, Jun 20, 2010.

  1. dr.stevil

    dr.stevil [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    12,551
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    In the room where my PC is, I also have my xbox. I do not have a wireless adaptor (yet) for my 360 and the cat cable coming into the room is just long enough to reach the pc. So if I want to go on live, I have to move the xbox near the cable and pull the cable from the back of the pc (which sucks if I need it while on live).

    The motherboard that I have has 2 onboard NICs, is it possible to use one for an incoming network connection/to the router and use the other to connect my xbox to provide Internet access to it? How would one go about dong this? Thanks
     
  2. CiscoInside

    CiscoInside Gawd

    Messages:
    546
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Might be better to just pickup a cheap switch, and hook the PC and xbox up to it?
     
  3. Nacho

    Nacho Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    471
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    You can use internet connection sharing (ics) to do this no problem. Although I would go with suggested previous and get a switch. A 100mbit switch can be had for pretty cheap these days.
     
  4. dr.stevil

    dr.stevil [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    12,551
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    well I ordered a wireless adapter for it so I'm not really wanting to spend any more money than I have to. I just need this as a temporary solution until that gets here. I'll check out ICS


    thanks a lot guys
     
  5. darkpaw

    darkpaw 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,282
    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Return the wireless adapter and get the switch anyways. Since you already have a line there no reason to go wireless, the switch will cost maybe $20 and the connection will be better.
     
  6. Hallis

    Hallis [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,615
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    i'd just do the Internet Connection Sharing thing if you've got a wireless adapter on the way. Less junk to plug in. that would be the cheapest stop-gap measure.
     
  7. dr.stevil

    dr.stevil [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    12,551
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    it's ok. I do move the console around from time to time so having the wireless adapter will make it much less of a hassle when I want to do that. I just wish they didn't charge as much as they do for them.


    I did get ICS setup and so far it seems to be working great. Thanks again guys, much appreciated
     
  8. MavsX

    MavsX [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,089
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    lol dude get a cheap ass netgear switch for like 40 bucks. get some longer cat 5 cables too. if it barely reaches. come on man!
     
  9. muzzle79

    muzzle79 Gawd

    Messages:
    636
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    the forums here and craigslist always have cheap equipment too : D
     
  10. MurphNutz

    MurphNutz Gawd

    Messages:
    657
    Joined:
    May 18, 2000
    You can get a switch for $20, easy. You might want to invest in one anyway, if the cable drop to your room isn't connected to a wall plate and the cable barely reaches.