I Bought a RTX 3080 Today!

I Bought a RTX 3080 Today!

  • Yes

    Votes: 74 10.7%
  • No

    Votes: 619 89.3%

  • Total voters
    693

Zorachus

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Dec 17, 2006
Messages
9,367
So just picked up the 3080 at microcenter. I came on a 34" Acer Predator 3440 x 1440

I'm hoping I notice a big improvement in performance going from my current GTX 1070 to this new RTX 3080.
 

stamsek

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Nov 2, 2005
Messages
15,468
614F1059-FAC6-4015-890A-F16A4FF9E2D1.jpeg
 

Zorachus

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Dec 17, 2006
Messages
9,367
Silly question, so I have 3 Display Ports on the back of the card, does it matter which one I plug my cable into? I plugged into the middle DP port, not sure if there's a specific one I should be in or not?
 

RareAir23

Limp Gawd
Joined
Sep 25, 2006
Messages
279
Actually yes Zorachus. If you have a G-Sync ready monitor it does matter which DisplayPort input you plug the monitor into. For a G-Sync monitor to work and give full G-Sync capabilities to you with your GeForce card you need to plug it into what is considered DisplayPort input port 1 on your GeForce card. I know because I've owned 2 G-Sync monitors and have learned from experience (read: trial and error) that if you plug your G-Sync monitor into anything but DisplayPort input port 1 on a compatible GeForce video card you won't be able to use G-Sync. Out!
 
Joined
Sep 18, 2020
Messages
3
I was able to buy an EVGA 3080 FTW3 Ultra Friday morning at the KC Microcenter after showing up hours before opening. Hooked it up to my LG CX and 𝐍eeded a FW update on the display to get 4K 120 g sync. Still having issues with hdmi cables so do all you can to get that sorted before you get your card.
 

Maddness

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Oct 24, 2014
Messages
1,254
I was able to buy an EVGA 3080 FTW3 Ultra Friday morning at the KC Microcenter after showing up hours before opening. Hooked it up to my LG CX and 𝐍eeded a FW update on the display to get 4K 120 g sync. Still having issues with hdmi cables so do all you can to get that sorted before you get your card.

What sort of issues are you having. I'm still waiting for my CX to arrive. They must be so popular. I've been waiting for a month so far.
 

lopoetve

Fully [H]
Joined
Oct 11, 2001
Messages
31,376
What sort of issues are you having. I'm still waiting for my CX to arrive. They must be so popular. I've been waiting for a month so far.
There’s a thread on it. It’s not fully baked yet, especially on most AVR receivers. Various sync and compatibility problems.
 
Joined
Sep 18, 2020
Messages
3
What sort of issues are you having. I'm still waiting for my CX to arrive. They must be so popular. I've been waiting for a month so far.
I had crazy white flashes before the LG update that would induce seizures for sure. After the update zero white flashes. I still have a few vertical sparkles that are intermittent and I am blaming them on HDMI cables for now. More cables on the way. I also have noticed a problem with blacks that seem to be kind of crushed/blocky in some instances or maybe it is similar to banding. I need to do some more looking and research. I noticed this more on Control than say Witcher 3 for example. I am very critical of displays so I need to say that overall the LGCX is absolutely gorgeous. I am coming from an Alienware 34 inch ultra wide.
 
Joined
Sep 18, 2020
Messages
3
There’s a thread on it. It’s not fully baked yet, especially on most AVR receivers. Various sync and compatibility problems.
Yes you are correct. In fact I am planning on avoiding going through the AVR all together. I am just going to use E ARC instead until the 2.1 issues are solved. HDMI is a real pain.
 

lopoetve

Fully [H]
Joined
Oct 11, 2001
Messages
31,376
Shipped! Arrives tomorrow. Now to debate swapping it for the 3090 someone offered me (3080+cash for the 3090)- Gigabyte to Zotac though. Hmm.
 

Mylex

Gawd
Joined
Aug 30, 2018
Messages
852
Shipped! Arrives tomorrow. Now to debate swapping it for the 3090 someone offered me (3080+cash for the 3090)- Gigabyte to Zotac though. Hmm.
I would hard pass, I have a feeling this maybe a shorter than normal product cycle with the pressure of actual competition this gen.
 

4RunnerTE

Limp Gawd
Joined
Aug 12, 2015
Messages
189
Just picked up a ROG Strix 3080 at my local Microcenter in Columbus, OH. They had a "couple" of these as well as a 3080 Tuf, Zotac 3090 and also a Strix 3090.

Almost went for the 3090 but thought better of it. Good luck to all.
 

oledguy1

Weaksauce
Joined
May 16, 2017
Messages
69
Does Microcenter update their website for the 3080's near you? I have been checking my local microcenter's website and the 3080s are always greyed out. Maybe they are getting them in and selling out of them before they get a chance to update their website?
 

Archaea

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Oct 19, 2004
Messages
11,270
Does Microcenter update their website for the 3080's near you? I have been checking my local microcenter's website and the 3080s are always greyed out. Maybe they are getting them in and selling out of them before they get a chance to update their website?
No. Microcenter is only selling ampere in store in Kansas City from what I’ve seen.
 

4RunnerTE

Limp Gawd
Joined
Aug 12, 2015
Messages
189
Does Microcenter update their website for the 3080's near you? I have been checking my local microcenter's website and the 3080s are always greyed out. Maybe they are getting them in and selling out of them before they get a chance to update their website?

Mine had not. They have been listing the 3070 as "limited stock," however.
 

ronan_zj

Weaksauce
Joined
Feb 27, 2009
Messages
69
I just picked up EVGA GeForce RTX 3080 FTW3 ULTRA GAMING from my local store Central Computer today, it is HUGE when I compare to my Asus ROG-STRIX-RTX2080-O8G-GAMING. I am wondering if I am able to sell the 2080.
 

vjhawk

Limp Gawd
Joined
Sep 2, 2016
Messages
331

mnewxcv

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Mar 4, 2007
Messages
8,560
Hmm a 3080 Ti with 20GB is a tantalizing prospect. So it's going to have the same 320bit bus as the 3080 but have as many cuda cores as the 3090? Pricing? I would guess it would have to start at $999. I don't think Nvidia can get away with a $1200 price tag when the Radeon 6900XT trades blows with the 3090.
The 6900xt only trades blows wirh rage mode enabled and that special thing it does wirh amd cpus only. But I get your point. Still, this is just a rumor. If they can release 3090s and 3080tis wirh full Cuda cores, yields must be pretty good.
 

vjhawk

Limp Gawd
Joined
Sep 2, 2016
Messages
331
The 6900xt only trades blows wirh rage mode enabled and that special thing it does wirh amd cpus only. But I get your point. Still, this is just a rumor. If they can release 3090s and 3080tis wirh full Cuda cores, yields must be pretty good.
I was actually expecting a cutdown 3090 rather than a beefed up 3080. Yes this does pose the question what happens with the 'not good enough' 3090 gpus. Or is the 3080 already the discarded version of the 3090?

Or is the 3080 Ti a worse binned 3090? Who knows. But considering the 3080 Ti is on a 320 bit bus rather than 384 bit it feels like an upscaled 3080. Weird. Can you even shoehorn a badly binned 3090 chip into a 320 bit bus?
 

troisanh

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Dec 27, 2005
Messages
8,549
picked up evga rtx 3080 xc3 ultra through the notification system just now so it seems there system kinda works but very slow.
 
Last edited:

Dayaks

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Feb 22, 2012
Messages
8,286
I was actually expecting a cutdown 3090 rather than a beefed up 3080. Yes this does pose the question what happens with the 'not good enough' 3090 gpus. Or is the 3080 already the discarded version of the 3090?

Or is the 3080 Ti a worse binned 3090? Who knows. But considering the 3080 Ti is on a 320 bit bus rather than 384 bit it feels like an upscaled 3080. Weird. Can you even shoehorn a badly binned 3090 chip into a 320 bit bus?
3080 is a cut down 3090. I think the 3090 is 3% from full die iirc. “Discarded” might be a little drastic of a word lol. Some chips may be ok as a 3090 some not I imagine it depends on demand.
 

waterbucket

Limp Gawd
Joined
Feb 10, 2018
Messages
152
picked up evga rtx 3080 xc3 ultra through the notification system just now so it seems there system kinda works but very slow.
Got my notification and ordered today too for the XC3 Ultra. I have another 3080 coming as well. Gotta decide if I want to keep both for different systems or keep one and sell off the other.
 
Top