I just made 25 bucks in burst!

Discussion in 'Mining & Cryptocurrency' started by Hitti2, Jun 14, 2017.

  1. 6foot4geek

    6foot4geek [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,258
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    tacohunter52 likes this.
  2. Hitti2

    Hitti2 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    221
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2016
    My very first forged mined block.

    [​IMG]
     
  3. Simplyfun

    Simplyfun [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,177
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2016
    Plotting a couple hundred TB is so ffing slow even with a GPU. No intention to sell, just going to mine and hold this one. Servers are sitting there blinking at me... WTF are you doing.....
     
    DuronClocker likes this.
  4. DuronClocker

    DuronClocker [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,072
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Yeah this is insanely painful after dabbling in GPU mining.
     
  5. Lunas

    Lunas [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,656
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    >.< had to reinstall windows on my rig last night to get it to boot the windows 10 usb stick i had to unplug most of my array. luckily it did not take too long and luckily i did not nuke any of my plotted drives. It was time to upgrade that rig to a ssd boot drive.

    imagine you go to plot a new drive and forget to change the drive letter on the bat file you change the other perams and run the file only to find out you just tried replotting a 4tb drive with a plot file on it. it reset the plot file. I ended up plotting 2 drives that night instead of the 500gb i wanted to...

    Gpu plotting is not so bad cpu plotting sucks.
     
    Last edited: Jun 18, 2017
  6. Simplyfun

    Simplyfun [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,177
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2016
    I gave it a single 200TB drive letter on a Dell using a 1060 to plot and I'm kind of regretting it. When I pull up disk I/O it's not fully utilized but it's sorry it met me. This is the first time I've seen the SAN actually work for a living since I bought it. I bought these discs at a live auction, most are zero hours. I bet they regret it too.
     
    Last edited: Jun 18, 2017
  7. Hitti2

    Hitti2 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    221
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2016
    GPU plotting is stupid, "cpu Xplotter optimizes your plots...
     
  8. Lunas

    Lunas [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,656
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    yes but in the time i can gpu plot i can plot 10 times as much space and run the optimization tool and still have used less time than cpu plotting takes on all but the highest end cpu... additionally as far as i know the only benefit to optimization is faster read speeds by 30-50% unless you are running huge drives 6tb+ or are using a potato powered pc to mine with your read times are going to be under the 4 minute mark...
     
  9. Zepher

    Zepher [H]ipster Replacement

    Messages:
    15,604
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2001
  10. DuronClocker

    DuronClocker [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,072
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Just about exactly 2 days in, 74% complete on this 3TB drive, lol
     
  11. Hitti2

    Hitti2 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    221
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2016
    I just hit a big one, 135burat.

    [​IMG]
     
  12. Lunas

    Lunas [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,656
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    just hit another block while replotting my 2 4tb...
     
  13. NmCRooK

    NmCRooK Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    472
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    This is BS. My passcode sends me to another burst ID that is not mine. I already plotted 24TB worth in 4 days and now I can't even log into my own wallet to mine. Fuck this noise..
     
  14. Lunas

    Lunas [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,656
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Are you sure you put it in right. The passphrase thing was not something I was particularly fond of...

    When I generated mine I made very sure to copy and paste it into a text doc. There was a bit of a glitch where it was saying I had 0 coins but that cleared up.

    There are 3 things you should keep in a text file.
    Passphrase
    Numeric id
    burst address.

    My plan is to when I feel like it dump my burst over to btc.

    Also to mine you just need the miner it is in the wallet directory you can start it from there too also you don't need to be logged in to mine.
     
  15. NmCRooK

    NmCRooK Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    472
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    I need another coin otherwise I have to mine solo. Would you mind donating one please? BURST-L74R-JNA3-7NV7-36QW2

    Thanks again.
     
  16. Lunas

    Lunas [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,656
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Sent 5
     
    NmCRooK likes this.
  17. Hitti2

    Hitti2 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    221
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2016
    Yea, I am spending my burst on two x https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B071J8BZ8S .

    My EK fans that came with my L240 rev 1 WCing kit are getting old. Had them in and bought the kit 10-27-14. If they fail, my PC will be down. Was gonna order a 2TB HGST ultrastar but the fans at this point are more important.

    Ima Take the EK's out, oil them, install them to bottom of my 750D, removing an antec and thermaltake blue led's 120mm fans.

    Not gonna be fun, I need get painters tape as duct tape is to harsh to keep the fans in place while I install them at the top of the rad like I did last time.

    Not gonna be fun at all period. gotta remove the pump, keep it from moving around while tipping the BIG case to unscrew the two 120mm fans and screw in the EK fans.

    Then holding a rad with water lining up the long screws through the case/fans/rad..

    [​IMG]
     
  18. Lunas

    Lunas [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,656
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    I am looking at doubling my ram. I would like to bump it to 32gb but 16 will do. A ryzen system would also be nice my old carrizo rig takes forever to plot.
     
  19. Hitti2

    Hitti2 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    221
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2016
    1800x yea boi!

    I wish.
     
  20. Lunas

    Lunas [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,656
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    actually if i spent all my crypto i could buy one
     
  21. Danith

    Danith 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,617
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2004
    What's a good pool? I tried this for about a week and haven't gotten any coins so I'm wondering if I set something wrong or if I joined the wrong pool :( The pool I'm using is burstpool.ddns.net

    edit: I think I messed up when I set my first pool. Joined another and will see how that goes.
     
    Last edited: Jun 22, 2017
  22. 6foot4geek

    6foot4geek [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,258
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
  23. Danith

    Danith 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,617
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2004
    This is pissing me off. I changed the pool and the reward assignment to http://falconburstpool.xyz/, but when I start the miner the openCL one just spams 'Unable to get mining info from wallet' and the CPU one doesn't even start (apparently falconburstpool.xyz doesn't have a port and I think thats the problem). I would just do local mining but now I need a burst coin to switch that again. :|

    edit: wow, that was more difficult then it needed to be. I needed to use 216.165.179.117:8080
     
    Last edited: Jun 22, 2017
  24. Zepher

    Zepher [H]ipster Replacement

    Messages:
    15,604
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2001
    started to plot a WD Black 4TB drive. Looks like my GPU (GTX960) only does about 20K nonces/min so I used the cpu which gets 32K, so should be 16 hours like the last 4TB drive.
    burst-wd-black-4tb.jpg
     
  25. Zepher

    Zepher [H]ipster Replacement

    Messages:
    15,604
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2001
    I am using this pool, http://burst.btfg.space/

    I've gotten a couple hundred coins in the past 6 days from the pool with a 4TB drive.

    From what I read, if you solo mine, you need a lot of space, 10TB+ otherwise there is no chance to forge a block and get coins.
    I am still learning all of this stuff too, just started 7 days ago when I stumbled on this thread, lol.
     
  26. Zepher

    Zepher [H]ipster Replacement

    Messages:
    15,604
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2001
    I stopped the plotting on the second drive which was using xplotter_avx and am trying wplotgenerator, but I am not sure if I set it right.

    Looking at the drives, the Toshiba looks like it has a start of 60000001 and created 15260080 nonces.
    I started the second drive at 15260081. Will this work or did I mess up?

    burst-plotting-second-drive.jpg
     
  27. DuronClocker

    DuronClocker [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,072
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    I've seen mixed comments on that. Some say you don't need to add the +1, but I don't think it hurts anything to add it (and it'd certainly avoid overlap). I think starting at *1 instead of *0 would mean you need to add it. My two drives are considerably far apart in the nonces department, the AIO wallet plotted them a full first digit apart from each other.

    Everyone else having trouble with the Burst Client AIO's Online Wallet today and the last couple days? This is annoying.
     
  28. Zepher

    Zepher [H]ipster Replacement

    Messages:
    15,604
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2001
    The AIO wallet hasn't been loading for me either, get a "Can't reach this page" error. It also triggers my ESET AV, so I currently have ESET turned off.
     
  29. Lunas

    Lunas [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,656
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    yeah my aio wallet is stuck on the 18th i have deleted it and grabbed the newest portable version now it is redownloading... the phone one seems ok for now... i like the passcode thing making the wallets easy to move from device to device but it seems like such a huge security hole...


    And yes i am mining on the .biz one i was getting 30-50 coin payouts on the .us one so i moved to the .biz one and was getting 50-100 also i have hit 2 blocks on .biz first for 700 the next was 1000...

    but lately 2-3 large farms have been mining it and they keep hitting the top rewards... I am thinking about once i get my plots optimized moving to another pool

    I hate plotting so much but i got this wild hair to optimize my plots so i deleted one of my 4tb plots then set the other to optimize to the now empty 4tb when that is done ill put this 3tb i just got in and plot the 3tb plot file to one of the 4tb then optimize to the 3tb then ill optimize the remaining 1tb not optimized to the now empty 4tb then after moving the optimized 1tb plot back to the 1tb drive ill cpu plot the last 4tb to end up with most my drives optimized.
     
    Last edited: Jun 22, 2017
  30. bluskyh

    bluskyh n00bie

    Messages:
    32
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2012
    Got a Nuci5 system to use it for 24/7 for 4 x 4tb on USB3.
    It took forever to plot those drives on i5 haswell system, but was not sure if it's worthwhile to invest on newer cpu/mobo/ddr4.
    By the way, it took about 2 1/2 days to plot with using 3 threads for each drive.
     
  31. bluskyh

    bluskyh n00bie

    Messages:
    32
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2012
    I've read somewhere you need 50tb+ to be worth of for solo mining.
     
  32. Lunas

    Lunas [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,656
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    not for mining but for plotting yeah definitely use the fastest cpu you can get your hands on to plot your drive i thought plotting with gpu then optimizing would be faster than just plotting with cpu but so far to optimize a 4tb plot it has been just about 20 hours to plot and optimize and im only at 50% optimized
     
  33. bluskyh

    bluskyh n00bie

    Messages:
    32
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2012
    So, is optimizing the drive taking about same time as plotting?
     
  34. DuronClocker

    DuronClocker [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,072
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    3TB 5400RPM WD Purple drive was going to take 2.5 days (graphics driver crashed and forced a reboot after 2 days at 77%) when CPU-plotting with my i5-4690k @ 4.2GHz.
    3TB 5400RPM WD Purple drive took 7.5 hours to un-optimized-GPU-plot with my GTX 1080 Ti.
    Reading this drive took 30sec @ 22MB/s.
    3TB 5400RPM WD Purple drive took 17 hours to optimize via the same CPU over to a 3TB 7200RPM drive.
    Reading the 3TB 7200RPM drive with the now-optimized plot took 6sec @ 110MB/s.
    Copied the file back to the 3TB 5400RPM drive, took 7 hours. Reading this drive takes between 5-7 seconds at 90-140MB/s depending on the scoop and system load.

    Optimized-GPU-plotted the 3TB 7200RPM drive in 17.5 hours with my GTX 1080 Ti. Reads are the same as above.

    Optimizing that drive improved performance nearly 5x. Insanity. Probably makes a larger difference on 5400RPM drives with slower seek times I imagine.
     
  35. Lunas

    Lunas [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,656
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    it is seeming like it I am going to optimize 1 more drive then cpu plot the rest. So i will still have the bulk of my plots optimized but hope this will be my last time plotting anything. until i can afford a threadripper...

    You want to use this https://github.com/bhamon/gpuPlotGenerator/releases it will plot a 4tb drive in about 8 hours it will not be optimized though.

    But it should work out how you are doing it from what i understand wplotgen is the older slowest method though...
     
    Last edited: Jun 23, 2017
  36. Zepher

    Zepher [H]ipster Replacement

    Messages:
    15,604
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2001
    I have a GTX 960 in that machine, I think I read that a 960 does under 20k nonces/min. I get 32K nonces/min with my 16 core Xeon.
    My plots are optimized and I am only getting these read speeds:
    12 sec 72MB/s on the WD Black 7200rpm 64MB Cache
    15 sec 59MB/s on the Toshiba 7200rpm 128MB Cache
     
  37. Lunas

    Lunas [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,656
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    from what i have read xplotter is supposed to be faster and it makes optimized plots...
     
  38. Zepher

    Zepher [H]ipster Replacement

    Messages:
    15,604
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2001
    xplotter took 16 hours on each drive. wplotgenerator did my drive in 10 hours but I set the nonces too high and it got stuck waiting to write the last ones.
    I canceled it since it was just sitting there, and when I ran the miner, I was getting errors in the plot, so I re-plotted xplotter from within the AIO app.

    this is what my reads look like in the miner,
    F is the Toshiba
    G is the WD Black

    burst-read-speed.jpg
     
  39. Lunas

    Lunas [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,656
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    sweet burst is blowing up... i am up to $80 in burst...
     
  40. DuronClocker

    DuronClocker [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,072
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Yeah, looks like it jumped from 1.5 cents to 2.5 cents over the past few days. #1 guy (that RiskyFire / iMineBlocks guy) has nearly $20 million in burst now I think. Not bad for 3 years of mining!

    I've made almost a dollar. I guess I have a ways to go :D