how to disable 'wake up' user login screen?

Discussion in 'Operating Systems' started by Harkamus, Mar 8, 2005.

  1. Harkamus

    Harkamus [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,293
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2001
    OK, this has just recently started happening to my computer. Basically, after my computer goes on stand by, I get the user login screen thing where I have to click on the user profile. I am running XP and this has never happened before. I'm also the only user so it's quite annoying. Sometimes I have to wait for my LCD to refresh for like 30 seconds. Pretty insane. I have no spyware whatsoever on my PC. In fact, this only started happening after I installed the beta for Microsoft Antispyware. Ironic, eh? I had Lavasoft's Adaware installed as well...just wanted to compare which was better. I also have Norton Antivirus and Firewall installed.

    Anyways, I uninstalled MS Antispyware thinking that was the culprit. Still, no go. Any suggestions?
     
  2. Direwolf20

    Direwolf20 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,468
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    I get this too, and just thought it was normal. I think I started getting it when I put a password on my user account, but I may be wrong on that.
     
  3. djnes

    djnes [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    19,572
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2000
    It actually is normal I believe....at least for XP Pro. It's a security feature.
     
  4. hulksterjoe

    hulksterjoe older and wiser now

    Messages:
    2,916
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2001
    I think you can stop this ..from the desktop .. right click>properties>screensaver>power>advanced> unclick prompt for password when resuming..

    Sorry I'm at work and cant test this.
     
  5. Herulach

    Herulach Gawd

    Messages:
    998
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2004
    Hulkster said it, its in your screensaver options.
     
  6. rcolbert

    rcolbert Gawd

    Messages:
    716
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Sounds like you also have the welcome screen enabled (and possibly fast user switching). I'd disable both of those as well.
     
  7. Harkamus

    Harkamus [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,293
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2001
    Ah, thanks! Man, sometimes I have my noob moments. Can't believe I didn't think of this.
     
  8. djnes

    djnes [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    19,572
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2000
    Harkamus, just a friendly heads-up that sigs are limited to 10 lines....might want to take out the double spacing before a mod does it for you with some unwanted changes.