Become a Patron!

HP Omen 32" QHD Monitor - 2560x1440, 5ms, 75Hz freesync, VA panel

Discussion in 'Displays' started by LTZ, Sep 3, 2016.

  1. SoupyFlow

    SoupyFlow [H]Lite

    Messages:
    81
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Awesome good to know! I have a Nvidia card but have really been wanting to check this monitor out. Input lag on it has been my biggest concern before ordering one. :)
     
    Delicieuxz likes this.
  2. Delicieuxz

    Delicieuxz [H]Lite

    Messages:
    109
    Joined:
    May 11, 2016
    I'm using my Omen 32 on the Gaming FS mode, with a GTX 1070.
     
    SoupyFlow likes this.
  3. sparks

    sparks 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,993
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2004
    had a buddy get one and he said he is having problems using his 480 card.
    It won't stay on 75 refresh in monitor settings has anyone else seen this?
    I thought maybe a 480 wasn't good enough to drive this monitor.

    ps just checked and he is using a dp cable.
    I told him to update to a new 580, I was sure that extra 1 fps would make a big difference or maybe an Nvidia 1060 he told me to go F#$$%^ myself...LOL
    amd people have no since of humor
     
    Last edited: Apr 21, 2017
  4. Archaea

    Archaea [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,024
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    It won't stay at 75hz under display adapter settings in windows?

    I've had mine occasionally drop back to 60hz default in windows as well. It hasn't done it in several weeks and I haven't figured out the stimulus yet. Be it windows update? Or catalyst driver update or what.

    HP has an official driver for the Omen 32. He could try that.

    https://support.hp.com/us-en/product/omen-by-hp-32-inch-displays/11528087/drivers
     
  5. SoupyFlow

    SoupyFlow [H]Lite

    Messages:
    81
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    I know with Nvidia cards, if you have a custom resolution setup for say 75Hz or whatever, after doing a driver update a lot of times that gets wiped out. You then just have to simply recreate the custom resolution.
     
  6. Delicieuxz

    Delicieuxz [H]Lite

    Messages:
    109
    Joined:
    May 11, 2016
    Is it possible to access and modify a monitor's firmware - thinking of the Omen 32 in particular, here.
     
  7. AjFreimuth

    AjFreimuth [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,106
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Anyone with this monitor or the Pavilion version that doesn't plan on using there VESA adapter please PM and let me know what you'd want for it.
     
  8. igluk

    igluk Gawd

    Messages:
    636
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2014
  9. Immolation1991

    Immolation1991 [H]Lite

    Messages:
    102
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2016
    wow now thats some input lag
     
  10. cageymaru

    cageymaru [H]ard|News Staff Member

    Messages:
    15,571
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    I keep getting sent back to the first page when I try to read through the review. What was the measured input lag on the monitor?
     
  11. Immolation1991

    Immolation1991 [H]Lite

    Messages:
    102
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2016
    49,6 ms
     
  12. Mayseffect

    Mayseffect n00bie

    Messages:
    30
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2017
    Do you want the part number so you can get it from HP directly?
     
  13. AjFreimuth

    AjFreimuth [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,106
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    I don't have it on me but someone posted pics of theres. I've searched high/low and HP seems to not offer it. There's also a few posts on HP's support forum asking for it. The HP Pavilion 32 also uses the same mount. I've looked at a bunch of sellers (Ebay and Direct websites) that sell Refurbs of both models and nobody includes the mount with refurbs for some reason. GladiatorJoe (a site/company that makes VESA Adapters) has responded to my email to them asking about it and they are "looking" into making one and will get back to me within a week.
     
  14. rgMekanic

    rgMekanic [H]ard|News Staff Member

    Messages:
    2,337
    Joined:
    May 13, 2013
    Ordered this monitor last week when they Ebay cupon was going on, been looking at it for a looong time, and finally pulled the trigger, arrived Weds.

    Monitor is so big haha, spent a few hours in a couple games on it last night, pixel density is near identical to the 23" 1080 I moved up from, so not too much to comment on there, but it does seem like the pixels/jaggies are a bit harder to spot on desktop applications.

    Colors are fantastic, the black levels are outstanding, no bleed what so ever...

    Freesync is incredible, fired up BF4 on the test range, set it to ultra which my lone Fury has a tough time driving at 1440, but it was buttery smooth even tho the framerate was dipping into the high 40's, but as Archaea said, as soon as it hit 44 FPS and went out of freesync range, instantly you could feel it, but at 45, just as smooth as 75, really amazing, I'm sold on Freesync for sure, won't own a monitor without adaptive refresh from now on.

    Really impressed so far.


    It's really big.

    IMG_20170426_191313.jpg
     
  15. Archaea

    Archaea [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,024
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    rgMekanic,
    is that monitor to the right the same physical size in portrait as the HP Omen 32 is in landscape? If so you could flank it on each side and do one of these:

    This is my previous setup
     
  16. rgMekanic

    rgMekanic [H]ard|News Staff Member

    Messages:
    2,337
    Joined:
    May 13, 2013
    It's pretty close, it's an old 20" Samsung 1600x1200 I had lying around that I used for monitoring everything when I used to livestream
     
  17. Mayseffect

    Mayseffect n00bie

    Messages:
    30
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2017
    Another small update. I bumped on the Kelvin level to 6800k and I'm a lot happier with the brightness and color over multiple mediums now. The warmer settings was a bit too harsh on the eyes.
     
  18. Delicieuxz

    Delicieuxz [H]Lite

    Messages:
    109
    Joined:
    May 11, 2016
    So, in Windows 10 Pro CU, with the latest Nvidia display driver, this monitor seems to have become a 75hz / 80hz monitor on my system with a GTX 1070. After I installed the newest Nvidia drivers, the only two hz options available by default in the Nvidia control panel are 75 hz and 80 hz, and choosing 80 hz for the monitor works, with no 'Out of range' message and countdown timer when I set the monitor to 80 hz. Also, I can load up games at this setting, and they'll play without triggering any 'Out of range' message. And there is a small amount of frame-skipping present, but not nearly as much as before, from what I can tell.

    Maybe people with Nvidia GPUs and an Omen 32 can check if their monitor now goes up to 80 hz in Windows 10 CU and with the latest Nvidia driver. And AMD people who have Windows 10 CU should check, as well, as maybe something changed in Windows 10 CU so that it no longer triggers the firmware detection when the monitor goes out of its standard limit of 75 hz. But that doesn't explain why my only two default hz options in NCP are 75 hz and 80 hz, with no mention of 60 hz anymore.

    Meanwhile, in my Windows 7 boot, with older Nvidia drivers, the default hz options are still 60 hz and 75 hz, with no option to select 80 hz.

    This video I made shows everything I said. In it, I show the NCP hz settings and that using 80 hz works perfectly. And I also load up and play DOOM to show the in-game FPS with v-sync enabled sitting at 79 / 80 hz, without the monitor's firmware popping up the 'Out of range' message. DOOM takes a while to load, since I don't have it on an SSD, and I didn't edit the video.





    Further discovery: Setting the monitor to 80 hz in my Windows 7 boot, with the older Nvidia drivers works, as well - with no 'Out of range' message! What's going on, and how does the monitor suddenly have an additional 5 hz range before triggering the 'Out of range' message?

    BTW, creating a custom resolution for the monitor at 85 hz still displays the 'Out of range' message.
     
    Last edited: May 2, 2017
  19. Archaea

    Archaea [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,024
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Perhaps a driver update to the monitor by HP that is now built into the Windows HCL driver list based on the big windows update that eeks out another 5hz.
    Can you verify for the NVidia users if 75hz has eliminated the frame skipping? You mention 80hz skips ---- but 75hz used to skip for Nvidia users. Hopefully they fixed that.
     
  20. Delicieuxz

    Delicieuxz [H]Lite

    Messages:
    109
    Joined:
    May 11, 2016
    I put the video in my previous post, now. The start of it is blurry, but I think it can still be made out. I use a custom resolution to set the monitor to 60 hz, and then set it to 80 hz from the default hz options. Then, I show that the GPU is listed as a GTX 1070 in Afterburner. Then, I load up DOOM, and the FPS counter shows that it's at 79 / 80 FPS while in the game. At 5:18 in the video, I alt+tab to the desktop, and show the settings again, and I refocus the camera, so they can be seen clearly, then.

    I think there is still some frame-skipping at 75 hz, though it's not much at all, and I had to really try to notice whether it was there or not.

    While playing some more with the hz setting in Windows 7, I found that I can put it up to 82 hz without the 'Out of range' message showing up. But after I tried a bunch of higher hz that caused the OOR message, I went back to 80 hz, and it caused the same message. Then I went back to 75 and 60 hz, and they were fine, and then I tried 80 hz again, and it caused the OOR message. Then I set the monitor to 62 hz, and left it there for a while, and then tried 80 hz again, and that time it worked, with no OOR message. Then I tried switching back and forth between 80 hz and various lower ranges, and each time after that, 80 hz worked without triggering the OOR message.

    I have the monitor in FreeSync Gaming Mode.

    Also, I notice some discolouration on the Hardforms when using 80 hz.
     
    Last edited: May 3, 2017
  21. Delicieuxz

    Delicieuxz [H]Lite

    Messages:
    109
    Joined:
    May 11, 2016
    The discolouration isn't there at 79 hz, though, which also works.
     
    TurboGLH likes this.
  22. errer

    errer Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    251
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Still 60/75 for me and still skipping frames at 75Hz with gtx 970 with Win 10 Pro CU and latest nvidia drivers :/
     
  23. Jaubi

    Jaubi n00bie

    Messages:
    1
    Joined:
    May 3, 2017
    Hey guys,

    Thank you so much for the calibration profile and all the information. This post is amazing.

    I have recently bought a HP omen 32 and I have few question for you :

    - I have took a picture of my screens and I would like to know if you think I have light bleeding on them. I am not an expert and I don't know if the pictures are good or not.

    Screen 1
    Screen 1.jpg

    Screen 2
    screen 2.jpg

    - When I use the USB port, only one seems to work (I have bought two screen and both have the issue). Is there a setting or something to do to activate the other one ?
    - Also, I would like to know if you can set the color temperature in the Nvidia control panel. I have seen the RGB settings but not the color temp.

    Otherwise my second scren seems to be good at 75hz with my 1070 Nvidia card. I had tearing on my first screen but do not see this issue on the second one.

    Thank you again for your help and all the information.
     
  24. Delicieuxz

    Delicieuxz [H]Lite

    Messages:
    109
    Joined:
    May 11, 2016
    If I do the online frame-skipping test, there's still some frame-skipping at 75 hz, but it's so little that I can barely or even not at all notice while gaming. That's in Windows 10. I have yet checked whether it's the same or different in Windows 7.

    Backlight bleed is only one issue to look for. I ordered 3 Omen 32 monitors, and 2 of them had a dead pixel, and the worse colour banding than the one I kept. The one I kept has a bit of backlight bleed, but is better than the other 2 were in regards to having no dead pixels, and the appearance of colour banding.
     
  25. Archaea

    Archaea [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,024
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Jaubi

    Pictures can make it look worse or better than it is.

    In person you should see no (very little if any) backlight bleed. That is supposed to be one of the benefits of a VA panel over IPS.
    You have to judge for yourself in person if you see backlight bleed.

    I have three omens -- all were perfect. I have no visible (in person) backlight bleed. Is it OLED black? Heck no. Is it black enough that it is uniform and I can't see backlight spotting yes. That's the best you can expect from a non OLED panel.

    There is a utility you can download to show you all the colors called dead pixel buddy. It has black, and all the major colors. This is my three omens with dead pixel buddy -- with the montiors all at default settings out of the box. Post 190
    https://hardforum.com/threads/hp-om...esync-va-panel.1909919/page-5#post-1042681881

    I lower my brightness way down and that helps general usability and makes the backlight bleed basically non existant.

    Here is an example of how it looks with the brightness turned down to a usable level. The blacks on a site like hardforum very nearly look the same as off. I have no naked eye visble backlight bleed. Post 202.
    https://hardforum.com/threads/hp-om...esync-va-panel.1909919/page-6#post-1042684640

    If you scroll through this thread you'll see various other pictures from different members showing their backlight bleed levels. Generally speaking this monitor is regarded as very good in that aspect. If you see bad backlight bleed send it back. If you only see it on a camera, or when the brightness settings are retina burning high - you're actually trying to find a problem that isn't really there.
     
    Last edited: May 3, 2017
  26. lovelyhead

    lovelyhead n00bie

    Messages:
    2
    Joined:
    May 6, 2017
    I just got a Omen 32 yesterday and I am very impressed with it. No backlight bleed whatsoever, no dead pixels and the colors are great. I couldn't believe my luck as I have had awful luck when it comes to issues with monitors I buy. I fired up the Division last night to see how that looked and almost straight away I noticed banding / DSE on the center right of the screen. It is just one band. Gutted.

    My question is, does anyone have an Omen 32 that is perfect? Does such a panel exist? Do they all exhibit banding? I would like to know before I play the panel lottery looking for such a mythical (or perhaps common!) beast.

    Thanks.
     
  27. Delicieuxz

    Delicieuxz [H]Lite

    Messages:
    109
    Joined:
    May 11, 2016
    I don't think there's a flawless Omen 32. Is your monitor's colour-banding visible on Hardforum? I see a bit of it here.
     
  28. lovelyhead

    lovelyhead n00bie

    Messages:
    2
    Joined:
    May 6, 2017
    Yes I can see it a bit on the forum but it is not really obvious. In games though with a panning grey color it is very noticeable.
     
  29. rgMekanic

    rgMekanic [H]ard|News Staff Member

    Messages:
    2,337
    Joined:
    May 13, 2013
    If mine has a flaw I can't see it
     
  30. LiquidX

    LiquidX 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,630
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2004
    Still going strong with my purchase. Best upgrade in years as I have had no bleed or pixel issues. My brother recently got the Acer Predator and man if I still don't prefer mine as I don't think I can go back to anything smaller than 32". I just hope the AMDs new VEGA is on par with or better than anything NVida has to offer so I can take advantage of the FreeSync which really impressed me when I tried it on this monitor.
     
  31. rgMekanic

    rgMekanic [H]ard|News Staff Member

    Messages:
    2,337
    Joined:
    May 13, 2013
    completely agree. I'm happy with my Fury, but I am hoping Vega at least matches 1080 performance... or games start using crossfire more again so I can get another Fury hehe
     
  32. Mayseffect

    Mayseffect n00bie

    Messages:
    30
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2017
    Isn't linked GPU's a feature controlled through Crimson now? I don't think the games have any control over this.
     
    Last edited: May 17, 2017
  33. Daffan

    Daffan n00bie

    Messages:
    17
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2016
    Hi

    You might have read my post on the last pages or the other Omen Thread on this forum.

    I have a gtx 980 ti and bought this monitor (now returned) The input lag was VERY High and the ghosting was a little (acceptable). Also, 75hz does not work properly on Nvidia

    Now. I did some analysis myself, but nothing too in detail

    60hz Nvidia = No frameskipping, very high input lag
    75hz Nvidia = Frameskipping, weirdness, medium input lag

    I tried Game mode on/off, but you CANT tell if anything is actually working because no AMD graphic card or driver.

    now for conclusion;

    With an AMD card you can run 75hz properly = less input lag and no image error
    With an AMD card and freesync game mode running properly = even less input lag? (speculation!!!)

    refer to http://www.prad.de/new/monitore/test/2017/test-hp-omen-32-teil7.html#Reaktionsverhalten review. They say input lag is 49ms and that there is bad response time (g2g and color)

    BUT!

    They use 60hz mode, not 75hz which could skew results. However the effect of 75hz + freesync enable is not confirmed anywhere, other then I can say that input lag is a little better at 75hz (but no freesync enable)
     
    Last edited: May 15, 2017
  34. scgt1

    scgt1 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,821
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Anyone have one that isn't using their vesa adapter who would be willing to part with it? Shoot me a pm please. I have 20" between my desk and the Ikea cabinets above. The .6" kills this monitor for me. LOL
     
  35. AjFreimuth

    AjFreimuth [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,106
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    For those with refurbs from eBay etc without a vesa mount. I just got some good news. Been emailing back and forth with Gladiator Joe's site.



    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: May 17, 2017
  36. scgt1

    scgt1 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,821
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Yea I got the same email. Then I was told $20.99 and $9-$12 for shipping which makes this not even worth it when new Omen's have sold for $300-$325. :-(

    Also got this email from HumanCentric which actually list the adapter on their page with a May 2017 release date.

    "
    Hi There,

    Thanks for reaching out! Unfortunately, we do not have a more definitive date for the release of the adapter. We are aiming to release the product by the end of this month.

    Regards,
    Justin"

    Also not worth it since they have theirs priced the same.
     
  37. AjFreimuth

    AjFreimuth [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,106
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008

    So $25 - 30. That's not bad if you ask me. Seeing as generic ones on Amazon are about $15. Having one that's specific to my monitor when you can't find then elsewhere I'm willing to pay that. I'd say going up to about $40 would be my max.
     
  38. scgt1

    scgt1 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,821
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Wouldn't be $25 with a $9-$12 shipping charge. Would be $29.99 at the cheapest.
    So your saying with the current price on ebay with the $50 discount ($259.99) + ($29.99-$40) = ($289.99-$299.99) for a used refurb with only 90 days warranty is a better deal then ($300-$325) for a new sealed in the box full 1 year warranty one? Not seeing the logic in that. These were all refurbs for a reason and HP has a terrible product reliability anywhere near the 1 year mark. We all know a ton of these have been sold by this company with all these constant sales especially when it is always listed here, SD, and hardwareswap at a minimum. I would rather wait a bit and pay the $10.01-$25.01 more for a retail boxed one with all accessories and full warranty. Now if these actually included the adapter with them at the price they have been going for it would be an option for me but I would probably still lean toward a new model the more I think of it for $40-$75 more. With that said might as well get an Acer/AOC with a full 3 year warranty which I've also been looking at.
     
  39. AjFreimuth

    AjFreimuth [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,106
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    It's out of stock for the refurb on eBay. Has been for a bit. Cheapest on eBay currently is $359 for a New Other (New other (see details): A new, unused item with absolutely no signs of wear. The item may be missing the original packaging, or in the original packaging but not sealed. The item may be a factory second or a new, unused item with defects. See the seller’s listing for full details and description of any imperfections.).

    For those of us who have bought the refurbs who don't have any other options yes I still think $30 (Max $40 for me) is worth it for something I can and would use. If you don't already have the monitor then yes look elsewhere for one that has what you want and fits your needs. I've been looking for months for a VESA adapter posting on just about any forum I use and any topic I find on this monitor even creating accounts places to reply and ask people who've bought the monitor new and has it.
     
  40. fbb

    fbb n00bie

    Messages:
    3
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    There was a sale on this monitor here in Canada this past week and I picked it up. A few anecdotal observations: The size is great, it's a beautiful monitor. I was running a GTX 770 and there is definite frame skipping at 75hz, even with the newest Nvidia drivers. I bought a R9 390 yesterday and as reported here there is no frame skipping at 75hz with an AMD card and Freesync on. Input lag does feel lower in the Freesync mode, though I haven't done any kind of objective testing. It's definitely low enough for me and feels better than my old Dell U2410. What's notable is that under Linux, using the open source drivers I see frame skipping at 75hz even with the AMD card. The open source Radeon drivers don't implement Freesync so it seems the frame skipping is very much related to the Freesync function. I haven't tried the AMDGPU-PRO drivers yet because it requires downgrading a bunch of stuff. At 60hz it feels just like my old U2410.