i5 8400 with 1070 or i5 8600k with 580 ?

Discussion in 'Video Cards' started by Swagata, Nov 19, 2017.

  1. Swagata

    Swagata n00b

    Messages:
    54
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    I want to upgrade my pc, My current spec is
    i5 4570
    Asrock B85 Fatility
    G Skill Ripjaw 1600 MHZ DDR3 4GB x2
    Cooler Master Hyper 212x with an Corsair fan attached to it
    Cooler Master 700W Bronze
    Corsair Neutron GTX 120 GB
    Cooler Master Centurian 6 Case

    Now I want to upgrade and I am thinking of 2 build. Please note that Im gonna be gaming on 1080p 60 hz.

    Spec 1 :
    i5 8400
    Gigabyte Aorus Z370 Gaming 3
    G Skill Trident Z 3200 MHZ DDR4 4GB x2
    Gigabyte Aorus 1070
    Keeping My Previous SSD and Cooler

    Spec 2 :
    i5 8600K
    I am gonna keep my previous CPU cooler
    Gigabyte Aorus Z370 Gaming 3
    G Skill Trident Z 3200 MHZ DDR4 4GB x2
    HIS ICE COOL X2 580 8 GB OC
    Samsung EVO 960 M2 256 GB

    Which will be good ? If I take the second build, I may sell the card after 1 year and buy new GPU and have that very fast PCIe SSD. But Spec 1 will have me max out every game out there right now. But will the 8400 live for 3 years ? 8600k Can be overclocked in late future..... Also at 1080p CPU means more than GPU, right ? So a better CPU is good for the long run ? Thanks.
     
  2. TaintedSquirrel

    TaintedSquirrel [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,613
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2013
    I would replace the 8400+1070 with R5 1600 + GTX 1080. Should be about the same cost.
    The difference in CPUs is negligible.

    However, if I had a 4570 right now the lowest CPU upgrade I would take is the 8600K.
     
    Simmonz likes this.
  3. Swagata

    Swagata n00b

    Messages:
    54
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Ryzen and 1080 is way overpriced here. 1080 is out of the question. R5 1600 cost slight more than the 8400 although ryzen mobo are cheaper. But again not so that I can stretch my budget for a 1080. And isnt 1080 more overkill for a 1080p set up ?
     
  4. IdiotInCharge

    IdiotInCharge [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    13,056
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    I'd go with the Radeon and the faster CPU, since you're at 1080; got more legs, and I don't know how much higher than 4.0GHz you'd be able to coax that 8400, but the 8600k should punch far higher, and you just keep CPUs longer.

    Besides, if you're budget limited, you'll have a better chance of upgrading to a VRR monitor at a good price.
     
  5. kirbyrj

    kirbyrj [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    25,176
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    What is your current computer not doing now that you want it to do? I'd get a 1070 and put it in your current build and maybe get another 2x4GB of DDR3 RAM. Even grab a 4790k if you can find a deal. At least wait for DDR4 prices to come down. $100 for 8GB of DDR4 is silly. Heck, I have 2x4GB of DDR3 1600 I'll sell you for $35 shipped :D.
     
  6. Communism

    Communism Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    165
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Not only that, 8 gB of main memory is already a bottleneck for some games, and it will only get worse later (and even worse if you are running anything at all other than the game in the background.)

    Until you can save up for at minimum 16 gB of DDR4 + 8600k, it's an absolute waste of money to upgrade your current rig to a DDR4 platform.

    Going with an AMD gpu will make you more CPU limited as well (compared to an Nvidia GPU), so you need to factor that in as well into any decision you make.

    (To be clear, i am not disagreeing with kirbyrj)
     
    Last edited: Nov 19, 2017
    Ocellaris likes this.
  7. Swagata

    Swagata n00b

    Messages:
    54
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    the 1070 will be bottlenecked by 4570. cant find 4790k with warranty beside i use b85 board. my current setup has no warranty. if they die i get zero values. just like my r9 290 that died a few months ago. 8gb ram should be enough if i dont have anything in the background, right ?
     
  8. Swagata

    Swagata n00b

    Messages:
    54
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    really ? bottleneck by ram ? im not gonna run application in background though. anyway, i want ur opinion on spec 1 and 2; what do u think i should choose ? i already choose a faster cpu for the amd gpu; and 8400 with 1070. thing is that with 8400, i cant afford a ssd while with 8600k and amd gpu; i can. my current ssd is dying; has 145 bad sector for a year, i dont think it will survive much.
     
  9. Communism

    Communism Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    165
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    8gb ram should be enough if i dont have anything in the background, right ?

    Depends on the game, check this site for full info about main memory usage:

    http://gamegpu.com/

    the 1070 will be bottlenecked by 4570

    That's absolutely true, however, 4790k should be about equal to 8400.

    CPUs that you don't overclock basically cannot die anyways.

    Here is a nice video detailing the difference between i5 8400 and i7 4790k



    http://hwbench.com/cpus/intel-core-i5-8400-vs-intel-core-i7-4790k

    http://cpu.userbenchmark.com/Compare/Intel-Core-i7-4790K-vs-Intel-Core-i5-8400/2384vs3939

    The i7 4790k is a bit too old to show up on the main charts for most of the review sites, but it does compare relatively equally to i5 8400
     
    Last edited: Nov 19, 2017
    Rauelius and defaultluser like this.
  10. Shintai

    Shintai [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,691
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2016
    Instead of the 580 you can consider a 6GB 1060 and save 100W with it.
     
  11. kirbyrj

    kirbyrj [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    25,176
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    A rare treat :D.

    Even with a B85 motherboard, the 4790k still has the higher turbo values compared to the 4790 or Xeon equivalent.
     
    Araxie likes this.
  12. kirbyrj

    kirbyrj [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    25,176
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Well, if you budgeted on keeping the SSD in the one build it makes sense that you'd have to go with the other build then.
     
  13. crazycrave

    crazycrave Gawd

    Messages:
    628
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2016
    Well to give you an idea of Ryzen performance ,, the 1400 overclocked to 4.0Ghz is = to the 2500K at 4.4Ghz .. The whole R5 line up can drive that 1070GTX if you need to save on the cpu to get the 1070GTX into your budget and drop a zen 2 later on.
     
    Rauelius likes this.
  14. Communism

    Communism Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    165
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Ryzen 1400 isn't an upgrade from i5 4570.
     
  15. kirbyrj

    kirbyrj [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    25,176
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    The OP doesn't seem interested in upgrading CPU's later or else he would just buy the 4790k ;).
     
  16. DF-1

    DF-1 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,585
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011
    go with the better gpu.
     
  17. Sodapopjones

    Sodapopjones [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,861
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012
    I went 4670K - R5 1600.. I don't think I would go the route of 6 cores without hyperthreading... Short term build the 8600K would be the better way to go, but also wouldn't run any less than 16GB of ram, 8GB is definitely not going to cut it.
     
    Swagata likes this.
  18. Swagata

    Swagata n00b

    Messages:
    54
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    then i can go for spec 2; ditch the ssd and buy 16 gb or ram ?
     
  19. Swagata

    Swagata n00b

    Messages:
    54
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    some friend told me to just buy a 1070 and a 2k/144hz monitor......
     
  20. Swagata

    Swagata n00b

    Messages:
    54
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    I cant find/buy a 4790k now in my locality...
     
  21. DF-1

    DF-1 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,585
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011
    I think a haswell i5 is enough, your friend is right.

    Buy a 1070, see how much of an upgrade it is, see if you like it. You can do the others later if you want, but I think you'll see good results.

    (i dont see current GPU listed anywhere)
     
  22. misterbobby

    misterbobby 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,814
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2014
    4570 is okay for most games to keep 60 fps but you will have the cpu pegged in many if not most newer games and expect some stuttering in a few games. And I certainly would not want to play the latest games with only 8 gb of system ram.
     
  23. Sodapopjones

    Sodapopjones [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,861
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012
    If you are bent on getting a new setup, I think I would go with an 8600K, 16GB G.Skill or Corsair ram, and a 1060... I wouldn't touch another AMD GPU if it was given to me.
     
  24. Sodapopjones

    Sodapopjones [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,861
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012
    Watchdogs 2, was the moment I realized I needed more than 4 cores, kind of like when Bad Company 2 came out and it made me realize I needed more than 2 cores. ALT Tab into a slide show is fucking retarded.
     
  25. Swagata

    Swagata n00b

    Messages:
    54
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    take a look at here,



    Bottleneck is real. And dont u think, choosing a 1080p resolution will strain the cpu even more ?
    My rig is 3.5 years old. If they die; I get zero valeu. So, I am in a panic. I cant buy spec one or two without the money I am hoping to get from selling my current rig. my gpu is a dead r9 290.
     
  26. Swagata

    Swagata n00b

    Messages:
    54
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    the 580 is kinda cheaper than 1060 here. also 1060 has 6gb of vram; i think in future im gonna need that 2 extra gb, right ?
     
  27. Swagata

    Swagata n00b

    Messages:
    54
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    6 core 6 thread should be enough for upcoming games. if i stick to my current 4 core, ill definitely see low performance......even with a 1070. why not make the pc good like 8600k, 16 gb ram and a cheap 580 and later when 1170/2070 comes out; i sell the 580 and buy that. after alll 580 is very decent for 1080p 60hz; right ?
     
  28. misterbobby

    misterbobby 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,814
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2014
    Yes for 1080p go ahead and get an 8600k, 16gb of fast ram, and a 580 or 1060 then upgrade the gpu next year if need be.
     
  29. IdiotInCharge

    IdiotInCharge [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    13,056
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Probably not, especially not at 1080p; the fairly equivalent GTX970 with 3.5GB is still very good at 1080p 60Hz, though starting to get to the point where you must watch RAM-hogging settings. At my 1440p, basically twice the pixels, it was worse...

    However, the challenge is that by the time you'll actually need >6GB, your GPU simply won't be powerful enough to turn settings up.

    Save the cash, put it into CPU + RAM.
     
  30. greyboxer

    greyboxer Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    200
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2017
    I have recently found that 8GB is not enough for anything anymore and dont regret upgrading to 16GB 2133mhz DDR3. To OP, your CPU is probably fine, just upgrade the GPU unless you are doing some very CPU intensive non gaming.
     
    DanNeely likes this.
  31. TaintedSquirrel

    TaintedSquirrel [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,613
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2013
    I've had the opposite experience. 16GB in my rig but nearly every game keeps me around 6-7 GB total system usage. Sometimes it will eek past 8GB, I imagine over-allocation has some effect too.

    I'd still aim for 16GB in any new builds, obviously.
     
    DanNeely likes this.
  32. Guarana [BAWLS]

    Guarana [BAWLS] [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,796
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2001
    I would toss a 1070 in your rig, and add another 8GB RAM.

    See how it works, and then do the full upgrade when you can afford to get a new board + CPU + 16GB RAM, if the improvements don't do what you want.
     
    Vengance_01, yowen and DanNeely like this.
  33. DanNeely

    DanNeely 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,517
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2005
    Add me to the list suggesting just GPU + Ram upgrades for now. A CPU+mobo should be good for at least a half dozen or so years. Unless you're also able to upgrade to a significantly faster tier within a new generation upgrading the CPU more often than that's just not a good use of funds anymore.
     
    yowen likes this.
  34. DanNeely

    DanNeely 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,517
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2005
    How you use the rest of your system makes a big difference too. Obsessively closing browser tabs so you never have more than a half dozen vs having hundreds of tabs open at once is easily several GB of ram these days; and only getting worse as web pages pile more and more stuff into themselves. On the gaming side screen resolution might matter too; never looked into it but I know higher resolutions eat VRAM like no tomorrow; if the engine is caching assets it thinks will be needed soonish in system ram that could burn more at 1440p/4k.
     
  35. yowen

    yowen Gawd

    Messages:
    598
    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Start with a 1070, you can only go up from there! But the 1070 alone might just be enough. If you aren't happy, your next move would be cpu/mobo/ram. Or alternatively keeping an eye out for a -K chip that goes with your mobo, so you can overclock.

    That PCIE ssd isn't worth upgrading for either. You mentioned your SSD is dying. The real world performance of a sata vs a pcie isn't that huge, if I were you I'd be fine just getting another sata ssd.
     
  36. yowen

    yowen Gawd

    Messages:
    598
    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    With every background task closed, I'm still in the 8-9gb range. Admittedly that's with PUBG and it's known to be unoptimized and early access. But still, I think 16gb has become the new 8. If you can get by with 8, that's fine, but if you start running into trouble, you know it's time to upgrade.
     
  37. Swagata

    Swagata n00b

    Messages:
    54
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    guys, i am thinking of gettting zotac 1070ti mini with asus vx24ah wqhd monitor with my existing setup; what do you think ?
     
  38. Communism

    Communism Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    165
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    A 24 inch 1440p monitor is completely pointless unless you have 20/20 vision or better and can see pixels on a 27 inch 1440p monitor at normal viewing distance (Not aliasing, i'm talking about actual pixels).

    27 inch 1440p monitors already have the same PPI of a 20.25 inch 1080p monitor.

    108.79 PPI is already pretty high at normal viewing distances for a monitor.
     
  39. Stoly

    Stoly [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,442
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    I don't think the core i5 4570 will bottleneck a GTX1070.

    I'm running a GTX1070 with a Core i5 3330 and it runs great even at 4K in older games.

    If I were you, I'd get the GTX 1070 first. Then if you feel the CPU is a bottleneck then you can upgrade it.
     
    DF-1 likes this.
  40. Swagata

    Swagata n00b

    Messages:
    54
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    thing is that; the 1070 available here like gigabyte aorus or zotac amp; their price is so close to the zotac 1070ti mini; its like 15 dollar difference. so with either pricy 1070/1070ti i cant afford a 144hz monitor but that 24 inch 1440p monitor. if i get a less pricy 1070; i may get the 144hz 1080p panel but local shops are bad and i am worried i may not find a cheap 1070 like gigabyte g1 or asus dual x.....