Intel CEO: Most People Only Replace A PC After 5-6 Years

Joined
Nov 18, 2011
Messages
657
My 2011-built 4.6 Ghz Sandy Bridge system is still going strong - albeit with an RTX 3080 upgrade (and a GTX 1070 upgrade before that).

I would have upgraded the CPU and mobo along the way, but impressive gains were never offered by Intel or AMD until recently. Zen 4 will be my next upgrade.
2600K is legendary, but it can’t drive modern high end GPUs anymore. You’ll get a big increase in performance when you upgrade. Considering a 5600X is much faster than a 2600k, I think you’ll love Zen 4.



 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 18, 2011
Messages
657
I try to upgrade every 5 years. The expense is tough to swallow but component failures are far more rare and mucho less annoying to deal with.

I used to do that, but now I just do it constantly. I’ll get a new SSD, then a few months later more RAM. Then a different GPU. Then a new CPU. Ended being easier on the wallet than a single big bill.

Ship of Theseus style...
 

cybereality

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Mar 22, 2008
Messages
7,218
Yeah, if you do it part by part and sell the old ones, you can actually maintain a system for a long time.

I think I'm over upgraditus. I mostly play old games anyhow, don't really need a super computer.
 

ManofGod

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Oct 4, 2007
Messages
12,344
Yeah, if you do it part by part and sell the old ones, you can actually maintain a system for a long time.

I think I'm over upgraditus. I mostly play old games anyhow, don't really need a super computer.

I have thought I was over it many of time, only to come back. :) However, there is plenty of cpu's, ssd's and ram to upgrade to that do make it worth it. (Motherboards, as well.) If GPU's were MSRP, I would go for those as well.
 
Joined
Nov 18, 2011
Messages
657
Yeah, if you do it part by part and sell the old ones, you can actually maintain a system for a long time.

I think I'm over upgraditus. I mostly play old games anyhow, don't really need a super computer.

I definitely don’t need the fastest chip...like for my Adobe Premier rig. Since they have GPU decode now I don’t really need a fast Intel CPU. Since I’m using a very small form factor case (CCD MI-6 - 6.7L), the Ryzen 5600X is the perfect choice for the Noctua L12S cooler I’m limited to.

...it makes sense...which is why I immediately rejected that idea and I’m smashing a 5950X in it! CPU GO BRRRRR. . [H] for life!

Chip arrives today!
 

sed8em

2[H]4U
Joined
Apr 2, 2007
Messages
2,448
Necro, but probably even more true today than 5 yrs ago. I have a 7700K, 1080 Ti, 1440p 144Hz monitor and an NVME ssd, but to upgrade this now to anything worthwhile would cost silly money, and for not enough gain in my eyes. YMMV of course but for my usage in games, I just dial back some of the graphics detail and get perfectly reasonable fps (100+). I stopped chasing those last few fps since RTX 2xxx prices went mental....

I'm in a similar boat. My 3 year old 27" iMac is rocking the 7700k with a RX 580, it is still incredibly fast at anything I throw at it, and most gaming I do these days are quick Starcraft sessions when the kids go to bed. Theres no value in spending insane cash to upgrade, I suspect this machine reliably last another 5 years.
 
Joined
Nov 18, 2011
Messages
657
I'm in a similar boat. My 3 year old 27" iMac is rocking the 7700k with a RX 580, it is still incredibly fast at anything I throw at it, and most gaming I do these days are quick Starcraft sessions when the kids go to bed. Theres no value in spending insane cash to upgrade, I suspect this machine reliably last another 5 years.
Doubt it. I’ve been through 2 chip architecture changes with Apple and they’ll probably only support X86 for about 3 more years. Actually, this one is moving even faster than the others.

Now if you’ll excuse me I have to go install Voodoo drivers on my Win98 Pentium 3 machine.
 

kirbyrj

Fully [H]
Joined
Feb 1, 2005
Messages
28,405
Why are we still commenting on this thread? It's a 5 year old Necro!

300px-Poke.gif
 

Aurelius

2[H]4U
Joined
Mar 22, 2003
Messages
3,260
Doubt it. I’ve been through 2 chip architecture changes with Apple and they’ll probably only support X86 for about 3 more years. Actually, this one is moving even faster than the others.

Now if you’ll excuse me I have to go install Voodoo drivers on my Win98 Pentium 3 machine.
Mind you, getting six years out of a machine despite a platform architecture transition would be pretty good, and I wouldn't be surprised if there was another year or two thanks to security updates and third-party apps remaining relevant.

Me, I'm just wishing I could have held on to my previous iMac another year. I might've been happy to sacrifice a bit of screen size for the M1 iMac.
 

OutOfPhase

2[H]4U
Joined
May 11, 2005
Messages
3,898
If anyone read the Death Gate cycle of books - I think this is how the downfall started.

You can't just buy a new Kicksey-Winsey in 5 years.
 

ManofGod

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Oct 4, 2007
Messages
12,344
Well, it's been about 5 years since this thread came out. We should poll and see how many of us replaced their rig. I did...twice.

Eh, I never replace my rig, I just upgrade each of them piece by piece. :) It allows me to not overspend but, I wish I could upgrade my GPU's. ;)

When does a rig become a new rig? Like I am still using the same case, but with mostly new parts. Does that count as the same machine?
Who knows, it is like asking the question, "How many licks does it take to get to the tootsie roll center of a tootsie pop?" The world may never know. :D Heck, I am still using the 1KW Seasonic power supply from 2016 and it is going strong.
 

JSHamlet234

Limp Gawd
Joined
Apr 9, 2021
Messages
220
I'm still on the same 5 year old rig, no immediately plans to upgrade. All I did was add another SSD, and I replaced the 5820K with a flea bay 5960X out of sheer boredom. I was going to gift my 980TI's to some younger family members this year and buy a 3080, but um, yeah.
 

ManofGod

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Oct 4, 2007
Messages
12,344
I'm still on the same 5 year old rig, no immediately plans to upgrade. All I did was add another SSD, and I replaced the 5820K with a flea bay 5960X out of sheer boredom. I was going to gift my 980TI's to some younger family members this year and buy a 3080, but um, yeah.

That 5960x is much better today than a 6700k or 7700k, especially with that quad channel memory. (At least that is what I think.) Are you running your 980ti's in SLI?
 

TekRok

2[H]4U
Joined
Dec 9, 2005
Messages
2,237
You don't need to upgrade if the PC spends more time waiting on you that you waiting on it. I'm still on an i7-920 @ 3.8 Ghz and I can't see spending 3K to upgrade to x99. Once I put in an SSD a few years back, I realized that slow computers are really from slow hard drives. Can't count how many old machines I've upgraded to SSD's and all of a sudden, it is a fast PC. I read all these forums where peeps are upgrading their 2-4 year old machines and I just laugh. What a waste. E-peen 4 life.
I laugh at the Ryzen crowd. Those people are upgrading year after year for the same shit. I dont think those chips would be as popular if the same people didnt buy them after a new model came out.
 

cybereality

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Mar 22, 2008
Messages
7,218
That 5960x is much better today than a 6700k or 7700k, especially with that quad channel memory. (At least that is what I think.) Are you running your 980ti's in SLI?
For work maybe. I used to have one and I replaced it with a 8700K and it was definitely an improvement for games (very few games, at least at the time, could take advantage of 8+ cores).

That said, it was an unnecessary upgrade. I'm happy I did it, and there was a decent improvement, but I probably could have kept it and it would still be okay today.
 

cybereality

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Mar 22, 2008
Messages
7,218
I laugh at the Ryzen crowd. Those people are upgrading year after year for the same shit. I dont think those chips would be as popular if the same people didnt buy them after a new model came out.
Well, to be fair, many good motherboards can support new generation AM4 CPUs, so it's an easy drop-in replacement. Just swap the CPU and sell the old one, easy and cheap.

And there are always people ready to buy last gen used, I think Ryzen would still be pretty popular even if you subtract the repeat buyers.
 

ManofGod

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Oct 4, 2007
Messages
12,344
I laugh at the Ryzen crowd. Those people are upgrading year after year for the same shit. I dont think those chips would be as popular if the same people didnt buy them after a new model came out.

That does not appear to be logical statement from where I am sitting. Unlike with Intel over the years, going from Zen 1 to Zen 2 or Zen 2 to Zen 3 is a significant upgrade. Even gaming at 1440p will see a big boost in performance.
 

Ragenrok

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
May 15, 2007
Messages
4,373
I try and squeeze every last year possible from my cpu but upgrade my gpu every 2-3 years. I went from a 2500k to a 9600k and I'm very happy with that amount of usage I got from it lol.
 

ManofGod

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Oct 4, 2007
Messages
12,344
Mate, cn you saturate all that bandwidth? Besides, latency is higher with quad vs duo.

Honestly, I have no idea, since I have never owned a quad channel system. (But I would love me some Threadripper Pro with 8 channel memory, just because. :) )
 

TheSlySyl

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
May 30, 2018
Messages
1,258
I went 8 years before upgrading from a Phenom II to a Ryzen 1700.
I went less than three years and a substantial change in workload to go from that Ryzen 1700 to a 3900X (Also doubling the RAM to 64GB)

Truth is that the 3900X isn't even keeping up with what I need it to do, so I am planning on upgrading that to a 5950X someday when that becomes economical. The 4 extra cores combined with the better IPC makes it a rather considerable upgrade. 40% in average performance improvement in the heavily threaded workloads that I'm constantly doing.
 

anabioz

Limp Gawd
Joined
Oct 3, 2008
Messages
418
I went 8 years before upgrading from a Phenom II to a Ryzen 1700.
I went less than three years and a substantial change in workload to go from that Ryzen 1700 to a 3900X (Also doubling the RAM to 64GB)

Truth is that the 3900X isn't even keeping up with what I need it to do, so I am planning on upgrading that to a 5950X someday when that becomes economical. The 4 extra cores combined with the better IPC makes it a rather considerable upgrade. 40% in average performance improvement in the heavily threaded workloads that I'm constantly doing.
What do you do? I can't hit the limits on my 3900X.
 

TheSlySyl

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
May 30, 2018
Messages
1,258
What do you do? I can't hit the limits on my 3900X.
Realtime 1440p or 4k transcoding. Especially when I'm transcoding a game that's already using a lot of my processing power.

The 3900X *can* handle it for most things, but for certain scenarios it starts to drop frames pretty bad. I *could* also transcode wth my videocard, but in most of these scenarios the videocard is hit harder than my processor and upgrading the processor seems like a far more likely thing to occur in the near future than upgrading my videocard.

I also, outside of real-time transcoding, I hit 100% usage on my 3900X when trancoding raw 4k video into X.265, and that still takes quite a bit of time, even with 24 threads. Not to mention the shit that I put my computer through for my minecraft server.

Likewise there's also the wife factor, so when I upgade my 3900X to a 5950X, she gets my 3900X as an upgrade from her 1700, and the circle of life continues.
 

emphy

Limp Gawd
Joined
Aug 31, 2016
Messages
258
What games can't a 6700K, 16GB ram, and a 1080 vanilla built in 2016 not play decently well today? Games don't push hardware like they once did. There are no "but can it run Crysis?" memes anymore. You might blame consoles for that somewhat I suppose. Devs do tend to program for the lowest common denominator.

That may be changing soon with the newer consoles' 8 core-16 thread cpu's.
 

JSHamlet234

Limp Gawd
Joined
Apr 9, 2021
Messages
220
That 5960x is much better today than a 6700k or 7700k, especially with that quad channel memory. (At least that is what I think.) Are you running your 980ti's in SLI?

For what I do, I'd probably be perfectly fine with any of those 3 chips in the present day, but I felt like some extra cores couldn't hurt. At the time, the 6700K wasn't even available yet, and a 5820K was almost the same price as a 4790K, so I figured why not. As for SLI, it's too bad about what happened that. In the games that support it, I can max out 1440P/144Hz/Ultra settings, but it seems like that's not going to be happening in newer titles. Quake Champions runs amazing though. I haven't even checked to see if it's using the 2nd GPU, LOL.
 

UltraTaco

Limp Gawd
Joined
Feb 21, 2020
Messages
453
Screenshot_20210509-085137_Opera.jpg


TheSlySyl mate, everyone knows intel is the computational choice for gaming needs, intel themselves said that! no wonder your running into trouble, amd is nt made for that..
 

JSHamlet234

Limp Gawd
Joined
Apr 9, 2021
Messages
220
Honestly, I have no idea, since I have never owned a quad channel system. (But I would love me some Threadripper Pro with 8 channel memory, just because. :) )

I would have to pull a couple of DIMMs out and bench my games to see if there's a difference. That would require taking off my giant air cooler, so it's probably not going to happen any time soon. Quad channel is great for AIDA64 e-peen, though. 76GB/sec with DDR4-2666 CL14 (y)
 
Top