Intel 6500T

defaultluser

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jan 14, 2006
Messages
14,399
You can playback 10-bit, but I'm nit sure the 6500t processor would be fast enough tp make up the difference over hardware-decoded 8-bit. That is why I posted the link above - the Skylake system is at 50% (h.265 10-bit) and 70% (VP9 10-bit) processor utilization in the Intel press release.

Unfortunately, they don't tell us the processor used. If they used the 6700k and the 7700k, then you are screwed, but if it's a 15w mobile part you will be fine.

You will need an HDMI 2.0 port on your motherboard if you want to do 4k HDR on your TV. DP 1.2 doesn't support HDR color space, and there is no other workaround.
 
Last edited:

defaultluser

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jan 14, 2006
Messages
14,399
Ahh, had to zoom in to the press release, but they were comparing 15w mobile parts. i7 6500u vs i7 7500u. I't dual cores with quad threads

You'll be fine running 10-bit video on your quad core at 35w.
 

fullvietFX

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Sep 1, 2004
Messages
2,015
I was going to scoop a used HP EliteDesk Mini G3 to use as an HTPC playing files off of my NAS. I don't want to take any chances I'll probably just grab the Ryzen 2400GE one. Thanks again for the help fellas.
 
Last edited:

defaultluser

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jan 14, 2006
Messages
14,399
I was going to scoop a used HP EliteDesk Mini G3 to use as an HTPC playing files off of my NAS. I don't want to take any chances I'll probably just grab the Ryzen 2400GE one. Thanks again for the help fellas.

Or you can just buy the refresh with Kaby Lake. Full acceleration of 4k 10-bit.

Also, the PC lacks an HDMI 2.0b output, which means no HDR. You can't use HDR over DisplayPort unless you have a version 1.3 port or later.

With 4k HDR on integrated graphics, you're better-off building a new system, rather than shopping for deals on older stuff. You really need to do the research before you jump, because you want a low-profile device without an expansion card.
 

fullvietFX

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Sep 1, 2004
Messages
2,015
Or you can just buy the refresh with Kaby Lake. Full acceleration of 4k 10-bit.

Also, the PC lacks an HDMI 2.0b output, which means no HDR. You can't use HDR over DisplayPort unless you have a version 1.3 port or later.

With 4k HDR on integrated graphics, you're better-off building a new system, rather than shopping for deals on older stuff. You really need to do the research before you jump, because you want a low-profile device without an expansion card.

Do you know of the Ryzen one has 1.3 DisplayPort? I can’t find this information anywhere on their website.
 

defaultluser

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jan 14, 2006
Messages
14,399
Do you know of the Ryzen one has 1.3 DisplayPort? I can’t find this information anywhere on their website.

I don't think so. The best you can hope for is HDMI 2.0 on board, and since that requires extra bridge chips to make it work, it's not very common yet.

This one has HDMI 2.0 output, if you want to stick with HP prebuilt. A 2c/4t is plenty for a server.

https://store.hp.com/us/en/pdp/hp-elitedesk-800-g4-small-form-factor-pc-customizable-2us83av-1

Or if you don't mind building your own, the Asrock Deskmini A300 is pretty cheap, you can pair that with a 200GE or 2200g for an inexpensive build.

https://www.techspot.com/review/1816-asrock-deskmini-a300/
 
Last edited:

fullvietFX

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Sep 1, 2004
Messages
2,015
I don't think so. The best you can hope for is HDMI 2.0 on board, and since that requires extra bridge chips to make it work, it's not very common yet.

This one has HDMI 2.0 output, if you want to stick with HP prebuilt. A 2c/4t is plenty for a server.

https://store.hp.com/us/en/pdp/hp-elitedesk-800-g4-small-form-factor-pc-customizable-2us83av-1

Or if you don't mind building your own, the Asrock Deskmini A300 is pretty cheap, you can pair that with a 200GE or 2200g for an inexpensive build.

https://www.techspot.com/review/1816-asrock-deskmini-a300/

Both of those are too big for what I want unfortunately.
 

defaultluser

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jan 14, 2006
Messages
14,399
Both of those are too big for what I want unfortunately.

How about a Nuc? Those likely have HDMI 2.0.

EDIT: shit, no, thy have compatibility issues.

https://forums.intel.com/s/question...h-of-a-compatible-tv-4k60hz444?language=en_US

Sorry dude, the thinnest you're going to get for this in a custom built is thin itx

https://www.newegg.com/Product/ProductList.aspx?Description=thin mini itx motherboard&Submit=ENE

None of those board have HDMI 2.0.

You're stuck here, a corner case in a corner case. Go larger, or go hungry.
 
Last edited:

fullvietFX

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Sep 1, 2004
Messages
2,015
How about a Nuc? Those likely have HDMI 2.0.

EDIT: shit, no, thy have compatibility issues.

https://forums.intel.com/s/question...h-of-a-compatible-tv-4k60hz444?language=en_US

Sorry dude, the thinnest you're going to get for this in a custom built is thin itx

https://www.newegg.com/Product/ProductList.aspx?Description=thin mini itx motherboard&Submit=ENE

None of those board have HDMI 2.0.

You're stuck here, a corner case in a corner case. Go larger, or go hungry.

I had an InWin Chopin before but I got rid of it. I guess I'll have to get another.
 

defaultluser

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jan 14, 2006
Messages
14,399
I had an InWin Chopin before but I got rid of it. I guess I'll have to get another.


These are the three cheapest Intel itx motherboards that support HDMI 2.0.

https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813145071&ignorebbr=1
https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813188194&ignorebbr=1
https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813145097&ignorebbr=1

And I already pointed you toward the cheapest AMD board, that barebones kit from AsRoxk.
 

defaultluser

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jan 14, 2006
Messages
14,399
Ahh, something else I've discovered: the motherboard in the AsRock Deskmin A300 is MiniSTX, so there's nothing stopping you swapping the case for something smaller.

It was a great idea bringing out this new form-factor which is almost as thin as ThinITX, but had swappable socketed processors.
 

fullvietFX

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Sep 1, 2004
Messages
2,015
These are the three cheapest Intel itx motherboards that support HDMI 2.0.

https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813145071&ignorebbr=1
https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813188194&ignorebbr=1
https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813145097&ignorebbr=1

And I already pointed you toward the cheapest AMD board, that barebones kit from AsRoxk.

No AMD motherboards support HDMI 2.0? If I build my own I'm definitely going AMD since their APU's are superior.
 

mbelue

Limp Gawd
Joined
Apr 11, 2017
Messages
216
Ahh, something else I've discovered: the motherboard in the AsRock Deskmin A300 is MiniSTX, so there's nothing stopping you swapping the case for something smaller.

It was a great idea bringing out this new form-factor which is almost as thin as ThinITX, but had swappable socketed processors.
The only option smaller, would be thinner and at that point cooling will become a major problem.
AM4 doesn't have many cooler choices.
 

mbelue

Limp Gawd
Joined
Apr 11, 2017
Messages
216
I don't think so. The best you can hope for is HDMI 2.0 on board, and since that requires extra bridge chips to make it work, it's not very common yet.

This one has HDMI 2.0 output, if you want to stick with HP prebuilt. A 2c/4t is plenty for a server.

https://store.hp.com/us/en/pdp/hp-elitedesk-800-g4-small-form-factor-pc-customizable-2us83av-1

Or if you don't mind building your own, the Asrock Deskmini A300 is pretty cheap, you can pair that with a 200GE or 2200g for an inexpensive build.

https://www.techspot.com/review/1816-asrock-deskmini-a300/
There is some doubt in the A300.

It looks like a really cool system but I think it could be a pain in the butt unless you have your media all in it's preferred codec.
 
Top