I blew up my 3600

Discussion in 'AMD Processors' started by Legendary Gamer, Nov 6, 2019.

  1. Legendary Gamer

    Legendary Gamer Gawd

    Messages:
    679
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2012
    I am not thinking of the Pro, that board is more expensive. It's the Prime-P, I'm certain.
     
  2. d3athf1sh

    d3athf1sh Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    418
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2015
    but i thought it was the Gigabyte X470 Aorus Ultra Gaming that was what was causing you problems though? on that spreadsheet it doesn't have that good of a vrm rating for ryzen 3000.
     
  3. Legendary Gamer

    Legendary Gamer Gawd

    Messages:
    679
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2012
    I think we derailed the conversation about talking about the X570 board I bought, tested (it failed) and I returned.

    The X470 is indeed kind of crappy on the sheet that I didn't have until I started this thread after I had killed the board. It should have, however, been easily capable of Overclocking the 3600 according to even that spreadsheet. Thus, I suspect the board itself was defective. I am reaching out to Gigabyte on this.
     
    d3athf1sh likes this.
  4. d3athf1sh

    d3athf1sh Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    418
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2015
    yeah was thinking same thing, should be under warranty. wouldn't say anything about overclocking though, just to be on the safe side. good luck.
     
    Legendary Gamer likes this.
  5. d3athf1sh

    d3athf1sh Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    418
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2015
    ok looking back i see where i got derailed but after looking again, probably the reason prime-p ran a few degrees cooler is prob because it has it only has 8 50A fet's vs the 12 50A fet's on the Prime-Pro/TUF/Strix-F ?not exactly sure. prob still should have been enough for a 6 core tho.
     
    Legendary Gamer likes this.
  6. d3athf1sh

    d3athf1sh Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    418
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2015
    oh and here's the hardware unboxed test w/ the tuf x570 prob one i meant to send earlier

     
    Legendary Gamer likes this.
  7. Dark12

    Dark12 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,405
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    That sucks
    I just bought the msi x570a pro. Upgrading my rig tomorrow to that with a 3600.
     
    Legendary Gamer and d3athf1sh like this.
  8. d3athf1sh

    d3athf1sh Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    418
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2015
    you got to be joking...?
     
  9. Dark12

    Dark12 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,405
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    About what
     
  10. d3athf1sh

    d3athf1sh Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    418
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2015
    nevermind. well just make sure you got some good airflow. let us know how it goes. should do alright tho w/ the 3600. Hardware Unboxed was testing w/ 3900X so you should be getting better numbers.

    i have my 3800X and Ballistix TUF 32GB 3200 16-18-18-36 kit sitting here. waiting on a MB and cooler. but the transmission crapped out on my car 2 weeks ago so that is taking priority right now.
     
  11. Dark12

    Dark12 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,405
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Thank you
    I think I'm just gonna send this back to Amazon and pick up am ASRock steel legend from microcenter instead.
    Does that make more sense?
    Only $20 more after MIR
     
  12. d3athf1sh

    d3athf1sh Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    418
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2015

    hey i'm just glad you aren't going back to intel.
    it's up to you just check out those vids and see what you think. i mean see you had a really bad experience w/ gigabyte and i had a really bad experience w/ asrock. so it's hard to say. a lot of the times it probably just comes down to luck of the draw. but i will say that i watched the Gamers Nexus videos about Red Dead Redemption 2 performance and they weren't even able to get it to work with their Gigabyte X570 Master which is the top of the line Gigabyte board. so idk. I mean in the past and even now MSI makes some great boards and they've been around for a LONG time. but just looks like they're lower end X570 boards use's a thinner pcb which is upping the temps a little bit but that doesn't necessarily mean they won't last. so i would take a few min and check out those vids and see what you think. but i'm sure you're like me and just aint no way gonna shell out $700 for a motherboard. no way uh uh. shit's getting crazy. i remember my first hand built system was a socket 939 athlon 64 and top of the line, best you could get board was ~$200 (asus a8n32-sli deluxe) pricing is really getting out of hand these days. tough decision.
     
  13. d3athf1sh

    d3athf1sh Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    418
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2015
    sorry in my last reply i thought i was talking to @Legendary Gamer but my advice still stands.
     
    Legendary Gamer likes this.
  14. Legendary Gamer

    Legendary Gamer Gawd

    Messages:
    679
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2012
    Yeah, you really need to watch the Hardware unboxed videos that are linked in this thread. The MSI motherboards were among the worst thermally. When I mean worst, I'm talking that they were 20c hotter than any other motherboard and they might, quite literally, light your PC on fire without proper cooling and high airflow. I am fairly certain that is what d3athf1sh is referring to. Not many boards ran cool, save for the ASUS ones and some ULTRA HIGH END BOARDS (primo $$$).

    The best thermal Motherboards (on the cheap) were the ASUS Prime-P and the ASUS TUF

    I would go with the TUF because it can sustain more amperage and it actually has a diagnostic LED header on it for troubleshooting. Only issue with the TUF is that it uses a brand new Gig adapter from Realtek (not certain what the advancement is, but I am certain the drivers aren't in windows) so make certain you have the drivers handy on a USB drive before plopping it in or you might not be able to hit the internet (if you don't have a CD Rom Drive)
     
    Dark12 and d3athf1sh like this.
  15. Dark12

    Dark12 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,405
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    This is very helpful ty
    I am going with the prime-p because that is what my microcenter has and I am getting tired of waiting.
    I'm so glad I saw this thread before opening that msi board though.
    Much appreciated
     
  16. Legendary Gamer

    Legendary Gamer Gawd

    Messages:
    679
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2012
    FYI - The Prime-P is the one that was DOA for me. Not saying that it's gonna happen for you, but just make sure you have one of those 4 pin mini speaker's or an actually, old school, PC speaker lying around so you can hear the error codes. That's the biggest issue that system board has (it's basically like any standard, old school, motherboard). The TUF and STRIX have, as d3athf1sh informed me, some additional Amperage load capability (otherwise the boards VRM designs are identical... I could have sworn the VRM layout was the same tho). The TUF and STRIX have diagnostic LEDs FYI
     
    Dark12 likes this.
  17. Dark12

    Dark12 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,405
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Good to know.
    Ya seems like a strange thing to omit even for a budget board. I guess I've been spoiled with led readouts for the past... 10 years?
    I'll check my motherboard graveyard for one of those little speakers.
     
    Legendary Gamer likes this.
  18. kirbyrj

    kirbyrj [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    24,715
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    The problem with that board is the first PCIe x16 slot. It is one slot higher than other boards so it interferes with the CPU socket and coolers. If you're using an AIO or something it shouldn't affect you, but a large air cooler might touch the back of your video card. Also getting to RAM tabs might be difficult, etc.
     
    d3athf1sh and Dark12 like this.
  19. Dark12

    Dark12 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,405
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Ah that will definitely be relevant to me. I am bringing over my monster chunk of metal that is the nh-d15.
    Overkill I know but I'd rather have too much cooling than not enough. Plus I'm bringing it over from my old build so no added cost.
    Seems like Asus prime x570-p is the one for me.
     
  20. kirbyrj

    kirbyrj [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    24,715
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Yeah, I'd think that would be better since the video card x16 slot is lower. Definitely gives you more room for your CPU cooler. Curious choice by ASRock. I guess they wanted to give an extra slot between x16 slots for multiple video cards so they had to move the first slot up higher on the board.
     
  21. d3athf1sh

    d3athf1sh Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    418
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2015
    unless you really don't like the branding you can get the tuf x570 on newegg for $15 more then the x570-p and you get the better vrm's and better overall build quality. looks like it's luck of the draw with the -p (according to not only this thread but newegg reviews) and make sure the first thing you do is update bios. good luck. hey maybe they've worked out the kinks by now? let us know how it goes for ya.
     
  22. d3athf1sh

    d3athf1sh Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    418
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2015
    Last edited: Nov 9, 2019
  23. kirbyrj

    kirbyrj [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    24,715
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    I bought one for my brother off ebay for the same price. Bare board (I/O shield attached to rear). I don't recall which bios was on it, but I think it was 2501. Works great.
     
    d3athf1sh likes this.
  24. d3athf1sh

    d3athf1sh Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    418
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2015
    only thing that's scaring me is how many refurbished units they got. just think, every one of those units are one somebody had a real bad day/experience/week(s) with and had to send back. they may be fixed now and will last for decades, but that's why i'm on the fence. damn and then they got new ones for like $220 and if it's really all it's cracked up to be it would be worth it either way if it works properly. dang it. what to do.

    and i thought since asus removed the human element and went to 100% machine manufacturing a couple years ago, their stuff was suppose to be flawless. what the heck happened? besides some people losing their jobs? what do you guys think?
     
  25. Jandor

    Jandor Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    286
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2018
    Don't know but people on Reddit have used B350m Prime with 3900X without a problem, so I don't think there is any VRM problem. The Ryzen 3000 CPUs get hot much more with less power because the chips are smaller. For the 3900X you need a very good cooler and it is not surprising AMD sells the 3950X without a cooler but promotes waterblocks for them.
     
  26. dmdtobe

    dmdtobe n00b

    Messages:
    59
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2019
    I had no idea these Ryzen chips were so averse to being overclocked. I've been out of the loop for way too long.
     
  27. HardUp4HardWare

    HardUp4HardWare [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,259
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2005
    I saw a video where they were talking about how the voltages were too high on some stock MB bios settings. I wonder if people are feeding them too many volts. Sorry, I am a OC noob.
     
  28. tangoseal

    tangoseal [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,722
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Lol I run a 3600 in a b450 gigabyte and it runs at 4200 all core for hours on end while it's doing video work.

    Having no issues with power delivery or stability.

    You need the latest agesa ornelse your chips are going to get too much voltage. These are 65 watt chips and do not need 1.4++ volts tonworknat max freq.