Is it possible to overclock my gateway.

Discussion in 'Computers & Gadgets' started by Saint, Aug 10, 2005.

  1. Saint

    Saint Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    290
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2004
    Im trying to over clock my computer but I cant find any place in the bios that allows me to change anything I need to if I want to overclock. Are prebuilt computers locked so you cant overclock them or something?
     
  2. computerdude

    computerdude Gawd

    Messages:
    738
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2005
    Most if not all brand name comps are locked. They do that for warranty purposes. You are stuck with what you got unfortunately.
     
  3. Komataguri

    Komataguri 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,355
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    You can check the PLLs and see if CPUFSB supports it for overclocking the FSB in windows.
     
  4. DR_K13

    DR_K13 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,491
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    WARNING :
    DONT BLAME ME IF THIS F---S UP YOUR SYSTEM


    1)

    Take the memory out of your mobo on your Rig. Start it up with NO memory onboard, it'll beep repeatidly, let it go ahead and do so. After it finishes beeping, turn it off, and install in the memory and turn it back on. The computer will load into the bios stating that it failed bootup due to system frequencies, and might give you the options of changing them!!!! I did it to an old P3.. So far I've gotten a 300 mhz increase.

    2)

    try softFSB

    http://www.majorgeeks.com/download434.html


    3)


    try cpuFSB

    http://www.majorgeeks.com/download.php?det=420

    4)

    Try Clockgen

    http://www.cpuid.org/clockgen.php
    5)

    PLL IC mod!!

    http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?threadid=41097
     
  5. NitrouseXpress60

    NitrouseXpress60 Gawd

    Messages:
    616
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2005
    holy crap dude! does this work on newer systems?
     
  6. DR_K13

    DR_K13 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,491
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004

    I have heard about it working once or twice, but not likley.
    :(
     
  7. NitrouseXpress60

    NitrouseXpress60 Gawd

    Messages:
    616
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2005
    arg...lol i will try anyway :D

    nope, didn't work :(
     
  8. Saint

    Saint Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    290
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2004
    Im going to try some of that stuff right now thanks alot.
     
  9. NitrouseXpress60

    NitrouseXpress60 Gawd

    Messages:
    616
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2005
  10. Komataguri

    Komataguri 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,355
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004



    Linky no worky



    Any idea if this will work in a PCChips M925ALU Rev.7.3 ?
     
  11. NitrouseXpress60

    NitrouseXpress60 Gawd

    Messages:
    616
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2005
  12. DR_K13

    DR_K13 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,491
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004


    Linky Fixed



    Q#2 Dont know. Try it out :) ;)
     
  13. Saint

    Saint Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    290
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2004
    Whenever I start CPUFSB my computer just freezez.
     
  14. DR_K13

    DR_K13 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,491
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004




    It happens.


    Try Clockgen
     
  15. Komataguri

    Komataguri 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,355
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004

    Glockgen?

    Hrm...Can you use that to increase rate of fire of a Glock 31?
     
  16. cooter

    cooter Gawd

    Messages:
    872
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
  17. NitrouseXpress60

    NitrouseXpress60 Gawd

    Messages:
    616
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2005
    that was when i first changed it, i was like :eek:

    here is the final picture
    [​IMG]

    i posted this in the overclocking section, but nobody cares...its freaking amazing! all the threads in other forums i have read that no matter what, you cannot overclock gateways. i proved them wrong, now my gateway owns... :cool:

    but i lost some ram, i posted that in the memory section, but nobody knows! i also posted it in another forum, and nobody knows!

    can anyone reading this please tell me why i lost 17mb of ram? please
     
  18. DR_K13

    DR_K13 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,491
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004


    lol ooops typo :eek:
     
  19. MD_Willington

    MD_Willington 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,233
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    you may want to check the PCChips lottery...plenty of people with M925's over there...
     
  20. HOCP4ME

    HOCP4ME 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,959
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005

    Yeah, they lock it because they don't want newbies to call tech support and say "hello, I decided to look inside the setup thingie and I saw all of these numbers so I increased them as far as they would go so my computer would go faster and I also turned off the fans because they are very loud and I have A/C so I don't need fans and then I rebooted and the big square thingie in the middle of the plastic sheet that everything in the computer plugs into got red hot so I poured some water on it to cool it off and then there was a puff of smoke and the PC won't turn on now can you replace my computer?" :p