iMac and WoW

Discussion in 'Apple Products' started by ampedxc27, Jan 22, 2006.

  1. ampedxc27

    ampedxc27 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,338
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    anyone have a g5 or intel core duo that plays WoW? how does it play? can u turn the goodies on? thanks for any help :cool:
     
  2. Aurelius

    Aurelius 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,570
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2003
    You'll only get more definitive answers later: Blizzard is supposed to release a patch late this month which turns World of Warcraft into a universal binary.

    From reports, it's a lot faster than what most other Macs have managed so far (presumably because Blizzard can keep a lot of its x86-specific optimizations in the code now). You'll probably be able to run at native resolution with all the details on... though for best performance, I'd recommend custom-ordering a 20" iMac with the 256 MB video memory option.
     
  3. synergyo1

    synergyo1 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,591
    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2004
    On a 20in Intel iMac with 2 gigs of ram and 256mb ATI x1600 the game runs at acceptable speeds considering its being emulated on Rosetta. Several options had to be turned down, such as terrain distance drawing, for the game to run smoothly. It is also noticable that the graphics don't look as good compared to the game running on a Windows machine.

    I'm sure when the UB comes out it'll be able to comfortably run the game at maxed out settings.
     
  4. Burke Hamblin

    Burke Hamblin 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,540
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    I have the iSight revision iMac G5 with 1.5 GB of RAM, and WoW at the native res with no advanced features on plays unacceptably poorly for me. Granted, I moved from a 4000+/7800 GT system with everything maxed, but I was utterly disappointed with the performance. Alone out in Westfall killing Defias, it's not that bad; in a major city or a Molten Core raid...terrible.

    One would think it would play a little better on a Core Duo with the Universal Binary, but I can't imagine it'd be a sea change from the G5's performance.
     
  5. Black Morty Rackham

    Black Morty Rackham [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,728
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2004
    The somewhat poor performance in Mac-WoW might have something to do with the fact that it doesn't cache ANYTHING in RAM.
     
  6. illgiveumorality

    illgiveumorality 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,026
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    I knew something stupid was going on when every mac user said it ran like shit.
     
  7. Black Morty Rackham

    Black Morty Rackham [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,728
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2004
    Disclaimer: I've never even started WoW, let alone played it. All I have is anecdotal "evidence." :)
     
  8. Rocketpig

    Rocketpig [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,427
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Tonight I'm picking up a 20" with 2 gigs of RAM and the X1600 with 256mb... I'm excited to see how WoW runs with that setup, especially knowing that it's only going to get better once Blizzard releases the universal patch.
     
  9. Appa

    Appa 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,748
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2005
    Just picked up my new IntelDC 20", 1 Gig ram, 256 vid card. This thing leaves the G5 iMac I had in the DUST. It is rediculous how much faster this iMac is than the previous G5 (which I had just purchased a few days before x-mas). Imported songs from my LaCie backup drive using firewire (1800 songs) in about 4 minutes, 8.64 gigs total of songs/videos. Safari opens INSTANTLY, as well as every other program.
     
  10. ampedxc27

    ampedxc27 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,338
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    congrats! i wish i could afford one...sounds awesome
     
  11. playrh8r

    playrh8r Gawd

    Messages:
    638
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2004
    Let us know what kind of performance you get...

    Jeff
     
  12. Rocketpig

    Rocketpig [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,427
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Well, I opted for the 17" bare bones model with 512 more RAM on the way. I should get the RAM Friday.

    I only had a chance to play WoW for about 20 minutes in STV. Performance was a little shaky but I turned down the draw distance and it ran as smoothly as my 1.8 P4 with a Ti4600 and 768 of RAM.

    I'm probably getting about 30-40 fps but the real test will be when I get the additional stick of RAM and make a trip to Orgrimmar.
     
  13. The_Mage18

    The_Mage18 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,712
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2004
    Don't you mean Lagrimmar?

    Seriously though, PLEASE post what frames you're getting and what rez you're running at. WoW performance is one thing keeping me from playing on a desktop, the Mini just can't do it.
     
  14. Rocketpig

    Rocketpig [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,427
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    I'll know in about 2 hours when I get the second stick of RAM installed...

    BTW, what's the command in WoW to display frame rates? I forgot... It's been awhile since I used it since it was never really a problem on my PC.

    I can't remember if it's in interface options or a command...
     
  15. Musei

    Musei [H]Lite

    Messages:
    69
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2005
    You think Org is bad you should see IF lag at prime time. I've been a Horde player until recently (wanted to see the Alliance content) and man is it laggy in IF!
     
  16. The_Mage18

    The_Mage18 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,712
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2004
    Yeah, IF is worse but only because everyone, their brother and their cousin camps in front of the FRACKIN' bank.
     
  17. Rocketpig

    Rocketpig [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,427
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Okay... With the 128 card and 1 gig of RAM, WoW was running pretty crappy. I was pulling about 15-20 fps in Stranglethorn with distance drawing turned down. I didn't even try Org.

    Playable, but not very impressive. I'm sure that will jump way up when the universal binary comes out in the next two weeks.
     
  18. Peach

    Peach Gawd

    Messages:
    994
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005

    does this mean we can run WoW on linux?
     
  19. Rocketpig

    Rocketpig [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,427
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Uh, no.
     
  20. Peach

    Peach Gawd

    Messages:
    994
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    well if its a universal patch it should be able to run on linux... after all, OSX is linux
     
  21. Appa

    Appa 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,748
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2005
  22. geforce man

    geforce man [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,111
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    i ran WoW on my ibook g4 1.33Ghz radeon 9550 with only 512 megs of ram, it was slow, but playable for single player quests, im sure you will be more than fine with your machine.
     
  23. ECM

    ECM Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    240
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2004
    2.0 iMac w/ 2 gigs and 256 on vid card:

    Chug, chug, chug...*sigh*.

    I will wait for the patch as, right now, it runs worlds better on my notebook (Turion/1 gig/ATI x300) and (naturally) another universe on my 6800U WinXP setup.
     
  24. ampedxc27

    ampedxc27 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,338
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    universal patch is out today!
     
  25. p0intblank

    p0intblank Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    371
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2005
    Someone post some benchmarks please! :)
     
  26. SoLiD_MasteR

    SoLiD_MasteR Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    199
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2004
    how good it is on 21inch iMac after the new patch?