HP Omen 32" QHD Monitor - 2560x1440, 5ms, 75Hz freesync, VA panel

deeselcyde

n00b
Joined
Aug 4, 2016
Messages
10
I haven't p[layed much battlefield one, but I've got about 300 hours on mine or so and the only game I've noticed it on occasionally is witcher 3. I think twice in about 4 hours of playtime...almost like a slightly different color gradient briefly. It goes away and is atypical. Is that what you are talking about? Since I've used the monitor for like 5 months at this point and thats the only game that does it - I chalked it up to flukey wierd something or other.

I'm not sure I know what you're talking about in regards to the different color gradient. When it's happening it was when I was looking up and down vertically and it would ripple/tear briefly in the middle of the screen. I don't know if it's my video card which I would highly doubt because newer ones would be running the same (up-to-date) software suite. I am planning on going Vega when it comes out so that will be something to look for. I'll also try other games and report back.
 

Archaea

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Oct 19, 2004
Messages
11,691
I'm not sure I know what you're talking about in regards to the different color gradient. When it's happening it was when I was looking up and down vertically and it would ripple/tear briefly in the middle of the screen. I don't know if it's my video card which I would highly doubt because newer ones would be running the same (up-to-date) software suite. I am planning on going Vega when it comes out so that will be something to look for. I'll also try other games and report back.


If your frame rate goes below 48 you'll get ripping.
If your frame rate goes above 75 you'll get ripping. (if you don't have vsync on)

Set your frame rate target control to 72 or 73 instead of 75. The FRTC setting is not perfect and has a couple frame variance --- so you need to set it below the max if you aren't using vsync.

That should remedy your problem. See post 321 above.
 

deeselcyde

n00b
Joined
Aug 4, 2016
Messages
10
If your frame rate goes below 48 you'll get ripping.
If your frame rate goes above 75 you'll get ripping. (if you don't have vsync on)

Set your frame rate target control to 72 or 73 instead of 75. The FRTC setting is not perfect and has a couple frame variance --- so you need to set it below the max if you aren't using vsync.

That should remedy your problem. See post 321 above.

Awesome, thanks for the advice. It's funny, I played for about an hour last night with TSAA on as opposed to FXAA and I barely noticed it. I'll definitely try setting the FRTC to 73-74 and see how that works out.
 

roaf85

2[H]4U
Joined
Jan 8, 2005
Messages
2,766
Awesome, thanks for the advice. It's funny, I played for about an hour last night with TSAA on as opposed to FXAA and I barely noticed it. I'll definitely try setting the FRTC to 73-74 and see how that works out.

So there appears to be confusion, but this monitor is listed as LFC. So if it is LFC why would we ever set the FRTC at 45 FPS? Can't it go down to the 20s?
 

roaf85

2[H]4U
Joined
Jan 8, 2005
Messages
2,766
Freesync doesn't limit the upper FPS. Only vsync does that.

Screen tearing can occur if your framerate (FPS) goes above the max refresh rate in this case greater than 75hz or 75 FPS. But screen tearing can also occur if you go below the freesync range. In this case 48hz.

You can use freesync and vsync together in the simplest effective setup and just try to ensure you don't dip below 48fps as a minimum with your detail setting selection. And let vsync take care of the too fast FPS issue.

Or you can use freesync and target frame control under the global settings of the catalyst driver and limit the FPS to something like 73 FPS . (This alternate goal is to avoid using vsync because of a very slight amount of lag it adds (imperceivable to me, but supposedly there) and yet you can keep your framerate in the freesync range of 48hz to 75hz. (48fps to 75fps). Frame rate target control isn't exactly one perfect set so you use a couple less hz than max hz as the target FPS. This avoids screen tearing that would otherwise occur if you exceeded the 75hz freesync max (since you aren't using vsync. You still have to manually manage detail settings to keep the low FPS above 48fps to avoid tearing.

Is this still true? The last game I played was COD IW with FPS counter on and I really never noticed it go to 76 FPS when the monitor was running at 75hz and my Frame Rate control was 75 FPS. I am on a driver package that is one before the Relive set.
 

Chewysc

n00b
Joined
Dec 3, 2016
Messages
11
So there appears to be confusion, but this monitor is listed as LFC. So if it is LFC why would we ever set the FRTC at 45 FPS? Can't it go down to the 20s?

As per MTRougeau post #309 on page 8...

I wanted to report in real quick to say I did some tinkering with the FreeSync range to see if I could extend it, since 48-75 is a pretty limited range. I heard issues about going above 75hz, so I instead opted to lower the bottom range using Custom Resolution Utility. I went as low as 30, but ran into brightness/flickering issues. I ran with a lower range of 40 for a while, which eliminated the flickering issues. I finally settled on 37-75 for one big reason: AMD's low framerate compensation (LFC). Although the recommended FreeSync range for LFC is atleast 2.5x the minimum value, only 2x is required for LFC to kick in, so 37-75 is enough to make it work. I can confirm that LFC kicks in when lowering the range from 48 to 37, and works as intended with frames being doubled when they drop below the minimum FreeSync value. I haven't noticed any issues with flickering with the minimum value set to 37, and everything appears to be working great. Having LFC working adds a huge extra feature to this monitor that I was missing from other high end FreeSync displays, and is very useful is some particularly graphic intensive games where dipping below 48 frames per second is common. I'm very happy with the results.
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2017
Messages
2
I don't want to post a link because I don't have enough posts yet (I got previously banned sharing the link) but @HPsupport on Twitter told me that the monitor has LFC (despite the requirements) and the range is 30-75Hz.
 

Istario

n00b
Joined
Sep 9, 2005
Messages
41
I don't want to post a link because I don't have enough posts yet (I got previously banned sharing the link) but @HPsupport on Twitter told me that the monitor has LFC (despite the requirements) and the range is 30-75Hz.

I run mine with a 30-75Hz Freesync range with no problems. It can even go lower to around 25-75Hz before artifacting. I have no idea if LFC is running, but it never tears as long as I set the FRTC to 73-74.

I am also able to overclock the panel to 90Hz, but the firmware complains when it detects it (and the message never goes away). A few other people have mentioned this. If anybody has found a way around this, please post it.
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2017
Messages
2
I run mine with a 30-75Hz Freesync range with no problems. It can even go lower to around 25-75Hz before artifacting. I have no idea if LFC is running, but it never tears as long as I set the FRTC to 73-74.

I am also able to overclock the panel to 90Hz, but the firmware complains when it detects it (and the message never goes away). A few other people have mentioned this. If anybody has found a way around this, please post it.
Did you change any settings with CRU? If so, would you mind showing me with some photos of your settings? I've never OC'd a monitor before and I'm a little nervous.
 

Istario

n00b
Joined
Sep 9, 2005
Messages
41
Did you change any settings with CRU? If so, would you mind showing me with some photos of your settings? I've never OC'd a monitor before and I'm a little nervous.

For OCing I did a couple things in CRU.

1) Edit the extension block and add a custom resolution with the desired refresh rate.
2) Increase the Freesync range and H rate in the main display properties (based off what you put in 1)

I don't really know the correct parameters to put in 1. I've tried the built-in choices and the values from the 75Hz resolution. Most of these work and I can play around with the higher refresh rate in games, but eventually the firmware will detect it and complain. The easiest way to trigger this is to open/close the OSD or turn off/on the monitor.

I did some more testing today and still couldn't resolve it. I did find that I lose color depth at 90Hz. 85Hz works though.
 

Archaea

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Oct 19, 2004
Messages
11,691
nice monitor but 75hz? gaming monitor? lol dont rly understand why its not 144hz
Because, my hunch is, most people can't tell the difference. I can't during gaming. I had a 144hz freesync 35" va panel and now this 75hz freesync va panel and I couldn't tell a difference in gaming. Probably not if my life depended on it. I can tell a difference between 60hz and 75hz. Remember 60hz was established as the standard in part because most people couldn't see or notice much beyond 60hz. Anything over that is gravy.

It's sort of like audio. Most every thing is specced from 20hz to 20,000hz because that's considered the average of what people hear. They don't bother with specification above or below because most people can't hear above or below. Some people can. They are the monitority. I have a pretty serious hobby home theater. I can hear down to about 14 or 16hz with test tones but only up to about 16,000hz.
 
Last edited:

Fritzz

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Feb 11, 2008
Messages
1,058
nice monitor but 75hz? gaming monitor? lol dont rly understand why its not 144hz

Also there is the factor of price. Not every person is a full on enthusiast and have $700+ to spend on a gaming monitor. I understand there are TN panels and that can drive the price point down, but for those of us who want the benefits of IPS and VA over the TN.

As for the unable to tell the difference argument. I think you are right, everyone is different. My take is that you cannot tell the difference in number of frames when nothing is moving on the screen, but when it comes to moving around or panning the added frames help with motion clarity. Same reason LED/LCD TVs need to have their refresh rate kicked up to prevent tearing in fast motion. You may not be able to "tell" the difference, but it definitely "feels" different.

I think with the right setup that eliminates tearing issues(freesync, gsync, having FPS higher than your refresh rate), it would be hard to tell the difference between 75Hz and 144Hz. I have kept myself away from the 144Hz panels cuz I don't want to fall in love with them and feel like I "need" it. Plus the size of the 30"/32" would be hard to give up and got down to a 27".

I enjoyed gaming on my HP ZR30W and I enjoy it on my HP Omen. I went with the Omen because of the better whites and brighter colors. I have a bit more input lag, but nothing I can actual feel over my ZR30W.

Anyways my 2 cents on the whole thing.
 

majkom

n00b
Joined
Jan 15, 2017
Messages
4
People, I am lcd noob, so please if any one can answer my question. I really like hp omen 32, I would like to buy it and connect my Mac mini, ps4 and xbox 360... my question is, will omen work with those consoles? Is this working scenario? Or is omens resolution (2560x1440) and omens 1080p/720p input handling no go for me? Thx for any advice...
 

Archaea

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Oct 19, 2004
Messages
11,691
no
don't put a 1440p screen on a 1080p or 720p input.

Get a 1080p 32" for xbox 360 or ps4 use.

non native resolution on any LCD doesn't look very clear IMO.
 

majkom

n00b
Joined
Jan 15, 2017
Messages
4
no
don't put a 1440p screen on a 1080p or 720p input.

Get a 1080p 32" for xbox 360 or ps4 use.

non native resolution on any LCD doesn't look very clear IMO.
Not exactly the answer i hoped for... isnt it dependant on the given monitors ability to upscale and other ticks?
 

Archaea

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Oct 19, 2004
Messages
11,691
Not exactly the answer i hoped for... isnt it dependant on the given monitors ability to upscale and other ticks?


Generally speaking it's simply not a good idea. You are scaling from 720p or 900p that the console can put out to 1080p and then scaling again to 1440p. It'll work. But just like every single LCD ever sold they look best at native resolution. Any scaling is detrimental to the image. This isn't a new concept. If you are unfamiliar with this concept take your current LCD and change the display resolution to something other than native. If it's a 1080P display run it at 1280x720 and see the slight blur that occurs. That's just how it is.
 

majkom

n00b
Joined
Jan 15, 2017
Messages
4
Ok, tahnk you for answers, unfortunately omen is not the right solutuon for me, pitty...
 

VTC23

n00b
Joined
Dec 5, 2016
Messages
3
Anyone have any thoughts on this panel vs the BenQ BL3200PT?

I own both, benq is more versatile, can be overclocked to the same 75Hz, benq doesn't have and won't be getting freesync tho, I use the benq in the center for work and the omen on the side of it, mainly for personal use. Benq has more inputs (dvi and vga in addition to dp, but only one hdmi) and a usb 3.0 hub (2x3.0 and 2x2.0) while omen is 2x2.0 hub. I don't game much so I cannot speak very well to performance comparison there other than fifa 12 works great on both using highest settings and a single gtx 670 sc 4gb. Stand on the benq way better if you need to move up and down or pivot, but omen is much lighter if you're going to mount it. I really like them both, but if I could only keep one - for work it'd be the benq, for play it'd be the omen, for balanced use probably the benq.
 

der_spook

n00b
Joined
Dec 1, 2016
Messages
17
Does anyone have calibration settings for this monitor yet? I finally got one without terrible backlight bleed after a few exchanges. Looking to tighten up the calibration though.
 

Istario

n00b
Joined
Sep 9, 2005
Messages
41
Why not set the FreeSync range to 30 - 80hz, so that settings FRTC to 75hz won't cause the monitor to exceed its FS range, and produce screen-tearing?

Freesync does not work above the refresh rate of the monitor. The only way to prevent tearing is to not go above the refresh rate by either using vsync or something like FRTC. FRTC isn't a perfect hard cap and the framerate can still peak over the target number sometimes. So to prevent tearing, you need to set it a little lower than your refresh rate.

I'm also looking for a way to overclock this monitor. Could the details this FreeSync-range modification guide also be used to expand the monitor's operational Hz range? Or, could the firmware itself be modified, somehow, to increase its operational Hz range?

BTW, I haven't use that FS modification guide yet. Is it all exactly as is described there for all FS monitors - including the Then EDID modified values?

That is the old manual way of doing things. Use CRU instead. I was not successful at increasing the refresh rate of this monitor. While the display itself seems to handle it fine, the firmware cannot and will complain.
 
Joined
Sep 2, 2016
Messages
13
Just for reference. I purchased this monitor at the end of August last year. Which I think is when the Omen first released. My firmware version is AMM111.

I'm waiting until Vega to bother with the freesync hack and to see if I can overclock the monitor. Currently using an old nvidia gpu.
 

Koslov

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Aug 31, 2003
Messages
1,889
With my GTX 1070, I got severe frame-skipping at 75hz in DOOM. I'm running my Omen 32 at 60hz now, and will get an AMD card if Vega offers something more powerful than a 1070, at a decent price.

Cap your in-game FPS at 73Hz. If there isn't an option to limit your frames in DOOM, use RSST to cap your FPS. Make sure vsync is off. You won't have tearing.
 

epander

n00b
Joined
Jan 15, 2017
Messages
14
I thought the old generation 32" 1440p (benq 3200pt etc) had bad input lag and response times.

Thanks, I actually ended up going with the Asus PB328Q, it's been awesome so far. No issues with frameskipping at 75hz
 

epander

n00b
Joined
Jan 15, 2017
Messages
14
I own both, benq is more versatile, can be overclocked to the same 75Hz, benq doesn't have and won't be getting freesync tho, I use the benq in the center for work and the omen on the side of it, mainly for personal use. Benq has more inputs (dvi and vga in addition to dp, but only one hdmi) and a usb 3.0 hub (2x3.0 and 2x2.0) while omen is 2x2.0 hub. I don't game much so I cannot speak very well to performance comparison there other than fifa 12 works great on both using highest settings and a single gtx 670 sc 4gb. Stand on the benq way better if you need to move up and down or pivot, but omen is much lighter if you're going to mount it. I really like them both, but if I could only keep one - for work it'd be the benq, for play it'd be the omen, for balanced use probably the benq.

Awesome thanks, I actually ended up going with the asus PB328Q. I believe it has a newer panel than the benq but no freesync, I have an nvidia gpu anyway so that didn't matter. It doesn't have any frameskipping at 75hz which is what I was concerned with on the HP. So far I'm loving it, there's no detectible input lag for me and if there is ghosting I haven't noticed it so far
 
Joined
Jun 11, 2016
Messages
56
Will this monitor (or any of the HP 32 inch monitors) accept a 4k signal from the PS4 pro? I understand the display itself doesn't display in 4k, but I am wondering if it will downres the 4k input coming over the HDMI 2.0 input. 1080p from my OG PS4 is diplayed slightly blurry so I am looking for any improvement. Otherwise, this display is great for switching between console and PC gaming.
 

Archaea

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Oct 19, 2004
Messages
11,691
4K on a 2K display will be slightly blurry.
Just like 1080P on a 2K will be slightly blurry.

The pixel mapping can't be 1 to 1 or square easy to remap multiples.

--------------------

4K at 1080p works as does 1080p at 4K because they can do exactly four pixels in a square to remap and not really affect quality. This one red pixel becomes exactly four red pixels in the same position with 4k.

2K to 4K or 2K to 1080p is 1:2 remap -- which way do you remap, vertical/horizontally/diagonally?? no - none of that works precisiouly. So you get blur. Think about a Lite Bright to put pixel mapping into an easy to understand concept. :)

With exactly four times as many holes you could represent the below picture perfectly (just larger). With twice as many holes you could only approximate it. Thus blur.

lite-brite_crop380w.png
 

VTC23

n00b
Joined
Dec 5, 2016
Messages
3
Awesome thanks, I actually ended up going with the asus PB328Q. I believe it has a newer panel than the benq but no freesync, I have an nvidia gpu anyway so that didn't matter. It doesn't have any frameskipping at 75hz which is what I was concerned with on the HP. So far I'm loving it, there's no detectible input lag for me and if there is ghosting I haven't noticed it so far
Excellent choice, it does 75Hz without custom res like the benq needs. I had that one also for a few days, only issue was the bezel shape can only match another pb328q and the rear controls limit multiple monitors a bit in my situation. You should really enjoy the pip tho, especially if the pip window is 720p, perfect for inset console or secondary hd source.
 

Droetker

n00b
Joined
Jan 31, 2017
Messages
6
Hi guy's I got the Omen 32 inch for 2 days so i share you my first impression. Order from hp canada, perfect pixel version by chance, nothing to says about any problems i can see right now. (two days only)
I come from an IPS panel (Dell U2713HM) wich one was perfect for photo's).
On the HP I can notice the colors are not as loyality as my old Dell and it should be calibrate. Same things about angle vision, it's not as open as my IPS panel and on a 32 inch monitors you can easily notice it.
However the black are black and in spite of a little backlight bleed but it's nothing compare to my old panel.
I have an RX480 and freesync works like a charm at 75 hz mode. I didn't try again fast FPS but on witcher 3 it's very smooth. The pixel response time isn't super reactive like TN panel but for me it's sufficient. (I don't play a lot on fast FPS anyway)
Other things, for those who wonders, VESA mount it's 100 mm. I didn't find on the OSD where manage the color temperature, i think you can't so you do have manage it on the radeon software.
I'm waiting for an Xrite color munki display, once i'll calibrate my monitor i'll share you my settings.
In conclusion it's a great monitor for gaming or video but if you are designer or photograph don't buy it and for sure prefer an IPS panel.
Thanks for read me, i'm french speaker so excuse my english.
 

Archaea

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Oct 19, 2004
Messages
11,691
There are color adjustments in the menu structure. dig deeper. I can't remember how to get to them off the top of my head. There are also HP drivers for this monitor that come with the ability to manipulate the colors and gui.
 

Droetker

n00b
Joined
Jan 31, 2017
Messages
6
Thx for reply, Archaea, i never found where change color temperature in the menu OSD.
Delicieuxz, with the Response time in fastest i'm afraid you see appearing reverse ghosting.
I will try it tonight.
 

Droetker

n00b
Joined
Jan 31, 2017
Messages
6
I calibrate the monitor with the munki display.
Here the link where download the ICC profile for Freesync mode:
https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B61YDDifuWvUekZENHd4cnB2Qmc
Please note that the measurements has been made with 6500°K, 110Cd/m2 and gamma 2.2
With 110 Cd/m2 put your brightness to 24. (yes 24 i know it's pretty small)
For those who use their monitors with usine profile, maybe they will be surprised, but this is the way to use a calibrate monitor.

I can make a measurement to 120 or 140 Cd/m2 for those who want. (it's the maximum with the munki display)
 
Last edited:

Droetker

n00b
Joined
Jan 31, 2017
Messages
6
I think that I have a pretty good configuration for my Omen 32. There are the settings I'm using:

Brightness: 88
Contrast: 95
Colour Control: Neutral
Dynamic Control: Off
Response Time: Fastest

I also went through the Windows text colour calibration application, to adjust gamma.

This is why i was afraid, with the response time on fastest you have reverse ghosting. To the purpose of avoid that I recomment you default or fast, no more.
 

Nadrojcote

n00b
Joined
Feb 2, 2017
Messages
5
I think that an earlier Omen 32 firmware version doesn't have the overclock restriction, because BHazard said to me in a PM that they were able to OC up to under 90 hz before getting the out of range message. I know the firmware has changed at least twice over, since this monitor came out.

I've wondered whether the firmware from an early model can be extracted from one of them, and applied to a newer model.
I'm wondering the same thing. I've changed my freesync range to 30-75 and it helps with low fps. I tested with benchmarks and it makes a noticeable difference in smoothness of low fps. Ideally I would like to push the hz up a bit as some of the games I play are running around 100fps.
 

Nadrojcote

n00b
Joined
Feb 2, 2017
Messages
5
I haven't seen any ghosting with my setting, and when I compared the Fastest response-time setting to the slowest settings, Default, and Fast, I couldn't notice any difference in image rendering, while testing in fast dark to light colouring-shifting situations. To me, the only difference I could notice was response in reaction to my quick mouse movements, while the visual impression appeared to be the same, to me.

I'm typically very picky on any technical shortfall, so I think I should have noticed it if it was there, especially since I was looking for it. However, I allow that I just didn't have the right test environment, or didn't know what to precisely look for - but if I've been gaming on it for a month, and having found anything noticeable, then I think it's pretty solid.
Try the amd windmill test on full speed. Thats where I noticed a trail behind the windmill blades.
 

amenx

Limp Gawd
Joined
Dec 17, 2005
Messages
352
I calibrate the monitor with the munki display.
Here the link where download the ICC profile for Freesync mode:
https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B61YDDifuWvUekZENHd4cnB2Qmc
Please note that the measurements has been made with 6500°K, 110Cd/m2 and gamma 2.2
With 110 Cd/m2 put your brightness to 24. (yes 24 i know it's pretty small)
For those who use their monitors with usine profile, maybe they will be surprised, but this is the way to use a calibrate monitor.

I can make a measurement to 120 or 140 Cd/m2 for those who want. (it's the maximum with the munki display)
Suggestion. Try to calibrate it without profile. Use the Munki + HCFR for measuring results. It is far preferable to have a display calibrated from its own hardware settings than using calibration software to make profiles. Since profiles are not always respected by some full screen apps or games.
 
Top