*If* my 3800x2 is bottlenecking my 7900gtx512, will it no longer do w/ new games?

Spoudazo

Gawd
Joined
Apr 23, 2006
Messages
516
I mean, newer games are utilizing dual cores (or quad, etc.) more it seems.

So I'm curious, when games like UT2007, etc. come out, will my 3800x2 start being like a 3.8ghz single core CPU instead of the rated 2.0ghz AMD it currently is? I want to overclock it, but I have to buy a good fan, etc. for it first. :)
 

sculelos

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 27, 2004
Messages
4,690
Maby if the games are mutlithreaded effectivly, then yes you might see up to a 80% increase over what 1 core would give you, however who knows when games will actually come out that make a significant difference to duel cores, I think quake IV was the last one, and it only made about 30-40% increase. (correct me if I'm wrong)
 

mrmodman

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jun 23, 2005
Messages
386
im also wondering cuz i have a x2 as well and i hope game are useing duel core more effective

would there be a way to modd a game to utilize 2 cores?
 

sculelos

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 27, 2004
Messages
4,690
mrmodman said:
im also wondering cuz i have a x2 as well and i hope game are useing duel core more effective

would there be a way to modd a game to utilize 2 cores?

If thier is I don't know it, although thier are a few tweaks for a very few amount of games, only ones I know of are Quake IV and Oblivion, although I tried the Oblivion tweaks and havn't really noticed any difference.
 

TheRapture

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
May 31, 2000
Messages
6,885
sculelos said:
I think quake IV was the last one, and it only made about 30-40% increase. (correct me if I'm wrong)




More like 3% to 4% :( :p Q4 actually is poorly coded, period, for dual cores. In some rigs turning on SMP actually made it run slower, and many machines simply crash the game....
 

sculelos

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 27, 2004
Messages
4,690
TheRapture said:
More like 3% to 4% :( :p Q4 actually is poorly coded, period, for dual cores. In some rigs turning on SMP actually made it run slower, and many machines simply crash the game....

yea, I just assumed the power increase, although I've never played Quake so I don't know how buggy it is.
 

Spoudazo

Gawd
Joined
Apr 23, 2006
Messages
516
Well some good news, on the side :)

I thought my card was bad due to some artifacting in BF2, so I uninstalled the drivers, ran cab cleaner from Driver Cleaner Pro then cleaned the drivers with Driver Cleaner Pro and I haven't seen any more artifacting sine then, praise the Lord! :D
 

Rhitick

Weaksauce
Joined
Mar 4, 2006
Messages
89
If your jacking the graphics your fine. My 3200 isnt much of a bottleneck for my x1900xt.
 

Dan_D

Extremely [H]
Joined
Feb 9, 2002
Messages
59,120
TheRapture said:
More like 3% to 4% :( :p Q4 actually is poorly coded, period, for dual cores. In some rigs turning on SMP actually made it run slower, and many machines simply crash the game....

That's funny, it runs without any reliability problems on my machine. Though I can't tell a huge speed increase from it.
 

Mayhs

2[H]4U
Joined
Mar 30, 2005
Messages
2,999
if youre playing at 1024x768 a 1.8ghz x2 would be a bottleneck but with your card i guess ur playing a lot higher res with aa/af so i dont think its your cpu thats the bottleneck
 
Top