Impact of increased voltages on CPU's

SparkedFire

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jun 27, 2003
Messages
1,109
I was wondering how much of an impact a voltage increase will have on a cpu? for example i am running a 3.06GHz P4 at 3.6GHz at 1.7volts (stock is 1.55volts). how will its life span be impacted? thanks guys.
 

p0opyfac3

Limp Gawd
Joined
Sep 8, 2002
Messages
311
Lets put it this way, you will change every computer component in your case (including your case) by the time that processor dies from age.
 

ST|FFY

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Dec 16, 2003
Messages
1,650
Originally posted by p0opyfac3
Lets put it this way, you will change every computer component in your case (including your case) by the time that processor dies from age.
yea, dont even worry about voltages, unless ur at 2.2 or something :eek:
 

s10010001

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Sep 17, 2002
Messages
7,468
And what is wrong with 2.2v?

For Chirstmas i got my amd another .09v, and i have plans on getting it some phase change for its secound birthday, 0243
 

SparkedFire

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jun 27, 2003
Messages
1,109
if it was at 2.2 i dont think it would last very long :). So 1.7v will be ok for long term OC'ing?
 

s10010001

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Sep 17, 2002
Messages
7,468
Originally posted by SparkedFire
if it was at 2.2 i dont think it would last very long :). So 1.7v will be ok for long term OC'ing?

I am tlaking about a AMD CPU....

And i have been running 2.2+v for about 8 mounths now, on the same CPU
 

ST|FFY

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Dec 16, 2003
Messages
1,650
Originally posted by I(illa Bee
I am tlaking about a AMD CPU....

And i have been running 2.2+v for about 8 mounths now, on the same CPU
damn!! what CPU u have??
 

s10010001

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Sep 17, 2002
Messages
7,468
2100+

more04.jpg
 

eViL_M@LuM

Crosshair's Nephew
Joined
Aug 28, 2002
Messages
3,674
On an intel I wouldn't go much higher than 1.7V if you plan on keeping it long. above that you get into where SID can take affect "Sudden Intel Death"
 

s10010001

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Sep 17, 2002
Messages
7,468
235x11, for a grand total of 2585 MHz, that is game stabel. The funny thing is, it the highers i can even get it too stay in windows. in other words, I can run it like that 24/7, but if i up it to 2.6 (13x200) its not stabel, at all.
 

Tedinde

Bad Trader
Joined
Jan 2, 1999
Messages
2,560
Funny how i can slam mega volts to a AMD?? I dont even worry about testing one @ 2.2V+
 

s10010001

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Sep 17, 2002
Messages
7,468
indeed Tedinde

Its nice how on a AMD system you can slam mega volts to anythign and everything.....

so far my voltmods consist of, a northibridge chipset volt mod, DDR memory voltmod, GPU voltmod, GPU DDR voltmod, and a 3 PSU volt mods the 5v 12v and 3.3v rails. And im not sure if this counts but, replaceing some caps for a bit better ones.. :)

i love AMD
 
Top