I think my pc diying. Psu or ? Shutdown

Status
Not open for further replies.

mgty23

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Mar 16, 2017
Messages
1,664
Hi my pc:
10850K stock 4800mhz
2x16 GB DDR4 GSKILL 3000mhz XMP
Seasonic Tx-850 Ultra Titanium
Gigabyte Rtx 3090 Gaming OC
Aorus Z490 Pro Gaming
1 TB SSD

I bought machine and plugged in march 2021. No single issue,no reboots,no shutdowns. I played all games for many hours,no issues. Today...........i launched Metro Exodus and after cinematic part pc just shutdown<goes off>. I rebooted again and its fine again. My question is. It was psu issue or maybe other hardware?

I go to neighbourhood and ask about power ,but they had power in this time. So propably not power outage for 1 sec?

I remember that when pc goes off ,case lights flickered once and monitor flickered. That not happens when i shutting down manually.
 
Last edited:

GiGaBiTe

2[H]4U
Joined
Apr 26, 2013
Messages
2,267
If the mains power in your house is suspect because you have frequent blackouts/brownouts or other dirty power issues, you need to put your computer on an UPS. Dirty power can cause all sorts of havoc with electronics, and you really can't diagnose a power issue without having a trustworthy power source.

You'll want at least a line-interactive UPS, which can correct many common power issues on the mains and provide a filtered output for your computer. You can go up a step to an online UPS, but those get expensive.

As for other potential issues, the power supply could be failing, or you have an overheating issue. You didn't specify what kind of cooling you have on your 10850k. If you have some sort of air cooler on it, that would be the cause. The i9 parts run smoking hot under load and draw tons of power. Water cooling is a must, at least a 240mm AIO, but a 360 would be better.
 

mgty23

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Mar 16, 2017
Messages
1,664
If the mains power in your house is suspect because you have frequent blackouts/brownouts or other dirty power issues, you need to put your computer on an UPS. Dirty power can cause all sorts of havoc with electronics, and you really can't diagnose a power issue without having a trustworthy power source.

You'll want at least a line-interactive UPS, which can correct many common power issues on the mains and provide a filtered output for your computer. You can go up a step to an online UPS, but those get expensive.

As for other potential issues, the power supply could be failing, or you have an overheating issue. You didn't specify what kind of cooling you have on your 10850k. If you have some sort of air cooler on it, that would be the cause. The i9 parts run smoking hot under load and draw tons of power. Water cooling is a must, at least a 240mm AIO, but a 360 would be better.
on cpu Kraken X73

i am running now game and no shutdowns. Happened today once. Also i have pc until march 2021 and thats like today never happened. Happened when gpu load change from 0% to 99%.
 
Last edited:

jthomas

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 4, 2006
Messages
252
Since it only happened once and everything is fine since then, I'd just chalk it up to any number of random power issues. A short brownout or unusual fluctuations on the mains can sometime cause a PSU to shut off. I wouldn't worry about it unless it starts happening repeatedly.
 

pendragon1

Extremely [H]
Joined
Oct 7, 2000
Messages
41,921
dude, you machine is fine, as per usual. if it keeps happening, then let us know....



Since it only happened once and everything is fine since then, I'd just chalk it up to any number of random power issues. A short brownout or unusual fluctuations on the mains can sometime cause a PSU to shut off. I wouldn't worry about it unless it starts happening repeatedly.
random one off issues should be his custom title ;)
 

jthomas

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 4, 2006
Messages
252
Aww shit... just realized who I was responding to. I'm nobody around here, but even I've noticed your frequent past PC worries. Yeah man, lighten up and let it go. Enjoy your games and don't think too much about every little weird thing that happens. Computers do weird shit all the time, it's what they do best.
 

mgty23

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Mar 16, 2017
Messages
1,664
Happened once during skipping cinematic in Metro Exodus,pc just shutdown.Not able to reproduce. I dont know if that psu or maybe brownout?
But my laptop not turned off,laptop was plugged to second power cord.


So after that i run again: 3dmark port royal,3dmark wild life,time spy extreme,battlefield 5,control,metro exodus Enhanced and no shutdown again. Pc runs fine again.
 

mgty23

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Mar 16, 2017
Messages
1,664
I repeated launching game maybe 50 times again and no shutdown.No rma pc/psu etc .?
 

pitingres

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 25, 2018
Messages
292
Aww shit... just realized who I was responding to. I'm nobody around here, but even I've noticed your frequent past PC worries. Yeah man, lighten up and let it go. Enjoy your games and don't think too much about every little weird thing that happens. Computers do weird shit all the time, it's what they do best.
Plus he does the same thing over on pcpartpicker with a different username.

To the OP: Kid, either you worry too much or you're trolling. Quit posting about every little glitch. Even if I cared, there's no way to diagnose a one-off problem from a distance. No, don't RMA anything. Come back when you have a persistent issue, not a one-off.
 

mgty23

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Mar 16, 2017
Messages
1,664
So I am a bit confused. Everyone is saying that it is likely the psu with a problem...but they are also saying if it was the PSU’s over current protection, then I would HAVE to switch the flip in the back. I don’t have to flip switch. Are you all sure ocp will FORCE you to flip switch, and that’s not just some brands ways of handling it?
 
Last edited:

kirbyrj

Fully [H]
Joined
Feb 1, 2005
Messages
29,918
So I am a bit confused. Everyone is saying that it is likely the psu with a problem...but they are also saying if it was the PSU’s over current protection, then I would HAVE to switch the flip in the back. I don’t have to flip switch. Are you all sure ocp will FORCE you to flip switch, and that’s not just some brands ways of handling it?

The problem is you probably had a momentary flicker in your power at your residence. If you want to fix it, buy a battery backup. If it only happened once, it's not the PSU.
 

mgty23

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Mar 16, 2017
Messages
1,664
The problem is you probably had a momentary flicker in your power at your residence. If you want to fix it, buy a battery backup. If it only happened once, it's not the PSU.
Oki. But why only pc was affected and not laptop ( no battery mode ,Power was on ) and not router?
 
Last edited:

mgty23

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Mar 16, 2017
Messages
1,664

kirbyrj

Fully [H]
Joined
Feb 1, 2005
Messages
29,918
Oki. But why only pc was affected and not laptop ( no battery mode ,Power was on ) and not router?

Because your PC is probably more susceptible to slight power variations. The laptop has a built in battery backup, and the router didn't trip its circuitry with the power fluctuation.
 

kirbyrj

Fully [H]
Joined
Feb 1, 2005
Messages
29,918
https://forums.tomshardware.com/threads/seasonic-prime-tx-850-with-rtx-3090-ocp-shutdown.3742396/

johny guru explain me this :"You’re confused because you’re talking to people that don’t understand the problem.

Its not OCP. It’s a design issue. It doesn’t latch the PSU. It only let’s go of the power good signal. That’s why you don’t have to power cycle.

You need a different PSU for your 3090."



So what change psu or not if that happened once?

So I had an OCP power issue with my 3090 and an 850W PSU while playing AC: Valhalla. It would reach the same point in the game and the computer would shut off. It wasn't a one time occurrence, it was all the time when certain factors were met (usually using the raven in a crowded area). If your Metro Exodus cinematic doesn't trip the PSU all the time and only did it once, it doesn't sound like a PSU problem. It sounds like your power fluctuated and tripped the PSU.

So do yourself a favor and go buy a decent battery backup.
 

mgty23

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Mar 16, 2017
Messages
1,664
Because your PC is probably more susceptible to slight power variations. The laptop has a built in battery backup, and the router didn't trip its circuitry with the power fluctuation.
Hey thanks for answer. I must to mention. I checked event logs in laptop and in this moment laptop doesnt change power mode to battery,was still on power.
 

mgty23

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Mar 16, 2017
Messages
1,664
https://www.reddit.com/r/nvidia/comments/k10d80/rtx_3090_overcurrent_protection/


Someone said here:"On Metro, it ONLY happens when I load into the game (it makes you hold E for a second when the loading finishes)."


I had the same shutdown like op<reddit> in this moment , but it can be coincidence that it happened to me in this moment? I mean still not psu but power drop in house?

Also I don’t have to flip switch on the back psu.
 

mgty23

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Mar 16, 2017
Messages
1,664
Ok thank you all for replies and help. If now its fine and it happened once in 7 months of use, and no issues it was propably fluke and nothing to worry about?:)
 

mgty23

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Mar 16, 2017
Messages
1,664
Last question.

I remember that when pc goes off ,pc case lights flickered for a second and then turned off completely. That flicker not happens when i shutting down pc manually. Also why monitor flickered after 10 seconds after shutdown?!

In my room i had laptop on connected to other power cord in this moment, and in eventlogs there was not log about power mode changing to battery.So i think power was on in house. Also router plugged to wall dont turned off, because WIFI was active on laptop ,though.

So if power was in house <router,laptop power mode> why monitor flickered after 10 seconds after shutdown.


ps:
I tried to reproduce issue during 4 last days , all games,3dmarks,cinebench etc and no single shutdown.So it was power issue in house i think.
 

mgty23

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Mar 16, 2017
Messages
1,664
Why pc s more often crashing than consoles? I mean i had XBOX SERIES X before that pc for 2-3 months and never crashed console. Thanks. !
 

kirbyrj

Fully [H]
Joined
Feb 1, 2005
Messages
29,918
Why pc s more often crashing than consoles? I mean i had XBOX SERIES X before that pc for 2-3 months and never crashed console. Thanks. !

1). Your PC is a multi-purpose machine where your console is designed to do one thing...play games. Your PC is at the mercy of the good and bad choices in parts you used to build it and runs different software.

2). Your PC doesn't crash all that often. We just hear you whine about it for weeks every time it does.
 

kirbyrj

Fully [H]
Joined
Feb 1, 2005
Messages
29,918
So keep my pc?

Clearly your PC is defective as you post about problems you are having every day (actually, it's usually some variation of the same problem revolving around Metro: Exodus). I'll buy the parts off you for $100 and take the chance that I can get it working...

/s

(That's the sarcasm flag before you think I'm serious).

Although, if you're so concerned over every slight variation in performance that you can't explain, maybe you should just buy a prebuilt next time and you can bother their support with nonsensical questions. Did you ever stop to think that maybe Metro: Exodus wasn't coded for every single hardware variation you can put into a computer? Or that maybe there's a driver issue that hasn't been fixed yet?
 

mgty23

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Mar 16, 2017
Messages
1,664
Last question.

Someone said this to me:"
I had a similar situation years ago that only affected one game that turned out to be a dying PSU. System randomly was just turning off but it would happen with only one of the games I was testing with, Dragon's Dogma. I can't remember all the other games I tried but there were at least 10, but I could only reproduce the shutting off with DD. Replaced the PSU and the problem went away.

So for some reason only certain games will sometimes expose a failing PSU
."


So can i have failing psu? But like i said it happened once during 7 months. Thanks.
 

kirbyrj

Fully [H]
Joined
Feb 1, 2005
Messages
29,918
Last question.

Someone said this to me:"
I had a similar situation years ago that only affected one game that turned out to be a dying PSU. System randomly was just turning off but it would happen with only one of the games I was testing with, Dragon's Dogma. I can't remember all the other games I tried but there were at least 10, but I could only reproduce the shutting off with DD. Replaced the PSU and the problem went away.

So for some reason only certain games will sometimes expose a failing PSU
."


So can i have failing psu? But like i said it happened once during 7 months. Thanks.

That question HAS ALREADY BEEN ANSWERED! The guy you're quoting could reproduce the issue. You can't.

Someone also said this to you:

no. close the thread and make your new sig like i said.

That's the better advice.

My $100 offer for your defective parts still stands.
 

Dan_D

Extremely [H]
Joined
Feb 9, 2002
Messages
60,882
I've got a couple RTX 3090's and a RTX 3080 Ti here. If your power supply isn't 100% up to the challenge, your system will shut down. Run GPU-Z and log the data to a file. After it shuts down, you will likely see the cut off on power draw around 347w give or take. You can also use NVIDIA Frameview logging for this as well. Its common in my experience for a PSU to shutdown when you pull more than 350w on one of these GPU's. Both capacitor aging or not having enough wattage is problematic with these cards. I had to replace a 4 or 5 year old Corsair 1200w unit for that very reason shortly after getting my RTX 3090 FE.

Certain games are more likely to cause this than others. FarCry 6, Watchdogs Legion and Cyberpunk 2077 are all good ways of causing your GPU to pull that kind of power. RTX and DLSS at 4K will do it every time.
 

pendragon1

Extremely [H]
Joined
Oct 7, 2000
Messages
41,921
That question HAS ALREADY BEEN ANSWERED! The guy you're quoting could reproduce the issue. You can't.

Someone also said this to you:



That's the better advice.

My $100 offer for your defective parts still stands.
"defective"

I've got a couple RTX 3090's and a RTX 3080 Ti here. If your power supply isn't 100% up to the challenge, your system will shut down. Run GPU-Z and log the data to a file. After it shuts down, you will likely see the cut off on power draw around 347w give or take. You can also use NVIDIA Frameview logging for this as well. Its common in my experience for a PSU to shutdown when you pull more than 350w on one of these GPU's. Both capacitor aging or not having enough wattage is problematic with these cards. I had to replace a 4 or 5 year old Corsair 1200w unit for that very reason shortly after getting my RTX 3090 FE.

Certain games are more likely to cause this than others. FarCry 6, Watchdogs Legion and Cyberpunk 2077 are all good ways of causing your GPU to pull that kind of power. RTX and DLSS at 4K will do it every time.
i thought of that too but his gpu recommends a 750w and he has a 850 titanium, i thought it should be good. i know about the "normal" grades trippin but havent seen any plats doing it yet. it was also pretty consistent for those having issues. i guess it could be that, but i think it would happen more if it was.
 

Dan_D

Extremely [H]
Joined
Feb 9, 2002
Messages
60,882
"defective"


i thought of that too but his gpu recommends a 750w and he has a 850 titanium, i thought it should be good. i know about the "normal" grades trippin but havent seen any plats doing it yet. it was also pretty consistent for those having issues. i guess it could be that, but i think it would happen more if it was.
Like I said, it's easy to figure out with data logging. I've got a 1200w EnerMax Tytan that won't run an RTX 3090 or 3080 Ti. It's a review unit I've had about a year. Meanwhile, I've got a Corsair RM1000i that can do it.
 

mgty23

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Mar 16, 2017
Messages
1,664
I've got a couple RTX 3090's and a RTX 3080 Ti here. If your power supply isn't 100% up to the challenge, your system will shut down. Run GPU-Z and log the data to a file. After it shuts down, you will likely see the cut off on power draw around 347w give or take. You can also use NVIDIA Frameview logging for this as well. Its common in my experience for a PSU to shutdown when you pull more than 350w on one of these GPU's. Both capacitor aging or not having enough wattage is problematic with these cards. I had to replace a 4 or 5 year old Corsair 1200w unit for that very reason shortly after getting my RTX 3090 FE.

Certain games are more likely to cause this than others. FarCry 6, Watchdogs Legion and Cyberpunk 2077 are all good ways of causing your GPU to pull that kind of power. RTX and DLSS at 4K will do it every time.
Thats why i launched again maybe 200 times Metro to reproduce issue and still no shutdown. Weird?

ps:
Also
It's not overcurrent protection getting triggered.
That causes complete shutdown of PSU needing power cycling to clear it.
I don’t have to flip switch.


Its not that i am defending my pc just sayin. Ok but anyway its fine now and no need for further replies. Thanks guys. All fine.
 
Last edited:

mgty23

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Mar 16, 2017
Messages
1,664
Hey. Update i downloaded Watch Dogs Legion and Cyberpunk 277
( sometimes flickering on textures ) played 2 hours. No issues . So its ok
 
Last edited:

mgty23

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Mar 16, 2017
Messages
1,664
Since it only happened once and everything is fine since then, I'd just chalk it up to any number of random power issues. A short brownout or unusual fluctuations on the mains can sometime cause a PSU to shut off. I wouldn't worry about it unless it starts happening repeatedly.
Last question. But why monitor flickered for a moment after 10 seconds after shutdown then? Thank you.
 

Dan_D

Extremely [H]
Joined
Feb 9, 2002
Messages
60,882
Hey. Update i downloaded Watch Dogs Legion and Cyberpunk 277
( sometimes flickering on textures ) played 2 hours. No issues . So its ok
If Cyberpunk 2077 doesn't crash the machine, your probably fine. If you enable its higher quality features or run it at higher resolution, it causes GPU's to pull more power than other games do. However, flickering and that sort of thing in that game do not indicate issues. It does that, because on a technical level its both a marvel and a huge pile of shit.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top