is Gentoo my answer ??

hellomcfly

Limp Gawd
well after trying redhat and mandrake i have learned nuthing and dont want to bother with that crap anymore ,,

so here is the situation .

i want to setup a smooth working linux distro on my old computer
- pentium 2 - 266mhz - 64mb of ram - 6gig hd (maybe upgraded to 15gig)

computer will be used for internet - IM - email - mp3 - and everything else computers are used for except hardcore 3d games and photo software. and then setup to host a teamspeak server once all is setup.

so i know Gentoo would take along long time for me to setup. but would it run fairly decent ?? also is it possible for me to do the install on my computer in my sig and then swap the hd ?

i am a true linux newb so the install would be somewhat challenging because i really know little to nuthing

so does Gentoo sound like a plan ? or would you recommend something else

i have tryed
- redhat
- mandrake
- i attempted to install SuSE - but it just would not work
- got afew knoppix live cd's (are pretty cool)

thanks !

Gentoo is a major pain in the ass to install.. But once you get it up and running it is really nice. It comes with detailed instructions on how to install it and everything.. so if you're patient enough it'd be good to use.

its not really a pain, the x86 install guide is very very good, you should have no problems with that. Just follow what they say to you and you will have an up and running box. But it will take many hours to compile everything, especially if you plan on getting kde/gnome too. Just be prepared for that.
Any other questions ask back.:) happy to see another gentoo user

Would recommend slack, debian, gentoo or a BSD. Just make sure you are running a console. Anything more and the gui will suck that machine dry.

i was going to say he should try not running x at all, but notice how he said he was a linux n00b coming from mandrake, i dont think he is ready for a 0 gui system yet...

Originally posted by cloaked