Intel Sandy Bridge 2600K and 2500K Processors @ [H]

Champ

Gawd
Joined
Mar 22, 2006
Messages
724
whats the best guide or tutorial to overclock? I'm pretty new to overclocking.

I have a P67 Asus Sabertooth
 

doz

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jun 16, 2009
Messages
6,417
Yeah I want to hit 4.8 and not go over 70c load. Is that realistic?

Ive been running 1.48v on my 2600k for over 1.5 years now. No issues whatsoever. I keep temps well within the limits and it never loads above 70c even on a warmer day (25-26c ambient). Have a Noctua D14 cooling it.
 

blade52x

2[H]4U
Joined
Sep 9, 2006
Messages
3,167
Yeah I want to hit 4.8 and not go over 70c load. Is that realistic?

4.8 is pretty much the beginning to the overclock wall for SB chips. So it depends on how well your chip overclocks, your cooling, and your ambient temperature. It's certainly doable if you have a good chip with good cooling, but I'd say 4.6 is more realistic for a universal sub-70C loading target.
 
Joined
Jun 28, 2011
Messages
57
I just installed an H100 on my 2500k. I bumped it up to 4.5 with 1.27 volts and prime gets up to 80c within a few minutes. This cant be normal.
 

Forceman

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Aug 7, 2005
Messages
9,243
I just installed an H100 on my 2500k. I bumped it up to 4.5 with 1.27 volts and prime gets up to 80c within a few minutes. This cant be normal.

Yeah, that's too hot. Check and make sure your pump is hooked up to either a molex plug or a fan header that runs at 100%.
 
Joined
Jun 28, 2011
Messages
57
Yeah, that's too hot. Check and make sure your pump is hooked up to either a molex plug or a fan header that runs at 100%.

It is hooked up with the molex. I figured that would make the fans run at full speed. when I run prime the fans really start up.
 

yumimumi

n00b
Joined
Oct 2, 2012
Messages
7
It's a great processor. I have the 2600K (standard setting of 3.4GHz) and I think it's brilliant... Toppled ith the Asus P8Z68-V PRO with EPU mode on make the perfect combination of beast and energy efficent ;)
 

HiCZoK

Gawd
Joined
Sep 18, 2006
Messages
860
I am getting 2500k, p67 pro3 asrock board and kingston 1333 1.5v 2x4gb ram.

Hom much can I get on stock cooling and how? (That is after I upgrade bios)
 

sun_tzu

n00b
Joined
Sep 30, 2012
Messages
18
Stock cooling will take you pretty far, but I wouldn't recommend it when you can get a hyper 212 for like $20...
 

HiCZoK

Gawd
Joined
Sep 18, 2006
Messages
860
I am only planning 4.0ghz.
Whatever I do, it stays at 3.3.... this new bios. I am noob with it :p
 
Joined
Aug 29, 2012
Messages
41
I have not done a lot of overclocking before, and HATE the Gigabyte BOIS (confusing). I am checking to see if there are any red flags on this OC. I have run Prime95 for a couple hours without cpu reaching 60c (the alarm never went off anyways), but had to jump on the rig to do some work. Also, what other programs should I run to check stability and the like for a new rig.

I picked up a H100 yesterday for my i5-2500k on a Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H-WB (sig rig)

I was running the cpu at 4.2 on the stock hsf (i know it was way too much), but it was running ok with <60c cpu temps until I got a little farther into SWTOR.

So I got my rig running at:
103.56Mhz bclk x 47 multiplier for 4867.58Mhz
Vcore 1.26 DVID +1.1 for Vcore=1.356
cpu temp idle 38c cores at 51, 53, 47, 48
 

Forceman

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Aug 7, 2005
Messages
9,243
Don't bother with changing the BCLK, just use multipliers. Too much chance of causing other problems in your system to fool with for 3%.
 
Joined
Aug 29, 2012
Messages
41
OK, I was wondering about that. The OC software that came with the mobo turned that up so I just kept it there. I did lower the RAM speed down to 1600 though so it wouldn't damage that, and I read that if I am only gaming, I don't need 1866 ram speed anyways. I'll turn the multiplier back down and try the multiplier at 48 then.

The thing that I don't know is about the voltage. I could hold stable at 5Ghz @ 1.42v I think, with idle core temps at <50c, but didn't want to damage anything.

So I guess my next question would be: What is the cut off line for voltage?

And also: Do I really need that much speed for SWTOR?
 

Forceman

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Aug 7, 2005
Messages
9,243
Quite a few people have been running 1.5V since the chips came out without trouble, so I would think 1.45V would be fine as long as the temps were okay. But there's really no practical difference between 4.8 and 5.0.
 

HiCZoK

Gawd
Joined
Sep 18, 2006
Messages
860
4,2ghz.
1.3vcore
90C temperature in prime95 :LOL:

I need another cooler. Macho or some closed loop ?
 

EGM92

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jan 11, 2005
Messages
1,065
I was hoping someone here would be able to help me instead of me starting a new thread.

I purchased a 2600k when it first came out. Processor was great but for one reason or another it crapped out, and I had to send it back for RMA, the replacement crapped out within 2 months. I was told that my current CPU was from a batch that has been known to be giving them problems. The replacement for that was going to be tested and sent out (it wasn't, it was factory sealed).

After just over a year the 3rd replacement bit the dust, it started with failure to boot, no posts, or taking longer and longer to boot to finally just doing power cycles and refusing to turn on.

Through all this I haven't done any overclocking for any extensive period of time. I did overclock it a couple of times to 4.2/4.4 what my Asus board auto OC'd but nothing higher than that, and for no longer than a day or 2. I personally didn't feel like I got any gains from the OC during my regular usage.

I called intel inquiring about an RMA and they're giving me a really hard time, I've also been hung up on twice. Is there anything I could do to get them to replace the processor or exchange it for something else? I talked to a couple of service reps from alocal stores (NCIX/Canada Computers/ PC Parts Canada) and they've told me that they had nothing but problems with the 2600k in the past.

Any help would be appreciated!

System specs:

i7 2600k
16GB G.skill Ripjaw 1333
Asus P8P67 B3 Pro/Vanilla and Gigabyte P67A-UD4-B3
680GTX
1000W OCZ Z series PSU
 

dwilson041781

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Nov 10, 2004
Messages
1,761
Ive had my 2600k stable at 4ghz for 6+ months now at 1.25v...Today Ive got it at 4.5ghz at 1.38 stable so far, as far as gaming and streaming to twitch. Prime95 testing soon.

I recently added the hyper 212 evo with an additional 120mm cougar fan in push/pull before trying this overclock. Temps are now at 40 idle and 55 load. They were at 30 idle and 50 load with the lower voltage 4ghz Oc.

From what little Ive read 1.38v should be fine as long as temps are good as well.
 

dinlee23

Gawd
Joined
Aug 28, 2008
Messages
835
i have the same setup as you except mines at 4.8ghz with an evo 212 with push pull config too... prime 95 blend test hits 80-85 and thats with 5 fans in my case running at full speed... im adding a 200mm intake fan later on this week and well see what happens...
 

HiCZoK

Gawd
Joined
Sep 18, 2006
Messages
860
Can anyone explain me a PROPER way to handle thermal paste for 2500k ?

One drop and then radiator or just spread it? how thick?

Always for years I had problems with this
 

Forceman

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Aug 7, 2005
Messages
9,243
Can anyone explain me a PROPER way to handle thermal paste for 2500k ?

One drop and then radiator or just spread it? how thick?

Always for years I had problems with this

The conventional wisdom now is to put a small blob or line in the middle, and then use the pressure of the heatsink to spread it. Spreading it out first is not recommended any longer.
 

HiCZoK

Gawd
Joined
Sep 18, 2006
Messages
860
Is that an irony or true?

I was always taking a plastic card and spreaded it all over cpu's. Ofc I was always doping it too thick :p


So blob and done ?
 

faugusztin

2[H]4U
Joined
Mar 9, 2008
Messages
2,668
That is not an irony. If you spread it yoursef, you spread it uneven and you spread it everywhere, pretty much creating a separation layer between the IHS and the cooler. The reason why thermal paste exists is to fill in the gaps between the cooler and IHS, not to create an additional layer. So when you put a blob in the center, then put the cooler on it, the cooler base pushes the TIM where it needs the paste, and the paste is not in the places where it doesn't need to be.

Or you are better at deciding where are the IHS and cooler separated by microscopic amounts of air ?
 

Riccochet

Fully [H]
Joined
Apr 11, 2007
Messages
27,673
I use a razor blade and spread a damn near transparent film of TIM over the processors IHS. It's mean to function as an interface material. It may conduct heat, but less of it conducts to the heat sink better. I've been doing it this way for over a decade. Never a problem.
 

Benihana

Limp Gawd
Joined
Sep 5, 2006
Messages
214
I have a 2500k Industrial Sample that i purchased a while ago for a c-note and i have been running it at 4ghz ever since the beginning on auto voltage, but I have tried to go to 4.5 and everything seems stable but it fails prime blend test, is there a certain setting i have to change? Thanks.

Asrock Z77 Pro4-m
Corsair H50 Cooler
12gb Ram
 

AT-AT28

Limp Gawd
Joined
Nov 23, 2012
Messages
180
The conventional wisdom now is to put a small blob or line in the middle, and then use the pressure of the heatsink to spread it. Spreading it out first is not recommended any longer.

*scoff* What? I"ve done this for years with no issues. Sounds like nothing but a personal biased, non factual opinion to me
 

faugusztin

2[H]4U
Joined
Mar 9, 2008
Messages
2,668
*scoff* What? I"ve done this for years with no issues. Sounds like nothing but a personal biased, non factual opinion to me

"Personal bias" based on what is the recommended method in most of the CPU cooler manuals and various website recommendations.
 

MrMike

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Nov 4, 2000
Messages
6,511

AT-AT28

Limp Gawd
Joined
Nov 23, 2012
Messages
180
The self spreading method won't work with thermal pipe base designs like this. Its too uneven to get an even spread, you need spread a light layer on the bottom of the pipe contacts and then another layer on the CPU die to prevent any air gaps.

XigmatekDarkKnight018.jpg
 

xbiker321

Limp Gawd
Joined
Mar 9, 2013
Messages
269
i5 2500k @4.7ghz (Corsair A70)

I've pushed it past 5.0ghz on air but it seems slightly too much. 4.7ghz is rock solid.

I actually just recommended my friend buy this processor. It's just too good.
 

williacm

Gawd
Joined
Mar 13, 2013
Messages
627
i5 2500k @4.7ghz (Corsair A70)

I've pushed it past 5.0ghz on air but it seems slightly too much. 4.7ghz is rock solid.

I actually just recommended my friend buy this processor. It's just too good.

I wish mine would even get near that. At 4.5 I've got BSOD all day. However, I did just buy a second one for a great price.. So I'll have to see if it'll clock higher and maybe swap CPUs.
 

Britgeezer

Limp Gawd
Joined
Mar 27, 2012
Messages
251
Assuming the MB can accept it, does anyone see value in an upgrade from I5-2500 to I7-3770K. Purchase price is $229.0
The I5 would be sold afterwards.
 

Chris583

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 17, 2006
Messages
240
I've got a 2600k @ 4.2ghz right now. H70 cooler. Core temp reports 45C idle temp. I've had issues in the past going higher then 4.2 but I'm thinking about trying one last time to get to 4.5 or 4.7

I've got the Asus Maximus IV Extreme motherboard. Any advice on what I need to set? This motherboard has so many added OC features I haven't mastered it or know much besides basics like voltage.

Currently at 1.25V
 

coffaholic

Gawd
Joined
Dec 24, 2011
Messages
565
I had my 2600k up to 1.35v with an h70 and temps were acceptable by my standards. Try bumping it to that and keep upping the turbo until it yells at you, then back it down a step at a time till you're stable. Not much you need to touch with these cpus.

And idle temps never meant much to me unless they were high enough to tell me my cooler wasn't mounted right. What are your load temps right now?
 
Top