I Bit the Bullet 2.........

Tigerbiten

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - February 2007/January 2
Joined
Sep 24, 2002
Messages
5,028
Just picked up some new [H]ardware.

2x AMD Opteron 250.
1x Tyan Thunder K8W.
1x XFX GeForce6800GT. Was going for the ultra but non in stock.
2x Corsair Tx 2Gb 3200 RECC. Just for fun.
2x 74Gb WD Raptors. For Games, etc.
1x 36Gb Maxtor U320. OS drive.
1x 480W Tagan TG480-U01.

Anything not on that list I've already got.
So I'll have fun over the next couple of days building it single handed.

Ps. Picked up a copy of Farcry just to see how it copes. Dont know if I can play it yet.

Luck....... :D
 

compslckr

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jun 5, 2002
Messages
8,909
i bet it cost a pretty penny.. but it should be a nice addition to your folding team, as well as a solid performer for whatever other tasks you throw at it
 

Tigerbiten

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - February 2007/January 2
Joined
Sep 24, 2002
Messages
5,028
Only about £ 3,300.
Or 1.65% of an arm...

Luck......... :D

Edit. Decimal point in wrong place.
 

rogue_jedi

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Sep 6, 2002
Messages
4,821
so that has 4gb memory in 2 sticks, and it's pc3200? hot damn.

that's some nice hardware. i wish i had the money to buy something like that:(

have fun with it!
 

Tigerbiten

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - February 2007/January 2
Joined
Sep 24, 2002
Messages
5,028
Four 1 Gb sticks.
Two packs of TwinX.
Its only 3-3-3-8 but I'm hopeing the extra hypertransport speed will offset the higher latency.

It easy to afford something like this.
Just loose an arm to a Tiger.
They pay well.

Luck....... :D
 

Tigerbiten

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - February 2007/January 2
Joined
Sep 24, 2002
Messages
5,028
Mobo.jpg


I'm in the process of building it.
One EATX mobo with bits in a Lian-Li PC70 case.
Only one problem.
The case of the new PSU is bent on arrival.
If it was a cheap folding boxen it would not matter as I would just use it as it is.
But.......
So its going to have to be RMA'd.

Luck........ :D
 

rogue_jedi

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Sep 6, 2002
Messages
4,821
tigerbiten: 2 questions: is the socket/mem layout of that board the same as the K8S? and would 2 zalman 7000alcu's fit on it if it is? (or do you know if two zalmans will fit the K8S if it's different)

my brother is looking at building a server with the K8S in the future and wants to use the 7000alcu coolers because it will be in a studio setting so quiet is better.

thanks.

oh - and that pic makes me (even more) jealous.
 

Tigerbiten

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - February 2007/January 2
Joined
Sep 24, 2002
Messages
5,028
Ok.
Running Memtest86 v3.1.
It use to take me around 2 hours to test my 2 Gigs ram on my Tyan K7X.
It will take me around 1:30 to test the ram in my new box.

Memory speeds.
L1 cache:- 19590 MB/s.
L2 cache:- 4867 MB/s
Main:- 1946 MB/s.

Luck.......... :D

Edit. Make that 1 hour a standard test run now I've uped the hypertransport bus speed.
 
Joined
Jun 11, 2000
Messages
693
Impressive!! :cool: And bl00dy expensive!!! :eek:

I'm particularly impressed that you use the Tagan TG480... I'm using 2 of them and one in my main rig. :D And seeing how much components in your rig, I'm confident it will do a good job keeping the rig humming and stable.
 
Top