Is it booting/How to update BIOS on AB350 for Athlon 200GE

Discussion in 'AMD MoBos' started by craigdt, Apr 24, 2019.

  1. craigdt

    craigdt [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,031
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2016
    I'm putting together an ultra-budget machine for fun and have a Gigabyte AB350-Gaming motherboard for a Athlon 200GE to go in.

    It's my understanding that I may need to update the BIOS to work with the Athlon 200GE, and I'll need an older gen supported processor to do so.

    I don't have any other AMD processors or know anyone with one....

    What are my options here?
     
  2. mda

    mda [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,559
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    You mentioned that you 'may' need to update the BIOS.

    That board supports the 200GE from F23, which was released back in august 2018. If the manufacture date is newer than that, you're probably good to go.

    Assuming that you have an older BIOS than that, or can't tell based on any markings on the board, is there any local computer repair store you can take the board to to flash it?
     
  3. craigdt

    craigdt [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,031
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2016
    So I tried to boot it up and the mobo powered on, red led lights came on, and fans etc.

    But no video output.

    On 2 different monitors. Onboard video outputs and a GPU.

    Tried different memory slots.

    Reset the CMOS jumper.
    Pulled the battery.

    Always just shows "no video"

    Does this mean my mobo needs its BIOS needs updating and it's not booting?
     
  4. gigaxtreme1

    gigaxtreme1 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,501
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2002
    Sounds like it needs a bios flash.
     
    pendragon1 likes this.
  5. craigdt

    craigdt [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,031
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2016
    Yes, I tried a GPU too.

    Same story. No video
     
  6. gigaxtreme1

    gigaxtreme1 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,501
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2002
    I saw that after I answered. Gotta be a shop near by or if you put an ad on Craigslist for your area just to borrow a CPU.
     
    pendragon1 likes this.
  7. mda

    mda [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,559
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    If you don't know/can't find anyone that will help you out -- time to sell the board for a new one, or sell the 200GE and pick up a 1200/1300

    You can also find those CPUs, flash, and resell them
     
  8. rhansen5_99

    rhansen5_99 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,990
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2001
  9. Aluminum

    Aluminum Gawd

    Messages:
    628
    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2015
    Typical Internet 'Common Sense' on literally every PC hardware website: "yeah dude you gotta buy or borrow another CPU just to flash a bios, sucks man"

    OR

    Actual Technical Knowledge Reality: EEPROM programmers start at like twenty bucks, rarely require desoldering (clips work unless the circuit is weird) and can program 1000s of chips on all sorts of hardware, not just 1 motherboard 1 time.


    Something something something teach a man to fish, feed him for life.
     
  10. dvsman

    dvsman 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,638
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Back when I was test building a 2400G rig when they first came out and it wouldn't boot. I tried to go through that loaner program and just got the run around. Did you go through the mobo manufacturer? Did you try to return to the store where you bought the board? This was despite the fact that I offered to give them my CC info while I borrowed the chip. Really soured me on AMD for a hot minute. Luckily for AMD I was more sour on Intel, so in the end I let that one situation slide :-D
     
  11. craigdt

    craigdt [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,031
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2016
    So, I bought the board from a member here, so no go on returning it to the store.

    I did grab a R3 1200 for a good deal here in the For Sale section and the machine booted right up- so that's encouraging.

    performed the BIOS update but havent had a chance to drop the 200GE back in there.
     
    Azrak likes this.
  12. Azrak

    Azrak Gawd

    Messages:
    776
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2015
    I can't wait for ALL motherboards to have the ability to flash without a CPU or even memory. It should be the standard now given how often a new CPU requires a BIOS update to boot up.
     
    ir0nw0lf likes this.
  13. ir0nw0lf

    ir0nw0lf [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,289
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2003
    100%. I kept a little A6 AM4 CPU around when the 2xxx series came out, only used it to flash the BIOS/UEFI on boards to the latest version before dropping in a new CPU.
     
  14. craigdt

    craigdt [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,031
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2016
    Got this machine all together this weekend. Brings a tear to my eye :cry:

    Think I'm going to sell this little Ryzen 3 1200/AMD RX560 monster and start on the next uber budget machine.