i want to upgrade to 10Gigabit home network

mishal

n00b
Joined
Jun 12, 2013
Messages
27
hello

my current setup is:

Router = ASUS RT-N66U gives the internet to switch
Switch = CISCO SG300-20 Smart Managed switch for the whole house
NAS Storage = Synology DS3612+ which has 4X1gigabit ports and I am using only 2 ports with link aggregation enabled

I am not satisfied for the transfer speed between my PC to the Synology NAS. its always between 95mb/s to 115mb/s so I guess I reached the limits of the component.

I want to upgrade to 10gigbit but without spending crazy load of money.

so I guess what I need is :

1- 10gigbit Dual NIC PCI-Express for my sinology NAS
2- 10gigabit Dual NIC PCI-Express for my PC
3- 10gigabit Switch with minimum 6ports but I prefer 12 or 16ports

what do u guys suggest for me ? I checked the cheap new Netgear 10gig switch and they complain about the 2 noisy fan. any other options ?

my networking experience is not good I just read a lot and I want higher speed.

thank you ...
 

unholythree

Limp Gawd
Joined
Sep 23, 2011
Messages
227

Ultima99

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jul 31, 2004
Messages
4,905
We'll have Wifi 802.11zz doing 256Tbit theoretical by time we get cheap 10Gbit Ethernet...

I was so hoping X99 would have integrated 10Gb. Now our hopes are with Skylake.
 

Grentz

Fully [H]
Joined
May 5, 2006
Messages
17,159
Check your disk speeds too by the way....you will run into storage speed issues very quickly.
 
Joined
Jul 13, 2007
Messages
632
I'm not sure if 10Gb Ethernet is gonna buy you that much more performance out of that unit. Storage is going to be your next bottleneck.
 

Mackintire

2[H]4U
Joined
Jun 28, 2004
Messages
2,902
I agree with the (2) previous commenter(s).

You need to measure the transfer rates both of your PC and your storage.

If you re set on going 10gbe. Netgear has tjhe XS708E which is the cheapest 10gbe switch you are going to find these days.
 

mishal

n00b
Joined
Jun 12, 2013
Messages
27
hello guys thanks a lot of the fast replay.

this is the compatible list of 10gig NIC for my NAS Storage:

http://www.synology.com/en-global/support/faq/440

so I decided to buy the Intel X540T2

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16833106083


now when we come to the issue of having speed more than my Hard Drive. I put 12 X 4TB of Westren Digital Hard Drive Black Enterprise Edition. and they are consider to be the best hard drive for NAS storage.

I am not aiming for 700mb/s or 500mb/s. I would be happy if I am above 300mb/s

look at this test and they got amazing speed with the similar to my setup:



http://www.techspot.com/review/528-nas-10gbe-performance/page5.html

about the Netgear 10gig switch I know its cheap good price but I heard its super loud. so any thing step above that with lower noisy and not double the price ?
=========================================
My PC setup:
Motherboard: Asrock X79 fatality Champion
CPU: Intel i7 4960X Extreme
RAM: 32GB Corsair dominator Corsair 2133
Hard Drive: SSD for OS and few WD Black Enterprise Edition
=========================================

thanks again to all support ...
 
Last edited:

Cerulean

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jul 27, 2006
Messages
9,272
10Gbe epeen man

ban anyone that doesn't use native 10Gbe on your network man

only 10Gbe connections allowed man
 

mishal

n00b
Joined
Jun 12, 2013
Messages
27
10Gbe epeen man

ban anyone that doesn't use native 10Gbe on your network man

only 10Gbe connections allowed man

I didn't understand you very well. could u explain again with more details ?

do u mean the 10gigbit switch will accept only 10gigbit connections and ban the 1gigbit ?
 

Mackintire

2[H]4U
Joined
Jun 28, 2004
Messages
2,902
"10Gbe epeen man" Translates to: 10Gbe e-pen!s man (Implies that you are attempting to implement 10Gbe for the glory and public notoriety)


"ban anyone that doesn't use native 10Gbe on your network man" (Sarcasm)

"only 10Gbe connections allowed man" (More Sarcasm)


Cerulean is a bit of a odd bird. Ignore him or not...your choice. :p
 

scobar

.
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
34,387
I am interested in 10gb between my servers. My zfs and vm host will keep up. What's the cliffs on sfp?
 

Tak Ne

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jan 28, 2008
Messages
1,233
Netgear makes some 10Gbe switches (XS708E is 8port & XS712T is 12port) that are fairly cheap and have a couple of SFP+ ports but its worth noting that the XS712T is far too loud for a typical office environment.

Also, careful buying OEM Intel 10Gbe cards. The cards are great but OEM versions are usually from Dell and only come with one blanking plate (half height mostly).
 

scobar

.
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
34,387
For me I am thinking server to server. Noise isn't an issue here, I have 3x disk shelves with 2x 83cfm fans:eek:. I need to move this crap today.
 

NetJunkie

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Mar 16, 2001
Messages
9,682
Make sure you buy a supported 10Gb NIC for the Synology.

I have a 3611xs w/ 10Gb ports and with the right disks it'll fly. I've saturated the 10Gb connection with SSDs. Just make sure it's supported.
 

nry

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 10, 2008
Messages
409
Having setup 10GbE on my home(doubles up as my work) setup I would stay clear of 10GbaseT if noise/power consumption is a concern, just not too sure what SFP+ NICs are compatible with the Synology.

Most 10GbaseT PCIe cards come with very noisy fans, they also tend to use double the amount of power as SFP+ cards (based on my own testing).

In terms of switches, why do you need 6-12 10GbE ports? if you want this many ports you will probably need to spend a fair bit, my 24 port 10GbE Dell 8024F cost me £1000 second hand!
2-4 ports seems more realistic for your setup??

If you can get away with 10GbE on just your NAS and PC then you could either do a direct link between the two boxes (cheapest option) or if you wanted 10GbE on the switch the following could be suitable
MikroTik CRS226-24G-2S+IN
HP 2910al with 10gb module
Cisco SG500X
Dell 5524 (I have two of these stacked, giving me 4x 10GbE ports)
Dell 6224 (think these require a 10gbe module too)
 

Ur_Mom

Fully [H]
Joined
May 15, 2006
Messages
20,292
"10Gbe epeen man" Translates to: 10Gbe e-pen!s man (Implies that you are attempting to implement 10Gbe for the glory and public notoriety)

Look at the network pics thread. Some of our home networks are better than a lot of work networks. 10Gb? I'd do it if I could afford it (along with some killer storage to keep up). There really would be no reason for it other than "because I can". It'd be awesome.

OP - when you get things set up, post pics and speeds. I want to see how this turns out. Should be pretty awesome.
 
Top