How to assign my hard drive letters??? help please

Discussion in 'Operating Systems' started by lemmy, Jul 19, 2005.

  1. lemmy

    lemmy Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    460
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Hi I just installed 2 hard drives attached to my PCI RAID SATA controller, i installed everything properly, i can go to device manager and see both the hard drives, but i don't see the drives in the my computer area, any clue what to do?
     
  2. jpmkm

    jpmkm That Ain't Mayo On My Lip...

    Messages:
    5,774
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2001
    Did you partition and format them?
     
  3. lemmy

    lemmy Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    460
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    nope how do i do that?
    is there a way to partition then in windows? i don't have my windows cd, and these are new hard drives so do i need to format?
     
  4. jpmkm

    jpmkm That Ain't Mayo On My Lip...

    Messages:
    5,774
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2001
    Oh I think you can go to computer management(in the administration control panel) to partition the drives from within windows. Or open a command prompt and use fdisk(does windows still have fdisk?) Then once they are partitioned you can go to 'my computer' to format the drives just like you would format a floppy disk.
     
  5. lemmy

    lemmy Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    460
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    do i want these as dynamic disks?
    i found a intialize and convert disk wizard
     
  6. lemmy

    lemmy Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    460
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    I went to disk management and it says Disk 1/2 are unallocated?
     
  7. jpmkm

    jpmkm That Ain't Mayo On My Lip...

    Messages:
    5,774
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2001
    So allocate them. There should be something in there that allows you to create a partition on the drive. I wouldn't go dynamic. Not worth it. Just do regular partitions and be done with it.