How to clone latest Win 10 Pro to another drive?

Discussion in 'Operating Systems' started by Bird222, Dec 13, 2019.

  1. Bird222

    Bird222 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,174
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2000
    What's the least painful (and free) way to do this?
     
  2. Mazzspeed

    Mazzspeed 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,438
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2017
  3. ir0nw0lf

    ir0nw0lf [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,346
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2003
    Macrium Reflect (Free) is another alternative.
     
    Legendary Gamer and RogueTrip like this.
  4. ManofGod

    ManofGod [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,409
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    It is not free, as far as making bootable media but, I would suggest Easeus ToDo Home edition. It is only $10 and worth every penny. It is also very easy to use.
     
  5. Bird222

    Bird222 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,174
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2000
    Ok I used Clonezilla and it seemed pretty painless. However, Windows still reported my old drive size (new drive is bigger). I did the following:
    1. Booted into Gparted. It reported an error with the drive size and offered to fix it and I did.
    2. Resized the partition to use the rest of the unallocated space.
    3. Booted back into Windows. Still reported old size.
    4. Opened MiniTool partition I had installed. It reported the correct size of the partition. Didn't change anything just opened the app.
    5. Rebooted Windows. During boot it automatically did a drive scan/fix. After boot, it reported the correct size.

    In the future how can I get clonezilla to report the correct partition sizes afterwards?
     
  6. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    15,460
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    backerupper has worked perfect for me
     
    Puterguru likes this.
  7. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    15,460
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    you can usually adjust it before the clone.
     
  8. Bird222

    Bird222 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,174
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2000
    How is that done?
     
  9. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    15,460
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
  10. Shoganai

    Shoganai Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    504
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2018
    As others have suggested ... AOMEI Backupper

    It’s all I use now. It’s never failed me.
     
  11. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    15,460
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    lol ive been calling it backerupper for years oops.
     
    Shoganai likes this.
  12. Shoganai

    Shoganai Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    504
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2018
    I think either way is fine. ;)
     
    pendragon1 likes this.
  13. ManofGod

    ManofGod [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,409
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Does it let you create bootable media? I am not sure you can clone a live drive with it from within Windows.
     
  14. Bird222

    Bird222 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,174
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2000
    I was specifically asking about Clonezilla.
     
  15. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    15,460
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
  16. Bird222

    Bird222 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,174
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2000
  17. /dev/null

    /dev/null [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    14,358
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2001
    Macrium Reflect free version.
     
  18. dvsman

    dvsman 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,043
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    I bought one copy of Macrium Reflect (during one of those holiday sales a few years back) and have been moving it from build to build. From the amount of time I saved, it was worth every penny.