I need a free telnet server for Windows

Sometwo

Limp Gawd
Joined
Nov 7, 2004
Messages
202
I'm working on a project and I need a free telnet (not SSH) server that runs on Windows. I tried KpyM, however it is handicapped unless you purchase it. I need one that is fully functional (even if it is for a limited amount of time) and I need to be able to login as many times as I want without it locking the account. Anyone know of a telnet server that would work?
 

feigned

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jan 7, 2003
Messages
1,224
There's one built in to Server.

If that's not what you need, look into Georgia Softworks' telnet server.
 

Xipher

2[H]4U
Joined
Mar 15, 2004
Messages
2,621
Install the telnet server Microsoft provides, I would think that should work well enough.

Just be careful, telnet is entirely clear text so your password will be visible on the wire.
 

Sometwo

Limp Gawd
Joined
Nov 7, 2004
Messages
202
Well the reason I want it is so I can run a dictionary attack against it with either Hydra or Brutus. I tried the telnet server on XP, and there doesn't seem to be a way to stop the telnet server from droping the connection after 3 failed logins. I think that might be interfering with the password crackers I'm using. :(
 

Sometwo

Limp Gawd
Joined
Nov 7, 2004
Messages
202
There's one built in to Server.

If that's not what you need, look into Georgia Softworks' telnet server.

I've looked into that. They call it a telnet server, but when you download it, it says it's a terminal server. You sure that's what I need?
 

Xipher

2[H]4U
Joined
Mar 15, 2004
Messages
2,621
While I thank you for being honest, you lack a sufficient reason as to WHY you are attempting to crack passwords. Until then you can count me out for help.
 

darkar

Weaksauce
Joined
Oct 21, 2007
Messages
123
putty ?
or
install linux and run it from any terminal window :p
or use a mac


try not to be so 1990 .. lolerskates im a hacker script kiddies we will mailbomb u hahahha

ill just call you zero cool from now on!
 

neeyo

Gawd
Joined
Jul 20, 2000
Messages
544
putty ?
or
install linux and run it from any terminal window :p
or use a mac


try not to be so 1990 .. lolerskates im a hacker script kiddies we will mailbomb u hahahha

ill just call you zero cool from now on!

He's looking for a telnet server, not a client.
 

Sometwo

Limp Gawd
Joined
Nov 7, 2004
Messages
202
While I thank you for being honest, you lack a sufficient reason as to WHY you are attempting to crack passwords. Until then you can count me out for help.

I need to do it for a school project. I have a few computers and I want to break into one of them through telnet, and then analyze the Network Based Evidence (NBE). I'm looking the server not a password cracker, so you know I don't have malicious intentions...
 
Top