How to measure my rails?

Discussion in 'Power Supplies' started by larkin, Nov 22, 2006.

  1. larkin

    larkin Gawd

    Messages:
    907
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Hi, I got a PowerStream 520W SLI and if I pop open ASUS PC Probe, the rails fluctuate pretty drastically. I hear software voltage readings are poor so how do I go about measuring them an accurate way?

    My 3.3v rail consistently reads under 3.3, at 3.27 or so. The others are all above their requirements.
     
  2. Redbeard

    Redbeard Official Corsair Rep.

    Messages:
    1,859
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    In order to accurately measure the voltage on the rails you have to buy a Digital Multi-Meter and measure the individual rails.
     
  3. Bbq

    Bbq King of Charts

    Messages:
    12,272
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2006
    Use a multimeter.

    even so, at 3.27 it is well within spec: 3.13 - 3.46 is within spec.
     
  4. larkin

    larkin Gawd

    Messages:
    907
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    I see. Perhaps the freeze i'm getting a few hours into games is not a power rails issue. i'm OC'ing the gtx so i suppose the issue is the gpu isn't cool enough for stability at that oc.

    just for grinns, where do i touch the multimeter to in order to measure?

    thanks
     
  5. Bbq

    Bbq King of Charts

    Messages:
    12,272
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2006
    multimeter ---------- power supply
    red-------------------------yellow
    black------------------------black

    For 12v rails.
     
  6. Kherozene

    Kherozene Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    240
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2006
    my pci-e cable is not getting a reading.
     
  7. gilly

    gilly n00b

    Messages:
    52
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2006
    is one getting a reading and the other not?