I Need Timed Bandwidth Control - WNDR3700v2 - Gargoyle Or DD-WRT?

My current ISP provider has implemented a new "data useage" policy and we now have limits. I have a couple of kids(and mother in-law) that like to stay up all night and stream and play online games. Needless to say, last month turned out being almost a hundred gigs over the allotted amount. I would like to figure out a way to cut/slow the bandwidth down between certain times of the day to help "fix" this issue and make things a little easier on my wallet as once you go over, said ISP charges $10/50Gb block. So, I'm looking into using a modified firmware to give me some bandwidth control. I have no experience in using these and my networking knowledge is bare minimum - but I can read and follow instructions ;) Will either firmwares offer me the control that I'm looking for ? I don't really want to buy a new router as this one has served me quite well.

Opinions, experience, linkage - all welcomed :)

Last edited:
I have the same router but my advise would be the following:

1. Make them go to bed....they can read or do something else.

2. Set a rule limiting screen time.

3. Make them get a job if they are old enough so they don't have so much free time and can help pay for their usage.

I'm not trying to be a smartazz either.

Didn't take it as being a smartass. ;) I always expect the usual parenting response when I ask about setting internet limits and timers. I forgot to mention that we take care of my wife's mother(80yrs) who likes to stream Netflix for extended amounts of latenight time....

Didn't take it as being a smartass. ;) I always expect the usual parenting response when I ask about setting internet limits and timers. I forgot to mention that we take care of my wife's mother(80yrs) who likes to stream Netflix for extended amounts of latenight time....