INACCESSIBLE BOOT DEVICE after Intel RST installed

Discussion in 'Operating Systems' started by craigdt, Dec 30, 2018.

  1. craigdt

    craigdt Gawd

    Messages:
    1,002
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2016
    Windows 1O LTSB

    Well I installed the Intel RST drivers to play with the Optane module I got for Christmas.

    Restarted the system and now my machine won't boot.

    I get the BSD saying it can't find a boot device.

    My drives show up in the bios and the proper one is selected first.

    I tried a system restore and that didn't help, so that makes me think something was changed in the BIOS after the RST was installed.

    Is there something I need to do before Reloading Windows and starting from scratch?
     
  2. Mazzspeed

    Mazzspeed [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,414
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2017
    Try booting into safe mode, once fully booted into safe mode then try booting normally. This method works a treat when swapping between IDE and AHCI modes, this may be something similar.
     
  3. craigdt

    craigdt Gawd

    Messages:
    1,002
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2016
    Edit-
    Alright, it won't even boot into safe mode.

    Still says unaccessible boot device.

    Any way I can tinker with AHCI etc via bios?
     
    Last edited: Dec 30, 2018
  4. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,177
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    use your disk/usb installer to repair the mbr.
     
  5. craigdt

    craigdt Gawd

    Messages:
    1,002
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2016
    Heh- Will a repair wipe my whole OS drive?
     
  6. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,177
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    FNtastic likes this.
  7. FNtastic

    FNtastic [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,269
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2013
    This happened to me recently. Windows moved its partition on the hard drive. Then, once it rebooted, it couldn't find itself anymore. Looks like others have already given some good leads in the direction to go. I solved mine with grub. But, I wouldn't recommend ever doing it that way as it's pretty advanced

    Use the Windows instructions above from pendragon1 and see where it goes from there
     
  8. craigdt

    craigdt Gawd

    Messages:
    1,002
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2016
    Alright, I did finally get it booting to safe mode after turning off the Intel RST setting in the bios.

    But now it ONLY boots to safe mode.
    Like, I hit the power button and it just loads into safe mode.

    Not sure how to subvert the Safe Mode
     
  9. Mazzspeed

    Mazzspeed [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,414
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2017
    Click start, type 'msconfig', in there somewhere is the radio checkbox you need to untick to disable safe mode.
     
    pendragon1 likes this.
  10. craigdt

    craigdt Gawd

    Messages:
    1,002
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2016
    Holy shit. It's back.

    Thanks everyone for your help.

    Now, any pointers on what went wrong in the Intel RST installation?

    Im afraid to try it again but want to try out the Optane module
     
  11. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,177
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    did you try turning rst back on? maybe you need to do the ide/ahci switch via safe mode trick mentioned above.