I know this is not possible yet but will it ever be? Being able to use 2 cellular providers data connections (4g lte or 5g) to fill in dead zones?

ng4ever

2[H]4U
Joined
Feb 18, 2016
Messages
2,368
That or when one does not work well at all?


If this makes sense like a backup but a actual backup to cover the main cellular data connection 4g lte or 5g. That way if the main one ever has a dead zone or no data speed at all/really slow it uses some of the backup provider data.
Is this even possible ?
 

Zeoclang

Weaksauce
Joined
Jul 11, 2004
Messages
107
This is already possible with an unlocked dual sim phone. Asus, Xiaomi, and OnePlus all make dual SIM models. I'm not sure if a 4g+5g phone is available yet but there are many 3g+4g models.
 

ng4ever

2[H]4U
Joined
Feb 18, 2016
Messages
2,368
This is already possible with an unlocked dual sim phone. Asus, Xiaomi, and OnePlus all make dual SIM models. I'm not sure if a 4g+5g phone is available yet but there are many 3g+4g models.

What about iPhone yet ?
 

grim4593

Limp Gawd
Joined
Nov 30, 2014
Messages
311
You can do this today with a wireless hot spot and wi-fi calling. Just get a hot spot from a different provider than your cell phone. Expensive, but if you really need redundancy...
 

Supersnake

Gawd
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
961
This is already possible with an unlocked dual sim phone. Asus, Xiaomi, and OnePlus all make dual SIM models. I'm not sure if a 4g+5g phone is available yet but there are many 3g+4g models.
Is the switching to the second carrier/sim card done automatically when a low signal is detected? Or do you have to manually do something to make the switch?
 

Zeoclang

Weaksauce
Joined
Jul 11, 2004
Messages
107
If the signal strength was low or connection slow you would need to manually make the switch. Switching is only done automatically if the primary sim completely loses the connection.
 

ng4ever

2[H]4U
Joined
Feb 18, 2016
Messages
2,368
If the signal strength was low or connection slow you would need to manually make the switch. Switching is only done automatically if the primary sim completely loses the connection.

Ok thanks that sucks.
 

toast0

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jan 26, 2010
Messages
1,241
In the old times, this was accomplished with roaming; but roaming between major carriers is pretty much dead in the US at this point. In theory, a MVNO could make this happen, and Google Fi did with T-Mobile and Sprint (and US Cellular, but they're not in most states), but then T-Mobile and Sprint merged, so that's kind of moot. Some non-US carriers will do roaming in the US with multiple networks, so that's a possibility, but that's likely to be expensive.
 

tunatime

Well...OK
Joined
Sep 15, 2011
Messages
4,685
Op just put a antenna for your carrier in your car.
Or as said get a dule sim phone switching is easy and takes all of 5 seconds
 
Top