How to set up vpn server on my home pc so I can connect to it anywhere?

jarablue

Gawd
Joined
May 31, 2003
Messages
844
I do not have a router that supports vpn. All I have is a spectrum issued wifi router which is really basic. What I would like to do is setup vpn server software on my home pc, so I can connect to it when I am at work.

I really do not mind paying for a vpn service if it allows me to do this. But I thought vpn services like that just connect you to remote servers. I want something that will sit on my home pc and allow me to vpn into it. Again I do not have a vpn router, I really don't want to buy one.

Is there anyway to do this? Do vpn services that cost money allow this connectivity? I thought about enabling RDP and using dyndns to just connect but that is insecure as all hell. Thanks for the help!
 

jarablue

Gawd
Joined
May 31, 2003
Messages
844
Does that work through work firewalls? I would need something that works behind my work firewall.
 

mnewxcv

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Mar 4, 2007
Messages
7,213
Are you trying to control the computer or access the Lan? I use Chrome remote desktop for remote control of my home computer.
 

pendragon1

Fully [H]
Joined
Oct 7, 2000
Messages
22,766
Does that work through work firewalls? I would need something that works behind my work firewall.
not sure, i only used it from my laptop to home.
edit: maybe?!
1602034722617.png

https://documentation.logmein.com/documentation/EN/pdf/Hamachi/LogMeIn_Hamachi_GettingStarted.pdf
 

jarablue

Gawd
Joined
May 31, 2003
Messages
844
Are you trying to control the computer or access the Lan? I use Chrome remote desktop for remote control of my home computer.

I want something like what remote desktop in windows does RDP. Just to have my desktop available to me as if I was sitting in front of it.
 

jarablue

Gawd
Joined
May 31, 2003
Messages
844
I just thought of something. My job, everything is HIPAA compliant. So I don't think I'd even be allowed to connect to a personal device while at work. I work for a huge medical center in network operations. Just working the night shift, can be a bit down sometimes.

So, nevermind. Was just a thought. I like abiding by the law. I'm a good doobee!
 

SamirD

2[H]4U
Joined
Mar 22, 2015
Messages
3,788
Yeah, you wouldn't be able to do this in a hipaa environment unless you have public internet access--then it might be possible as the packets would be over port 80/443. Still, you might get fired if they find out, so you have to gauge the risk.
 
Top