How To Secure Your Android Phone and iPad When Traveling Abroad?

illram

[H]ard|Gawd
Assume the phone must come with me. I am embarking on an international trip soon, and have a lot of confidential and privileged emails, texts, and voicemails on my phone that I do not want to bring with me, and that I am also ethically obligated to secure. (I am a civil rights lawyer and I doubt foreign customs agents give much of a shit about the fourth amendment.) I do not believe just deleting texts on my phone is adequate. I would like to avoid encrypting and then wiping my phone and then starting over also, as my own personal life-stuff I don't care so much about. I don't mind customs agents looking at my personal photos, or my music collection, or my social media accounts, or my shitty fantasy baseball teams, or any of that stuff. I have no protected communications in these apps, so I am wondering the following:

1. Is there a secure way to permanently delete texts and voicemails from the phone without encrypting and then doing a factory reset? I don't care if I delete all the texts completely, or all my voicemails, or whatever. I do not need to wipe all my texts either if I don't have to, just those with my clients (but all my texts are backed up to email, so I can lose them all).
2. Does deleting the following apps leave anything that is recoverable on the phone OR on an iPad? Dropbox, Gmail, Yahoo Mail, Samsung's E-mail app (whatever that is)? I would like to delete the apps as you may be required to log in to the apps if they are there, if your customs overlord wants to make your life miserable. On my iPad I do not use any of Apple's stock communications apps.

Also if the only solution is truly a factory reset, once you reset the phone and log-in, doesn't that just log you right back into your google account and thus your gmail? Any log in prompt is a potential issue, since a hot to trot border agent in Idontgiveafuckistan can detain you until you log in (or not).