Internetworking Salary Survey (based on Cisco certification)

moetop

[H]ard|Gawd
I found this article interesting.

"Across the board, averages for all Cisco certifications are up -- and not just by a few thousand. For example, the average salary in 2004 for those of you who held a CCNA was $60,000 -- now, that number has jumped to a little more than $76,000. "

That's a significant jump. 22% overall which means over %5 a year which is better than the %3-%4.5 raises I got in the last 3-4 years

The region chart at the bottom is also very interesting.

i really need to get my MSCE

I am going to complain to work to get this.

how long does it normally take? ( i have been a network admin for 4 years for 2 different company's.. so I guess i wouldn't find it too hard)

Wow, guess i should have finished that CCNA training i was doing,

Of all things in IT I'm glad this is one of the few things that are still good.

Good GOD, i finished my classes last year. But too bad i did not try the exam.:mad:

Looks like i need to pull those notes back up.

My exam is next week. About fucking time though, I took classes of semester 1 and 2 of the academy program a few years ago but never realized it potential.

Salary surveys are pretty misleading sometimes. Don't be fooled into thinking you're going to be pulling in 76k for getting your CCNA. Experience, college education, who you work for, and what you do plays into this a lot. CCNA is a good stepping stone and will probably open some doors for you, but don't make the mistake of getting it with the expectation that you're suddenly going to be making a ton of money. More than likely, you'll be sadly disappointed.