HP RGS + VMWare vGPU add a second monitor "head"

Discussion in 'Virtualized Computing' started by Easius, Mar 24, 2019.

  1. Easius

    Easius Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    345
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Hello -

    Wondering if anyone has any insight or ideas here... essentially we want to use HP Remote Graphics Software to connect to virtual desktops running on ESXi with a shared virtual GPU being passed through to the guests for AutoCAD. Overall this works - however when we set the VDI resolution to say 4k - and then connect the client PCs - it will scale across the 2 monitors and lose resolution. What I have read is if we can connect a second "monitor"/display head to the virtual desktop - we might be able to get around the resolution issue. The vGPU can handle 2 "display heads" according to nVidia documentation - but I can not for the life of me figure out how to add one. Apparently HP had a special tool called "force edids" but I can not find anything out about it.

    Host
    ESXi Enterprise Plus 6.7.0 (Build 9484548)
    vCenter Standard 6.7 (Build 8170087)
    nVidia Tesla P40 GPU (Shared - profile

    Guests
    Windows 10 1809 (Build 17763.348)
    vGPU Profile: P40-1Q
    nVidia Driver: 412.16

    Client PCs

    2x 1440p Monitors (2560x1440)

    Any help or ideas would be appreciated! We also are still on a trial license for HP RGS - so if you have any other softwares to check out would love to hear.

    Thanks
     
  2. dbwillis

    dbwillis [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,600
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2002
    Can you load an EDID in the nvidia panel? (seeing you have nvidia drivers)
    We do that at work on Windows 10 for our service machines....VNC (which is how we access them to manage them) shows black screens if it doesnt detect a monitor, so we load the EDID and then it just works.
     
  3. ND40oz

    ND40oz [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,444
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    I haven't used HP RGS but in Horizon you can configure the number of monitors and supported resolutions per desktop pool. Do you need to allow multimonitor support on the sender somewhere?
     
  4. Easius

    Easius Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    345
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    So the issue here is that the GRID vGPU control panel is limited - it doesn't have the same options to load an EDID. upload_2019-4-8_10-7-45.png
     
  5. Easius

    Easius Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    345
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Unfortunately no Horizons on this server.