i7 2600k 4.8Ghz vs my old 1090t @ 4.0Ghz re: World of Warcraft.

SixFootDuo

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Oct 5, 2004
Messages
5,791
Yeah, 38 frames a second vs .... 85 frames a second with a gazzilion people in SW around the bank, auction house, etc.

50% improvment and a night and day difference.

Flying around still get 190 fps ... but that doesn't matter as much as a raid setting.
 

rflcptr

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Mar 27, 2008
Messages
6,202
Don't worry, the AMD fanboys will declare that the human eye can't distinguish 38 and 85 FPS. :p
 

NobleX13

2[H]4U
Joined
Jun 15, 2010
Messages
3,847
The FPS difference is due to the higher IPC of the Intel CPU. World of Warcraft doesn't scale so well past two cores.
 

Porter_

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Sep 10, 2007
Messages
8,362
i'm seeing a 'night-and-day difference' in the games i play with an i5-2500K. loving Sandy Bridge.
 

TheBlueChanell

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Apr 15, 2005
Messages
4,660
Yeah, 38 frames a second vs .... 85 frames a second with a gazzilion people in SW around the bank, auction house, etc.

50% improvment and a night and day difference.

Flying around still get 190 fps ... but that doesn't matter as much as a raid setting.

The playability difference there is slim to none. AMD provides smoother gameplay regardless of framerate.




:p
 

Coaxial

Gawd
Joined
Oct 8, 2008
Messages
990
The FPS difference is due to the higher IPC of the Intel CPU. World of Warcraft doesn't scale so well past two cores.

This exactly. I went from an i7 920 to a 1055t and BOTH at 3.8ghz the 920 was easily 40% higher framerate.
 

SixFootDuo

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Oct 5, 2004
Messages
5,791
Is TheBlueChanell trolling me? lol...

Seriously .... no playability difference? lulwhat?!?!

I must be getting trolled.

I'm a bigger AMD fan than most. epecially TheBlueChanell.

I'm telling you, there is a 50% improvement in frame rate and "playability" over an AMD 1090t @ 4.1Ghz in World of Warcraft.

Running 1950 mem dual channel, 4.8Ghz w/ AMD 6970
 
Last edited:

Dark Shroud

Limp Gawd
Joined
Mar 31, 2010
Messages
229
Bulldozer can't come out soon enough. AMD's current chip architecture is years old and badly needs an update to keep up in the mid range market, $175 - $250.

I say this a user of only Red Team video cards who would like to use purple for low end builds.
 

teletran8

2[H]4U
Joined
Jan 12, 2011
Messages
2,220
Bulldozer will put all these Intel Fanboys in Check, Hard. Make them wish they didn't get a Sandy Bridge. ;) There's always Ebay for tha suckas! :D
 

Database

Detroit Redbirds!!!
Joined
Jan 22, 2009
Messages
2,537
Bulldozer will put all these Intel Fanboys in Check, Hard. Make them wish they didn't get a Sandy Bridge. ;) There's always Ebay for tha suckas! :D

I bet it doesn't beat SB performance... it'll be an upgrade for AMD but they'll still be behind.
 

TheBlueChanell

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Apr 15, 2005
Messages
4,660
Is TheBlueChanell trolling me? lol...

Seriously .... no playability difference? lulwhat?!?!

I must be getting trolled.

I'm a bigger AMD fan than most. epecially TheBlueChanell.

I'm telling you, there is a 50% improvement in frame rate and "playability" over an AMD 1090t @ 4.1Ghz in World of Warcraft.

Running 1950 mem dual channel, 4.8Ghz w/ AMD 6970

lol. ;)

My last 3 setups have been a 940, 965 and a 1090t with various boards/ram. I've still got the 1090t just waiting on a new board. I plan to do some of my own performance comparisons. My 1090t is good for 4.2ghz / 3.0ghz cpu-nb and I'd like to see how that compares to my 2500K at equal clocks. Just for shits. I mean we all know the outcome but I'm just curious how much of a difference clocking the cpu-nb up will make cause it's a nice clock for efficiency and cpu-nb actually increases IPC and the gains provided by such are never really shown in reviews outside of a little blurb Anand had last year sometime.
 
Last edited:

SixFootDuo

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Oct 5, 2004
Messages
5,791
I'm not expert and honesty, never want to be. I like my comfortable understanding now that I have about tech this and tech that.

I honestly wasn't expecting this profound of a difference in performance but during my down time waiting for my 2600k and Asus Deluxe to show up I started hitting a lot of the reviews hardcore and noticed one benchmark, World of Warcraft, which I play and the FPS was 50% better with the new i7 2600k heavily overclocked vs a AMD 6 core that was around 4Ghz.

Sure enough, I get 200 - 250 fps flying around and at least 75 fps when Stormwind is JAM Packed with tons and tons of people all over my screen.

Before, with the AMD, during raid and especially crowded areas, I would get 28 - 37 fps. Smooth somewhat but it still had that laggy herky jerky feeling to it, like the PC and Video Card were hurting haha.
 

Dave65

Gawd
Joined
Nov 30, 2006
Messages
700
Ill buy SB,and if Bulldozer is faster I will buy that..I go with the fastest if finances allow:)
 

savantu

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Nov 13, 2002
Messages
1,325
Ill buy SB,and if Bulldozer is faster I will buy that..I go with the fastest if finances allow:)

Well, after you buy SB, you'll want to buy the next big thing..IB.:p
What Bulldozer ?
3911047555_c428c33b14.jpg
 

teletran8

2[H]4U
Joined
Jan 12, 2011
Messages
2,220
I bet it doesn't beat SB performance... it'll be an upgrade for AMD but they'll still be behind.

I bet it does, and I also bet that when Ivy Bridge drops...IB and SB will still be behind AMD Bulldozer.

You have to remember this is the company that made the Athlon in the late 90's that reached 1 Ghz b4 Intel. The FX Chips. The Opteron in 03', and has been hanging in there with a company for 7-8 years based off of that old design. Bulldozer is the new one. The NEW NEW NEW one. (Yes there can only be ONE!) I guess you maybe don't remember the late 90's when AMD was destroying Intels CPU's. Bulldozer will start off Hard destroying everything Intel can come up with, but yeah Intel will catch up in about 5 years after releasing 5-10 more Motherboard Sockets :D In which Intel has to realease a Socket every year just to keep up or half a DECADE later and win in a few useless benchmarks ;). AMD chewed up ATI. Do you see Intel chewing up Nvidia? Nope in fact Nvidia just owned them in the courts recently, Intels going with crappy onboard GFX now. :p

Think about it, or just watch this informative discussion on Bulldozers design if you think I'm bonkers! Did you know Bulldozer will be capable of completely shutting down the CPU when needed? Can you say 1000000 percent more efficient than your Intel CPU :p Well watch this video and learn. :rolleyes: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wxbG2AmdMNY
 

MrFace

2[H]4U
Joined
Feb 23, 2003
Messages
2,716
I bet it does, and I also bet that when Ivy Bridge drops...IB and SB will still be behind AMD Bulldozer.

You have to remember this is the company that made the Athlon in the late 90's that reached 1 Ghz b4 Intel. The FX Chips. The Opteron in 03', and has been hanging in there with a company for 7-8 years based off of that old design. Bulldozer is the new one. The NEW NEW NEW one. (Yes there can only be ONE!) I guess you maybe don't remember the late 90's when AMD was destroying Intels CPU's. Bulldozer will start off Hard destroying everything Intel can come up with, but yeah Intel will catch up in about 5 years after releasing 5-10 more Motherboard Sockets :D In which Intel has to realease a Socket every year just to keep up or half a DECADE later and win in a few useless benchmarks ;). AMD chewed up ATI. Do you see Intel chewing up Nvidia? Nope in fact Nvidia just owned them in the courts recently, Intels going with crappy onboard GFX now. :p

Think about it, or just watch this informative discussion on Bulldozers design if you think I'm bonkers! Did you know Bulldozer will be capable of completely shutting down the CPU when needed? Can you say 1000000 percent more efficient than your Intel CPU :p Well watch this video and learn. :rolleyes: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wxbG2AmdMNY

Looks like someone signed up to troll.
 

chimera991

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Sep 4, 2010
Messages
1,168
why am i not surprised?
Dont the older i7s already outperform the hex core amd's? (intels i7 8xx)?

how does an i7 965E stack up to the new sb 2600k? i bought mine for $250 and if the performance is noticeable, i might sell my i7 and get the new sb cpu from MC
 

fullvietFX

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Sep 1, 2004
Messages
2,015
I bet it does, and I also bet that when Ivy Bridge drops...IB and SB will still be behind AMD Bulldozer.

You have to remember this is the company that made the Athlon in the late 90's that reached 1 Ghz b4 Intel. The FX Chips. The Opteron in 03', and has been hanging in there with a company for 7-8 years based off of that old design. Bulldozer is the new one. The NEW NEW NEW one. (Yes there can only be ONE!) I guess you maybe don't remember the late 90's when AMD was destroying Intels CPU's. Bulldozer will start off Hard destroying everything Intel can come up with, but yeah Intel will catch up in about 5 years after releasing 5-10 more Motherboard Sockets :D In which Intel has to realease a Socket every year just to keep up or half a DECADE later and win in a few useless benchmarks ;). AMD chewed up ATI. Do you see Intel chewing up Nvidia? Nope in fact Nvidia just owned them in the courts recently, Intels going with crappy onboard GFX now. :p

Think about it, or just watch this informative discussion on Bulldozers design if you think I'm bonkers! Did you know Bulldozer will be capable of completely shutting down the CPU when needed? Can you say 1000000 percent more efficient than your Intel CPU :p Well watch this video and learn. :rolleyes: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wxbG2AmdMNY

I really wanted to be on the AMD ship since the first system I bought was the AMD Athlon 1GHz (the slot one), and the first system I built was an Athlon XP 2000+. I was going to wait for Bulldozers release but I got too impatient.
 
D

Deleted member 222586

Guest
Yeah, 38 frames a second vs .... 85 frames a second with a gazzilion people in SW around the bank, auction house, etc.

50% improvment and a night and day difference.

Flying around still get 190 fps ... but that doesn't matter as much as a raid setting.

50% improvement? Thats more like 125% more performance, not 50% :rolleyes::rolleyes:
 

teletran8

2[H]4U
Joined
Jan 12, 2011
Messages
2,220
You have yet to spew any facts, just rampant AMD fanboy bs. :rolleyes:

Here is a nice video that shows most of what I said is facts. Sorry I made you mad bro. :eek: Maybe we can be friends someday.

AMD CPU Evolution - A History Lesson About AMD's Best Technology http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yVHctiKV-Bg&feature=channel

I really wanted to be on the AMD ship since the first system I bought was the AMD Athlon 1GHz (the slot one), and the first system I built was an Athlon XP 2000+. I was going to wait for Bulldozers release but I got too impatient.

Yeah it's hell to wait, but I learned after Socket 775 that intel screws you on upgrading your system. And AMD is AMAZING when it comes to how long you can stretch out your upgrades, and upgrade a component here or there instead of replacing a whole build at a time which people usually do with Intel builds. It's just the way it is, some people like it the Intel way, and some people dread that kinda stuff. Whatever. Gratz on your NEW system!
 

GotNoRice

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jul 11, 2001
Messages
10,620
Here is a nice video that shows most of what I said is facts. Sorry I made you mad bro. :eek: Maybe we can be friends someday.

AMD CPU Evolution - A History Lesson About AMD's Best Technology http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yVHctiKV-Bg&feature=channel

I think it's rather comical that the best you can come up with to try and prop-up AMD is a "History lesson", as if we didn't already know that AMD's best days are behind it when it comes to CPUs? Feel free to tell us how their achievements from 10 years ago have any bearing on today. But you've yet to present a single fact in this thread so far, so I'm not holding my breath that you'll all of a sudden start posting anything other than more BS.

And who's mad? You're the one on the losing team :)

Yeah it's hell to wait, but I learned after Socket 775 that intel screws you on upgrading your system. And AMD is AMAZING when it comes to how long you can stretch out your upgrades, and upgrade a component here or there instead of replacing a whole build at a time which people usually do with Intel builds.

I built my first 775 system in 2007 and I'm still on 775 today. It might not be the newest socket but it's still faster than anything AMD has. Interestingly enough, I don't feel very screwed :p
 
Last edited:

Zarathustra[H]

Extremely [H]
Joined
Oct 29, 2000
Messages
33,417
Wow.

WOW must be very CPU intensive.

I have tested a significant range of games both on my stock core i7-920 with a GTX580 and my stepsons new Phenom II X4 @ 4.2Ghz with a GTX470, and both rigs are always video card limited.

Neither of them run into CPU limitations on anything I've tested.
 

Coaxial

Gawd
Joined
Oct 8, 2008
Messages
990
Zarathustra[H];1036726513 said:
Wow.

WOW must be very CPU intensive.

I have tested a significant range of games both on my stock core i7-920 with a GTX580 and my stepsons new Phenom II X4 @ 4.2Ghz with a GTX470, and both rigs are always video card limited.

Neither of them run into CPU limitations on anything I've tested.

Go to a major city in WoW on a populated server. The difference between a phenom II and an i5/i7 is huge. Take it from someone who's owned both.
 

Zarathustra[H]

Extremely [H]
Joined
Oct 29, 2000
Messages
33,417
Go to a major city in WoW on a populated server. The difference between a phenom II and an i5/i7 is huge. Take it from someone who's owned both.

I've never played WoW. I wonder why it requires that kind of CPU power. Inefficient code?
 

popowrx

Weaksauce
Joined
Sep 8, 2006
Messages
117
Go to a major city in WoW on a populated server. The difference between a phenom II and an i5/i7 is huge. Take it from someone who's owned both.

I was an early Phenom (Not even the II series) adopter and have been regretting it ever since. I am running 20-45 FPS in general gameplay with an AMD 6870 on mostly Good settings. The distance settings (draw,character,etc) really kill the processor.

I haven't had an Intel system since the Pentium days and can't wait for what could or not be superior performance from Bulldozer. If only it was released side by side with Sandybridge I could make a more informed decision. I'll just have to happy with uninformed awesome performance. :)

My only issue now is if I will get the i7 4600K or i5 4500k.
 

Coaxial

Gawd
Joined
Oct 8, 2008
Messages
990
Zarathustra[H];1036726732 said:
I've never played WoW. I wonder why it requires that kind of CPU power. Inefficient code?

Yeah. It only really uses two cores even if you try to throw tricks at it to use more. IPC is much higher on intel chips so it's bringing my current 1055t @3.6 to it's knees :(
 
Top