• Some users have recently had their accounts hijacked. It seems that the now defunct EVGA forums might have compromised your password there and seems many are using the same PW here. We would suggest you UPDATE YOUR PASSWORD and TURN ON 2FA for your account here to further secure it. None of the compromised accounts had 2FA turned on.
    Once you have enabled 2FA, your account will be updated soon to show a badge, letting other members know that you use 2FA to protect your account. This should be beneficial for everyone that uses FSFT.

image4free

Troney1169

Limp Gawd
Joined
Feb 21, 2003
Messages
307
Hi I love the forum but i do have a question I was just wondering how come imagefour(4 istead of four)free image hosting doesn't work here? Just wondering. Thanks for the forum and keeping it asshat free.
 
Actually, you can chalk this one up to collateral damage. The most common type of drive-by spam we get here is referral links (those "free ipod" type things) and "deals" sites which consist of nothing but referral links. We filter those domains to discourage a repeat performance and make any links they post useless.

4free.com was filtered, so image4free.com got squashed in the process. I've altered the entry to require either a www or http:// to precede that domain, so image4free.com should now work.

I checked it out, looks like a legit service and it says there are no restrictions on hotlinking. Some image hosting sites do restrict use and even block certain forums, going so far as to refer an objectionable image when someone tries to link there. In turn, we've had to block them to prevent that from happening here. We've also blocked image hosts which weren't secure and allowed overwriting. Say you upload a pic of your car and call it car.jpg. Someone else figures out that the host isn't secure and renames a goa-tse pic as car.jpg, uploads it, it overwrites your image and suddenly the car pic you posted becomes a gaping anus. :eek:
 
Lethal said:
Actually, you can chalk this one up to collateral damage. The most common type of drive-by spam we get here is referral links (those "free ipod" type things) and "deals" sites which consist of nothing but referral links. We filter those domains to discourage a repeat performance and make any links they post useless.

4free.com was filtered, so image4free.com got squashed in the process. I've altered the entry to require either a www or http:// to precede that domain, so image4free.com should now work.


ahh, since he typed "image4free" in the title of the thread, I assumed it wasn't blocked.

It didn't occur to me that adding the .com on the end would/could change that.
 
Back
Top