HTC Thunderbolt

sethmo

2[H]4U
Joined
Nov 10, 2002
Messages
3,372
I'm going to try rooting mine with a Mac. I've read through the instructions and don't see any reason it shouldn't work.

BTW, running unsigned software on my phone feels like unprotected sex with a new partner. Why would anyone want to run an unsigned ROM with 'virus' in the name?
It's just a name lol.

Link to Virusrom dev thread:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1003891

My favorite is currently this one: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1007394

I find it to be more stable and has more HTC crap removed and AOSP based stuff put in it's place.
Thanks, I will try this one out today.
 

Vermillion

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Apr 5, 2007
Messages
4,333

sethmo

2[H]4U
Joined
Nov 10, 2002
Messages
3,372
Drod kernel @ 1.5ghz :)
snap20110330_095258.png
 

Vermillion

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Apr 5, 2007
Messages
4,333
Overclocking yay.

Yeah. TBolt has already been pushed to 1.8GHz. Quadrant score of 3047.

Doubt I will ever bother overclocking my TBolt though. No real reason too, unlike the original Droid. ;)

By default I'm already breaking 2000 in Quadrant and the phone is plenty fast enough. I just wanted the low voltage and scaling options. :)
 

sethmo

2[H]4U
Joined
Nov 10, 2002
Messages
3,372
Not sure how you got over 2000 on a stock clocked kernel. What rom/kernel are you using? I can't get past the low 1800s with stock clock.
 

Vermillion

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Apr 5, 2007
Messages
4,333
Not sure how you got over 2000 on a stock clocked kernel. What rom/kernel are you using? I can't get past the low 1800s with stock clock.

Nonsense ROM v2 with adrynalyne's Version 1.6 kernel. Nonsense is on XDA as is adrynalyne's kernels. Although you can also find the kernels in ROM manager.
 

sethmo

2[H]4U
Joined
Nov 10, 2002
Messages
3,372
Hmm, I have Nonsense v2 right now and Adrynalynes 1.8 kernerl earlier got me 1813. Only ran Quadrant once though.

Doesn't really matter, wouldn't be any real world differences between 1800 and 2000. Probably not even any noticeable differences between 1800 and 2400.

Running the 1.6GHz kernel in the XDA Tbolt Kernel thread gave me 2612 Quadrant and 1750 Smartbench 2k11 scores.
 

Puterguru

2[H]4U
Joined
May 21, 2001
Messages
3,455
You guys are definitely [H]ard in this thread. I'm too scared to root and overclock my brand new shiny TBolt. Not sure if I really have a need to anyways. :)
 

Ashton

2[H]4U
Joined
Nov 13, 2004
Messages
2,511
You guys are definitely [H]ard in this thread. I'm too scared to root and overclock my brand new shiny TBolt. Not sure if I really have a need to anyways. :)

The only reason for the average user to Root is to use WiFi Tether or to remove carrier-installed bloatware. Very few other programs the average user would want require root.
 

coder_t2

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Dec 31, 2005
Messages
1,166
The only reason for the average user to Root is to use WiFi Tether or to remove carrier-installed bloatware. Very few other programs the average user would want require root.

Yea I just rooted. How the heck do I remove the bloatware? Do I have to go in and manually delete the apk? Or is there another way? Thanks.
 

Vermillion

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Apr 5, 2007
Messages
4,333
Yea I just rooted. How the heck do I remove the bloatware? Do I have to go in and manually delete the apk? Or is there another way? Thanks.

Root explorer to delete the APK or use Titanium Backup to uninstall.
 

sethmo

2[H]4U
Joined
Nov 10, 2002
Messages
3,372
You guys are definitely [H]ard in this thread. I'm too scared to root and overclock my brand new shiny TBolt. Not sure if I really have a need to anyways. :)

I came from having a rooted and overclocked Droid 1. It was rooted and overclocked(from 600mhz to 1200mhz) for about a year and 3 months and had zero problems with it. Makes me a little more comfortable doing the same thing to the Tbolt :)
 

Vermillion

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Apr 5, 2007
Messages
4,333
Does Astro not work for this?

Last time I used Astro (been well over a year) it did have the ability to mount the file system so that you could delete files from /system/app.

Personally I just uninstall the crap using Titanium Backup because I know I'll be moving to a clean AOSP ROM at some point in the future. You can also remove the APK's via ADB commands or Terminal Emulator.
 

coder_t2

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Dec 31, 2005
Messages
1,166
Last time I used Astro (been well over a year) it did have the ability to mount the file system so that you could delete files from /system/app.

Personally I just uninstall the crap using Titanium Backup because I know I'll be moving to a clean AOSP ROM at some point in the future. You can also remove the APK's via ADB commands or Terminal Emulator.

Cool thanks Vermillion. That should work. I didn't want to pay $4 for a program to remove bloatware.

Edit: Running into an issue with Titanium Backup. After I restart to remove bloatware, it gives me a little Android with an Exclamation point and says it couldn't mount the apk. Did I do something wrong?

Now that I am rooted, what else can I do to improve battery life other than SetCPU?
 
Last edited:

Vermillion

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Apr 5, 2007
Messages
4,333
Cool thanks Vermillion. That should work. I didn't want to pay $4 for a program to remove bloatware.

Edit: Running into an issue with Titanium Backup. After I restart to remove bloatware, it gives me a little Android with an Exclamation point and says it couldn't mount the apk. Did I do something wrong?

Now that I am rooted, what else can I do to improve battery life other than SetCPU?

Titanium has a free version as well. I have no idea what the Exclamation point is about unless a program has a dependency on whatever you just killed.

New low voltage kernels and profiles is about all you can do IMO at least.
 

sethmo

2[H]4U
Joined
Nov 10, 2002
Messages
3,372
So since I have installed the 1.6GHz low voltage kernal(1612Mhz/230Mhz ondemand, 614Mhz/230Mhz screen off), my battery has not moved in 4hr 19min(stuck at 30%). I havent used the phone for much, but seems pretty excellent to me :D
 

Vermillion

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Apr 5, 2007
Messages
4,333
So since I have installed the 1.6GHz low voltage kernal(1612Mhz/230Mhz ondemand, 614Mhz/230Mhz screen off), my battery has not moved in 4hr 19min(stuck at 30%). I havent used the phone for much, but seems pretty excellent to me :D

Very nice. Sounds a lot like my old Droid and how long it's battery lasted. While I'm not OCing my TBolt my battery life is far improved since moving to the new LV kernels.

Are kernels different from ROMS?

Yes, the kernel is a separate entity from the ROM itself. Not all kernels are compatible with all ROM's though. For instance you would want to use a kernel for a Sense ROM on an AOSP built ROM. ;)
 

sethmo

2[H]4U
Joined
Nov 10, 2002
Messages
3,372
Basically a rom is a collections of services/apps, basically the GUI and what you interact with. A kernal interfaces between the gui(you) and the hardware. Roms offer speed increases from removed bloatware, gui/os enhancements. Kernels offer better battery life and performance from lower voltages, overclocking, and other tweaking.

Good explanation:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/wiki/index.php?title=ROM-VS-Kernel
 

coder_t2

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Dec 31, 2005
Messages
1,166
Gotcha, thanks guys. Going with removing bloatware and setCPU first and seeing how that fares, then I will switch to a LV kernel and a new ROM.

I heard that download battery indicator widgets from the Market can actually hurt your battery life because they are constantly pegging the phone for stats. Is this true?
 

Vermillion

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Apr 5, 2007
Messages
4,333
Gotcha, thanks guys. Going with removing bloatware and setCPU first and seeing how that fares, then I will switch to a LV kernel and a new ROM.

I heard that download battery indicator widgets from the Market can actually hurt your battery life because they are constantly pegging the phone for stats. Is this true?

To a degree yes. However, if you pick the right ones they only poll so often. I use one called BatteryLife and it certainly doesn't destroy my battery life as I've been using it since I first got my original Droid.
 

Ashton

2[H]4U
Joined
Nov 13, 2004
Messages
2,511
To a degree yes. However, if you pick the right ones they only poll so often. I use one called BatteryLife and it certainly doesn't destroy my battery life as I've been using it since I first got my original Droid.

You can also take an active approach and only use one that checks when you tell it to (meaning if you check it @ 7:00 when you unplug it, and again at 12:00, it will say the same thing unless you specifically say "check power" (or launch/close the app)
 

mryerse

2[H]4U
Joined
Jan 29, 2005
Messages
2,110
Why would anyone want a battery widget when the very top menu bar has a battery status indicator? Is that not enough? And if you need more, menu-->settings-->aboutPhone-->battery... I don't get it.

Maybe just me... but I don't really see much point in widgets at all. Sure on a home desktop where you've got tons of real estate to work with, but on a phone I want as much as possible on the main screen and if it can't fit there then why duplicate screens? Put in folders/menus... just me I guess.
 

Ashton

2[H]4U
Joined
Nov 13, 2004
Messages
2,511
Why would anyone want a battery widget when the very top menu bar has a battery status indicator? Is that not enough? And if you need more, menu-->settings-->aboutPhone-->battery... I don't get it.

Maybe just me... but I don't really see much point in widgets at all. Sure on a home desktop where you've got tons of real estate to work with, but on a phone I want as much as possible on the main screen and if it can't fit there then why duplicate screens? Put in folders/menus... just me I guess.

My guess is the battery widget also says "X hours left" otherwise... *shrug*

I agree, the only widget I used was the quick-access radio on/off (WiFi/BT/GPS/4G) so I didn't have to spend 5 min hunting through settings. Now in CM7 it's in the status pane so I don't even use that anymore. Thrills me that I can now have "folders" on the screen instead of 5 pages of apps, most of which I only use on occasion!
 

Vermillion

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Apr 5, 2007
Messages
4,333
Why would anyone want a battery widget when the very top menu bar has a battery status indicator? Is that not enough? And if you need more, menu-->settings-->aboutPhone-->battery... I don't get it.

Maybe just me... but I don't really see much point in widgets at all. Sure on a home desktop where you've got tons of real estate to work with, but on a phone I want as much as possible on the main screen and if it can't fit there then why duplicate screens? Put in folders/menus... just me I guess.

With ROM's like CyanogenMod 6.1.2 you get a percentage in the battery icon. However, with stock ROM's you don't. I like knowing exactly how much battery life is left versus having to guesstimate. Hell it annoys me even now that all current TBolt ROM's don't display the percentage of battery life left on the lock screen. Just one more reason I can't wait for CM7.
 
Last edited:

mryerse

2[H]4U
Joined
Jan 29, 2005
Messages
2,110
I do like the power controls widgets to turn on/off wifi/bluetooth/gps/airplaneMode/etc.

One thing I miss from Stock Froyo is the link to the browser on the bottom menu bar saving you one icon space on your main screen. I use the browser much more often than I personalize my device.

One complaint about folders is that when I open one and launch an app, then back out of the app to go home, the folder is still open. Wish it would close when an app from the folder was selected.

Never tried CM and am anxiously waiting for it to show up for Tbolt. Wish I had some free time to help out the devs.

Also I cannot stand the HTC calendar app... creating an event doesn't let you choose what calendar to put it on if you have multiple gmail accounts. At some point I'll be looking for the stock calendar APK and will remove the HTC one. Although their calendar widget is cool I guess.
 

Vermillion

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Apr 5, 2007
Messages
4,333
I do like the power controls widgets to turn on/off wifi/bluetooth/gps/airplaneMode/etc.

One thing I miss from Stock Froyo is the link to the browser on the bottom menu bar saving you one icon space on your main screen. I use the browser much more often than I personalize my device.

One complaint about folders is that when I open one and launch an app, then back out of the app to go home, the folder is still open. Wish it would close when an app from the folder was selected.

Never tried CM and am anxiously waiting for it to show up for Tbolt. Wish I had some free time to help out the devs.

Also I cannot stand the HTC calendar app... creating an event doesn't let you choose what calendar to put it on if you have multiple gmail accounts. At some point I'll be looking for the stock calendar APK and will remove the HTC one. Although their calendar widget is cool I guess.

Why not just load up a different launcher like ADW or Launcher Pro? Then you can customize the bottom menu with whatever shortcut's you want.

CyanogenMod is the ROM all other AOSP ROM's want to be in my opinion. Team Douche is just unmatched in their support and ROM speed and stability. Lots of other AOSP ROM's are built from CM source code at times. I used ChevyNo1's Simply Stunning for a long time too and with 2.3.3 he moved to CM7 source because CM is just that damn good.

When it comes to calendar's you may want to look into Pure Calendar. While it isn't free it is probably the most versatile calendar app on the market.
 

coder_t2

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Dec 31, 2005
Messages
1,166
With ROM's like CyanogenMod 6.1.2 you get a percentage in the battery icon. However, with stock ROM's you don't. I like knowing exactly how much battery life is left versus having to guesstimate. Hell it annoys me even now that all current TBolt ROM's don't display the percentage of battery life left on the lock screen. Just one more reason I can't wait for CM7.

This is the only reason I want a battery widget. I am on the stock ROM and basically my battery is between 90% and 60% or 60% and 30%, etc. Not very accurate. Having a little widget tell me the actual percentage is a lot nicer. And I am still monitoring my battery a lot currently, trying to figure out what tweaks will give me the most battery life. I don't plan on putting a new ROM for a little while.
 

Vermillion

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Apr 5, 2007
Messages
4,333
I don't plan on putting a new ROM for a little while.

LMAO You say that now. Just wait until the AOSP ROM's hit and you have 3 or 4 updates every other day or the nightly builds of CyanogenMod. I used to think like you. Then I realized how quickly things change. So I said "fuck it"! When CM7 hit I was loading a new ROM ever day. No wipe of course since it was an upgrade up still. That's half the fun. Watching the ROM grow into something stable, fast, and amazingly badass.
 

coder_t2

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Dec 31, 2005
Messages
1,166
LMAO You say that now. Just wait until the AOSP ROM's hit and you have 3 or 4 updates every other day or the nightly builds of CyanogenMod. I used to think like you. Then I realized how quickly things change. So I said "fuck it"! When CM7 hit I was loading a new ROM ever day. No wipe of course since it was an upgrade up still. That's half the fun. Watching the ROM grow into something stable, fast, and amazingly badass.

Haha. Your probably right. What do you use to get your phone back up to speed after wiping? I was thinking using Titanium Backup to backup my apps, syncing takes care of my contacts (except pics) and calendar. Where does setCPU save it's profiles? Do I need to back those up?
 

Ashton

2[H]4U
Joined
Nov 13, 2004
Messages
2,511
LMAO You say that now. Just wait until the AOSP ROM's hit and you have 3 or 4 updates every other day or the nightly builds of CyanogenMod. I used to think like you. Then I realized how quickly things change. So I said "fuck it"! When CM7 hit I was loading a new ROM ever day. No wipe of course since it was an upgrade up still. That's half the fun. Watching the ROM grow into something stable, fast, and amazingly badass.

I stuck with CM 6.0 for ages and finally broke down and started on nightlies of CM7 :eek: What a difference it made... and keep in mind "nightlies" does not mean "crashes every 30 seconds" in fact I dont think I've had a crash yet from a nightly...

I kept stock ROM for... maybe a week... lol
 

Vermillion

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Apr 5, 2007
Messages
4,333
Haha. Your probably right. What do you use to get your phone back up to speed after wiping? I was thinking using Titanium Backup to backup my apps, syncing takes care of my contacts (except pics) and calendar. Where does setCPU save it's profiles? Do I need to back those up?

Before I flash a totally new ROM (CM6 to CM7 for example) I always run Titanium to backup my apps. Then I backup the current ROM, then wipe three times and flash the new ROM. CM7 nightly builds didn't need a full wipe because overall it is nothing but an upgrade. I will always back up the current ROM though before flashing anything.

I let the market handle the installations and use TB to restore data for SetCPU and any games I have put time into like Angry Birds.
 

Ashton

2[H]4U
Joined
Nov 13, 2004
Messages
2,511
Before I flash a totally new ROM (CM6 to CM7 for example) I always run Titanium to backup my apps. Then I backup the current ROM, then wipe three times and flash the new ROM. CM7 nightly builds didn't need a full wipe because overall it is nothing but an upgrade. I will always back up the current ROM though before flashing anything.

I let the market handle the installations and use TB to restore data for SetCPU and any games I have put time into like Angry Birds.


I'd like to add to backup your TB data on your PC because (atleast with CM) you may end up with a Corrupt SD card from the upgrade (yes it sounds crazy but if you check the CM forums it's happening randomly to ppl...I was one of them...)
 

coder_t2

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Dec 31, 2005
Messages
1,166
Noted. Thanks guys. Yea I was a dummy and forgot to backup some stuff when I rooted. The only thing I really lost was my angry birds progress.
 

sethmo

2[H]4U
Joined
Nov 10, 2002
Messages
3,372
Battery life so far with this new kernel is excellent!

I am at 94% and 3hr49min since charge. I would normally be a solid 10-20% down by now, some days 30% :D
 

Ocellaris

Fully [H]
Joined
Jan 1, 2008
Messages
19,072
Are you guys and girls resetting your battery information when you swap kernels?
 

soulesschild

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Feb 18, 2007
Messages
6,176
When I do rom upgrades that require a full wipe, this is what I do.

Boot into CWR
Wipe Cache
Wipe Data/Cache
Wipe Dalvik
Wipe Battery Stats
Install new Rom
Load up apps through market
Restore data through Titanium (it's well worth the 4-5 dollars I can tell you this much, it also can sync to your Dropbox!)
Use Rom Manager to Fix permissions


If it's just an upgrade of the current ROM I'm using, I usually just skip the wipe data part.
 
Top