HP Omen 32" QHD Monitor - 2560x1440, 5ms, 75Hz freesync, VA panel

Discussion in 'Displays' started by LTZ, Sep 3, 2016.

  1. SoupyFlow

    SoupyFlow [H]Lite

    Messages:
    76
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Awesome good to know! I have a Nvidia card but have really been wanting to check this monitor out. Input lag on it has been my biggest concern before ordering one. :)
     
    Delicieuxz likes this.
  2. Delicieuxz

    Delicieuxz n00bie

    Messages:
    21
    Joined:
    May 11, 2016
    I'm using my Omen 32 on the Gaming FS mode, with a GTX 1070.
     
    SoupyFlow likes this.
  3. sparks

    sparks 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,938
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2004
    had a buddy get one and he said he is having problems using his 480 card.
    It won't stay on 75 refresh in monitor settings has anyone else seen this?
    I thought maybe a 480 wasn't good enough to drive this monitor.

    ps just checked and he is using a dp cable.
    I told him to update to a new 580, I was sure that extra 1 fps would make a big difference or maybe an Nvidia 1060 he told me to go F#$$%^ myself...LOL
    amd people have no since of humor
     
    Last edited: Apr 21, 2017 at 4:00 AM
  4. Archaea

    Archaea [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,504
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    It won't stay at 75hz under display adapter settings in windows?

    I've had mine occasionally drop back to 60hz default in windows as well. It hasn't done it in several weeks and I haven't figured out the stimulus yet. Be it windows update? Or catalyst driver update or what.

    HP has an official driver for the Omen 32. He could try that.

    https://support.hp.com/us-en/product/omen-by-hp-32-inch-displays/11528087/drivers
     
  5. SoupyFlow

    SoupyFlow [H]Lite

    Messages:
    76
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    I know with Nvidia cards, if you have a custom resolution setup for say 75Hz or whatever, after doing a driver update a lot of times that gets wiped out. You then just have to simply recreate the custom resolution.
     
  6. Delicieuxz

    Delicieuxz n00bie

    Messages:
    21
    Joined:
    May 11, 2016
    Is it possible to access and modify a monitor's firmware - thinking of the Omen 32 in particular, here.
     
  7. AjFreimuth

    AjFreimuth [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,102
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Anyone with this monitor or the Pavilion version that doesn't plan on using there VESA adapter please PM and let me know what you'd want for it.
     
  8. igluk

    igluk Gawd

    Messages:
    611
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2014
  9. Immolation1991

    Immolation1991 [H]Lite

    Messages:
    75
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2016
  10. cageymaru

    cageymaru [H]ard|News Staff Member

    Messages:
    15,284
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    I keep getting sent back to the first page when I try to read through the review. What was the measured input lag on the monitor?
     
  11. Immolation1991

    Immolation1991 [H]Lite

    Messages:
    75
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2016
    49,6 ms
     
  12. Mayseffect

    Mayseffect n00bie

    Messages:
    25
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2017
    Do you want the part number so you can get it from HP directly?
     
  13. AjFreimuth

    AjFreimuth [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,102
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    I don't have it on me but someone posted pics of theres. I've searched high/low and HP seems to not offer it. There's also a few posts on HP's support forum asking for it. The HP Pavilion 32 also uses the same mount. I've looked at a bunch of sellers (Ebay and Direct websites) that sell Refurbs of both models and nobody includes the mount with refurbs for some reason. GladiatorJoe (a site/company that makes VESA Adapters) has responded to my email to them asking about it and they are "looking" into making one and will get back to me within a week.