How to NOT Fry a Motherboard?

Karant

Gawd
Hi there again [H]! I have been building my personal and family computers for the last 3 years, however the last 2 PC's I have tried to put together, I had ended up frying both motherboards. Are there any special suggestions you guys at [H] have on not doing any harm to any of my computer components when building a PC? Thanks!

Hi there again [H]! I have been building my personal and family computers for the last 3 years, however the last 2 PC's I have tried to put together, I had ended up frying both motherboards. Are there any special suggestions you guys at [H] have on not doing any harm to any of my computer components when building a PC? Thanks!

Keep one hand on bare metal inside the case at all times if possible.

Build on tile or hardwood, not in a room with carpet. Ground yourself before building. Make sure you don't knock things around -- chances are pretty good you didn't fry anything, but knocked some tiny surface mount component loose.

dont go touching circuits. i hold my mobo by the usb adapter metal thing for the rear panel.

I find rubbing the motherboard on a cat, or virtually any animal with fur creates the static discharge I need to build a proper computer.

The motherboard used in my signature was rubbed on a Lynx first.

I find rubbing the motherboard on a cat, or virtually any animal with fur creates the static discharge I need to build a proper computer.

Ya, lynx are the best. Speeds up your CPU by a 157.3%. :p

dont swicht anything non-hot swapable eg. PS2 ports, and i will state the obvious since noone has yet and it probably needs to be said, no liquids near or on your hands, the slightest amount of moisture can fry a system, also have sufficient power flowing to the board or the PSU might decide to die and take all your components with it. also make sure the mobo is properly grounded with no screws or loose grounds behind the mobo that could short