I did this "wrong" in python I think. Suggestions?

Kaos

[H]ard|Gawd
Someone came to me today for some help with parsing out a file. I'm just learning python so they said it would be fine if I tried to do this in python.

The basic idea is that they wanted a file that is grouped like this pushed into pipe delimited format

Code:
STRING OF TEXT A
ACCOMPANYING STRING A
ACCOMPANYING STRING A2
STRING OF TEXT B
ACCOMPANYING STRING B
ACCOMPANYING STRING B2

So on and so forth

They wanted the output to look like this
Code:
STRING OF TEXT A | ACCOMPANYING STRING A | ACCOMPANYING STRING A2
STRING OF TEXT B | ACCOMPANYING STRING B | ACCOMPANYING STRING B2

Here's how I did this...I KNOW how I did this was sloppy and wrong, but It was fast and worked. Intellectually it's going to bother me. Here's how I did it:

Code:
#This is going to need to be parameterized
filename=open("C:\\temp\\source_file.txt", "r")

#Create list (each line is an element)
line = filename.readlines()

#This gives us the grouping of lines (?) This works but has to be wrong/inneficient.
list_length = len(line) / 3

#Create the initial values for the counters
counter = 0
zero = 0
one = 1
two = 2

#Create and empty list to build the full strings into
outputlist = []

#Build the outputlist - I'm basically adjusted the index values that I'm writing into the new list
while counter < list_length:
	outputlist_string = line[zero].rstrip()+line[one].rstrip()+"|"+line[two].rstrip()+"\n"
	outputlist.insert(counter, outputlist_string)

#Increment the counters
	counter += 1
	zero = two + 1
	one = zero + 1
	two = one + 1

#Sort the list	
outputlist.sort()

#Print the output
print "".join(outputlist)

filename.close()

Specifically how I chose to write the values out was....weird, but like I said it worked...it's just going to drive me nuts.

Python 2.7 by the way.

Thanks everyone!