Is 8gb ram enough for older pc or would it benefit significantly with 16 in gaming etc?

alpharalpha

Weaksauce
Joined
Nov 10, 2017
Messages
66
I'm upgrading the GPU in an old XPS8300 for a Christmas present to use as a gaming pc and wonder if adding and additional 8gb ram is necessary, has older i5 and am putting a GTX1050ti in it; good example of max load would be GTA5.
 

LukeTbk

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Sep 10, 2020
Messages
1,026
I'm upgrading the GPU in an old XPS8300 for a Christmas present to use as a gaming pc and wonder if adding and additional 8gb ram is necessary, has older i5 and am putting a GTX1050ti in it; good example of max load would be GTA5.
Would it be going from a 1x8 ram to a 2x8 or a 2x4 going to a 2x4 + 8, going to dual channel can have solid impact in some scenario.

You can look at videos like those (GTA 5 being featured, core i5 7th generation with a 1060):

But those often have clean/fresh install of windows with nothing but the game running for benchmarking.
 

alpharalpha

Weaksauce
Joined
Nov 10, 2017
Messages
66
Would it be going from a 1x8 ram to a 2x8 or a 2x4 going to a 2x4 + 8, going to dual channel can have solid impact in some scenario.

You can look at videos like those (GTA 5 being featured, core i5 7th generation with a 1060):

But those often have clean/fresh install of windows with nothing but the game running for benchmarking.
Currently 2x4, there are 4 slots so would add another 2x4gb (but in the video didn't seem to make much difference?)
 

LukeTbk

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Sep 10, 2020
Messages
1,026
Currently 2x4, there are 4 slots so would add another 2x4gb (but in the video didn't seem to make much difference?)
Yes if you were already in dual channel, for something like GTA 5 it seem to not change anything (but that computer is probably doing only that game on a clean windows).
 

alpharalpha

Weaksauce
Joined
Nov 10, 2017
Messages
66
Yes if you were already in dual channel, for something like GTA 5 it seem to not change anything (but that computer is probably doing only that game on a clean windows).
Well, I am going to do a clean install upgrade to Windows10--they still have Win7 that it came with. The pc isn't pretty much isn't used at all except as an HTPC and now a gaming pc so will stay pretty clean. So, no need for the extra ram? It'd cost $30 for the 2x4 extra sticks bringing it to 16gb; they might have this pc for the foreseeable future.
 

LukeTbk

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Sep 10, 2020
Messages
1,026
Well, I am going to do a clean install upgrade to Windows10--they still have Win7 that it came with. The pc isn't pretty much isn't used at all except as an HTPC and now a gaming pc so will stay pretty clean. So, no need for the extra ram? It'd cost $30 for the 2x4 extra sticks bringing it to 16gb; they might have this pc for the foreseeable future.
I do feel that $30 for going to 16 gig is such a nice deal that it goes near a non-brainer to me.

If windows end up using 3-4 gig, you go from 4-5 free gig to 12-13 free gig, it is almost tripling your amount of ram available for $30.
 

pendragon1

Fully [H]
Joined
Oct 7, 2000
Messages
25,384
I do feel that $30 for going to 16 gig is such a nice deal that it goes near a non-brainer to me.

If windows end up using 3-4 gig, you go from 4-5 free gig to 12-13 free gig, it is almost tripling your amount of ram available for $30.
an optimized windows install will use 1.6-2GB, so 8 would be fine BUT $30 for another 8 isnt bad. might as well, op.
 

alpharalpha

Weaksauce
Joined
Nov 10, 2017
Messages
66
an optimized windows install will use 1.6-2GB, so 8 would be fine BUT $30 for another 8 isnt bad. might as well, op.
Well, that's what I get for assuming; it's not 2x4gb but rather all 4 slots 2gb sticks; so would have to purchase full 16gb, new around $60 while it already has 8gb working that's otherwise be useless; changes things. Maybe could find some cheaper used, but is 8gb ok going forward? Am putting a GPU in it with 4gb, so there's that.
 

FlawleZ

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Oct 20, 2010
Messages
1,337
Well, that's what I get for assuming; it's not 2x4gb but rather all 4 slots 2gb sticks; so would have to purchase full 16gb, new around $60 while it already has 8gb working that's otherwise be useless; changes things. Maybe could find some cheaper used, but is 8gb ok going forward? Am putting a GPU in it with 4gb, so there's that.
I would leave 2x2GB and add 2x4GB. Should run dual channel 12GB and should suffice.
 

pendragon1

Fully [H]
Joined
Oct 7, 2000
Messages
25,384
Well, that's what I get for assuming; it's not 2x4gb but rather all 4 slots 2gb sticks; so would have to purchase full 16gb, new around $60 while it already has 8gb working that's otherwise be useless; changes things. Maybe could find some cheaper used, but is 8gb ok going forward? Am putting a GPU in it with 4gb, so there's that.
nah, it'll be fine at 8. the 12GB idea would work to. i'd try it with 8 first, i doubt it will be an issue.
 

alpharalpha

Weaksauce
Joined
Nov 10, 2017
Messages
66
nah, it'll be fine at 8. the 12GB idea would work to. i'd try it with 8 first, i doubt it will be an issue.
I'm also going to be upgrading/doing a clean install of Win10 on it; has stock mechanical hdd; has been suggested to add ssd ($55) think that'd be worth it?
 

pendragon1

Fully [H]
Joined
Oct 7, 2000
Messages
25,384
I'm also going to be upgrading/doing a clean install of Win10 on it; has stock mechanical hdd; has been suggested to add ssd ($55) think that'd be worth it?
yes. even like a $30 256GB ssd as the boot drive would be a night and day difference. you can use the hdd for extra storage/games.
 
Top