How much storage space are you currently using?

Matt174e

n00b
Joined
Jun 26, 2007
Messages
60
I'm trying to gauge how much space I'll need. I'm hoping that 1TB of ssd will be enough for me. And have my old 500gb for junk files (like downloading torrents).

So I have to ask... how much space do you have and how much are you actually using? Also, what is taking up most of your space?

For myself, games will be the thing taking up most of the space in my future build. So I'm thinking that 1TB will be fine.
 

Vincent Tempus

Limp Gawd
Joined
Aug 20, 2012
Messages
271
I would suggest picking up a cheap secondary drive if you have the space for it. At least that way you do not have to worry about junk files/torrents. I use my SSDs for games/ OS/ and programs, all other files and saves go to storage.
 

drescherjm

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Nov 19, 2008
Messages
14,926
How much storage space are you currently using?

Depends on the system. I mean my windows development box ( I am a programmer doing medical imaging research) has 4 ~256 GB SSDs and no spinners. My linux HTPC / server has ~10 2 to 4TB hard drives and 1 80GB SSD. My win8.1 laptop has a 512GB hybrid drive (hope to replace with an SSD soon - the hybrid is not helping performance at all).
 
Last edited:

Concentric

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Oct 15, 2007
Messages
1,026
Everyone's requirements are different so it won't really help you to look at how much storage other people need.
Just look at your own requirements (what applications you run or content you need to store, how much each needs) and add it all up. Then over-provision by at least 50% (especially when using SSDs) and you have your answer.
 

ob1

2[H]4U
Joined
Apr 17, 2000
Messages
2,274
Well I think what the OP is looking for is a few general sizes. Like on my system in sig, I installed Windows 8 clean and did not tweak any settings for space saving, just left it alone and did the regular install and it takes up like 60 GB of space on my SSD. I put some things on the SSD, like browsers, caches, office, etc. Most games I put on my 500 GB raptor and I usually have about half full, like 200 GB free with probably 10 games installed. I do have a 2TB drive that I keep my plex library on that is 99% full right now, but that is over what you are asking.
 

Nate7311

2[H]4U
Joined
Jan 11, 2001
Messages
3,320
Do you mean just in the main workstation or total at home?

In my PC:
Sammy Evo 250GB (10% OP and 60% full)
WD 640GB Black
Seagate 250GB.
Total 1.1TB

Total in my house is about 6TB of data between servers, etc.

That being said, there's no point in paying the premium of SSD pricing for long term storage of junk. a pair of 4TB drives mirrored in RAID1 will be close enough to the same as the jump from 250GB to 1TB in SSD pricing.
 

TeeJayHoward

Limpness Supreme
Joined
Feb 8, 2005
Messages
11,040
My workstation has a single 256GB SSD. It's got a couple games on it and is used as scratch space for downloads and BluRay rips. I've bumped into the limit a few times, but never had a serious issue.

My backup server is identical to my NAS, both of which have 27TB raw, ~18TB after raidz2 losses, but only 12-13TB used. That's decades of pictures, documents, applications, music, and video. Probably 10TB of that space is video. If you're a media whore like me, you can never have enough space.
 
Last edited:

Armenius

Fully [H]
Joined
Jan 28, 2014
Messages
28,066
I'm with others. Don't waste money on SSD just for storage purposes.

In my case I float around 300-500GiB on my primary 1TB hard drive (WD Black), with most space being taken up by the games I have installed at any one time. I'm only at around 4TB total space on my storage drives. Currently using around 3.2TiB that contains backups of old floppy and CD games, mods, music, and movies. I'd like to move to a single ~8TB array that should keep me covered for the next 7-10 years.
 

Skott

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 12, 2006
Messages
4,198
I'm one of those types that likes everything on one drive. So for my recent build (shown in sig) I went with a single 1TB SSD with everything loaded on it. Just in case I want to back stuff up or start getting into DLing of songs, pic storage, or some such thing I added a 2TB WD Black drive to handle that. I'll probably never use it but its there just in case. I decided to have it now rather than maybe later.
 

Aesma

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Mar 24, 2010
Messages
1,854
I stopped counting once I broke 100TB.

Pretty much the same, well even before that.

For my workstation (on which I don't work really, as I've got a work laptop from my employer) I just went from a 256GB SSD to a 1TB. Before the 256 I had a 240, so I staid on the same SSD size for more than 3 years, but when I saw that a 1TB SSD would cost me the same as I had paid for that first 240 one (my 2nd SSD, before that I had a 64GB with Windows XP), I couldn't resist.

True there are some files on my SSD that I could store elsewhere, but that way I can use the computer (watercooled) with all the spinners shut down and do things like extracting huge rar files etc. directly on the SSD. Before, I always had a 3TB hard drive running, lately a WD Red.
 

Sp33dFr33k

2[H]4U
Joined
Apr 20, 2002
Messages
2,481
So far my SSDs are primarily for virtual machines. I have 5 SSD's total ranging from 60GB to 256GB. Just got two of the crucial MX100 256 for my daily PC. I have a 2TB and 3TB for storage and backup.
 

me4get

Weaksauce
Joined
Jun 15, 2011
Messages
102
less than 250 GB at the moment on my system, but about 500GB on Backup HDs.
 

Morphene

Weaksauce
Joined
Aug 15, 2006
Messages
108
currently running a samsung 840 120gb(non pro) for my boot, and bf4 drive. all my steam games go on my 1TB WD Blue, which is about half full of games.
 

Zepher

[H]ipster Replacement
Joined
Sep 29, 2001
Messages
18,763
18.5TB and I have most of it used up.
7x 2TB, 1x 4TB, 128GB SSD, and 256GB SSD.
My dad got me the 4TB a few days ago for my birthday. I wasn't expecting it, I just mentioned a few days earlier that I was running out of space, and he ordered a drive for me.
 

virtualheretic

Limp Gawd
Joined
Sep 6, 2005
Messages
237
Boot: 250Gb SSD
Games: 300Gb Velociraptor
Porn 3Tb Drive
Music and junk storage: 3Tb drive
Movies and TV eps: 2Tb drive

Everything is 75% full
I have a file server waiting for hdds to be installed, going with 8x4Tb Reds
Then I plan to upgrade the 300Gb raptor to a 1Tb raptor and rip out all the other drives from my gaming rig
 

callmaster

n00b
Joined
Jan 1, 2007
Messages
23
OS and apps: 512GB SSD
Secondary drive for torrents and what not: WD 750GB

Movies/Music/Porno : WD 3TB + WD 3TB (external)
Seedbox: 8TB

I hardly keep much on the SSD other than the OS and assorted applications. Secondary drive I use for torrents and movies/music and whatever else I might download. The externals are used with my media player. All stuff is moved there immediately after download.
 

Private_Ops

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jun 4, 2007
Messages
1,870
OS/Apps/Games - 240GB Intel SSD

Still got like 80GBs free. I don't use a lot, but I am planning on picking up another SSD and a storage drive.
 

/dev/null

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Mar 31, 2001
Messages
15,190
My fileserver has 18TB raw, and about 11TB usable.

I have a couple 2T's and 1.5's I haven't yet thrown in, but not enough to have the redundancy I want.

In my main desktop, I have a 256G ssd, a 120G ocz summit (anyone remember those?) and a 1T black drive.

I think in my main linux rig it's 2 * 500G and 6 64G ssds doing various things

My chromebook has a 16G ssd bult in

My wife's computer has 2T external, 180G intel ssd internal and her laptop has a 256G ssd.

I think that is about it.
 
Joined
Aug 26, 2004
Messages
29
I have 4 x 2TB HDD's on my main rig
2 x hgst 7k2000's, 1 x WD Black faex drive & 1 x Toshiba 7200rpm drive.
Also 1 x Ssd a crucial mx100 512 GB drive

My server has 4 x 2TB HDD's + 1 1TB HDD & a 60GB SSD.
 

Zarathustra[H]

Extremely [H]
Joined
Oct 29, 2000
Messages
32,820
Alright, heres the data I use.

None of the computers in my house have traditional hard drives except my server which provides network storage.

Desktop: 256GB SSD, split half and half 128GB for Windows 7 (games only), 88GB used. Linux boot (everything else) 52GB used
HTPC1: 128GB SSD, Windows 8.1 ~60GB used (Windows install plus a handfull of small applications only)
HTPC2: 64GB SSD: Mythbuntu install, ~9GB used

Then there's the storage server:

Code:
#zpool list
NAME      SIZE  ALLOC   FREE    CAP  DEDUP  HEALTH  ALTROOT
zfshome  32.6T  15.8T  16.8T    48%  1.00x  ONLINE  /mnt

~8TB DVR:ed shows using Mythbuntu
~5TB Media folder
~3TB Various files, downloads backups etc, I've collected over the years.
 
Last edited:

jordan12

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Dec 29, 2000
Messages
9,751
for my main desktop i have 25 tb. i only use 12tb. mostly movies and music
 

WestSidaz

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 13, 2011
Messages
218
Local HDD space (free/total): 154,11 GiB/14,61 TiB
Network HDD space (free/total): 541,56 GiB/80,56 TiB
Total HDD space (free/total): 695,67 GiB/95,17 TiB

various stuff... porn.. movies.. series... other stuff..
 

Nonchalance

Weaksauce
Joined
Apr 28, 2010
Messages
108
Local HDD space (free/total): 154,11 GiB/14,61 TiB
Network HDD space (free/total): 541,56 GiB/80,56 TiB
Total HDD space (free/total): 695,67 GiB/95,17 TiB

various stuff... porn.. movies.. series... other stuff..

100TB of porn? :D

How often do you have to replace drives in that array?
 

nightfly

2[H]4U
Joined
Jun 7, 2011
Messages
2,970
Total 8TB on 4 separate NAS, don't keep much on the computers. Must be getting old; only a little over 100GB of porn. Mostly ripped movies in mkv form, all sorts of videos, music mp3's only about 50GB nearly all in 128kbps form, I simply cannot hear the difference from CD's. A lot of my videos are older, and so low resolution. When watching, I just take off my glasses and it's all the same, slightly out of focus stuff. Besides, ugly women look better when a little out of focus.
 

WestSidaz

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 13, 2011
Messages
218
100TB of porn? :D

How often do you have to replace drives in that array?

Well.. Hmmm... not often.. i cant even remember when was the last time i have had to replace broken storage hdd in my servers.. last time might and can be in early 2013.. maybe.. long time ago anyways and i have all kind of brands.. i just need to get a bit more space so i can brake 100 tib limit.. :D:D:D:D
 

Zarathustra[H]

Extremely [H]
Joined
Oct 29, 2000
Messages
32,820
Well.. Hmmm... not often.. i cant even remember when was the last time i have had to replace broken storage hdd in my servers.. last time might and can be in early 2013.. maybe.. long time ago anyways and i have all kind of brands.. i just need to get a bit more space so i can brake 100 tib limit.. :D:D:D:D

That is am amazing amount of storage.

There I was thinking my storage (12x 4TB reds, set up in two 6 drive RAIDz2 VDEV's in one pool, sortof like RAID60)

Second this though. Drives either typically fail within the first few months of use, or wind up lasting a long long time. I've only had to ever replace one drive in my 4 years of maintaining a RAID array.

No pr0n in mine though. Maybe pr0n wears disks faster? :p
 

Aesma

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Mar 24, 2010
Messages
1,854
I only used the 3,5" ones and despite hard drives being in the 20-100MB range at the time, those floppies were already proving to be way to small, many games needed several of them, for example Civilization took 4 disks !
 

ShepsCrook

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Feb 16, 2003
Messages
9,368
14x2TB + 750GB
RAID6

So I have 18.1TB of total available space.
Currently only 11.2TB FREE

I did some cleaning in the form of 3TB removed from the NAS.
 
Top