How much data do you use?

caw2007

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jan 8, 2008
Messages
1,912
Unlimited plan on VZW..237GB over the last month...

They can pry it from my cold dead hands..

Yes, I'm one of THOSE users..
 

T4rd

Fully [H]
Joined
Apr 8, 2009
Messages
19,555
Unlimited plan on VZW..237GB over the last month...

They can pry it from my cold dead hands..

Yes, I'm one of THOSE users..

That is retarded, lol. Please post a screenshot of this since it's the highest usage I've ever heard of on mobile data. :p

And I felt bad for using 20+ GBs of data one month on Verizon.. do they ever call you and tell you about using WiFi or anything? Hah
 

FnordMan

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Apr 22, 2011
Messages
1,727
Unlimited plan on VZW..237GB over the last month...

They can pry it from my cold dead hands..

Yes, I'm one of THOSE users..

How is that even possible? Even over LTE I don't really see that happening as VZW LTE is maybe 3-4 Mbits/sec around here. (friend's on verizon for now, i'm not)
 

T4rd

Fully [H]
Joined
Apr 8, 2009
Messages
19,555
How is that even possible? Even over LTE I don't really see that happening as VZW LTE is maybe 3-4 Mbits/sec around here. (friend's on verizon for now, i'm not)

Then that area is way oversaturated or there's issues with the network there. Everywhere I go on Verizon's LTE, I get at least 10+ Mb/s, but normally around 20 Mb/s. Testing around where I live and work gets me 20-30 Mb/s on almost all tests. So I can easily see him using that much.

I don't even use that much data on my home (20/2) connection though, lol. I'm guessing he's downloading and seeding torrents from his phone..? :p
 

CHANG3D

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jul 23, 2010
Messages
4,975
Or he has a router/firewall that could tether from the USB. I did that once when I had an outage (meaning I used my phone once for failover connectivity, not very much data though).
 

caw2007

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jan 8, 2008
Messages
1,912
So my previous quoted number was from my phones calculated data usage. According to Verizon, for this billing cycle I'm at 183GB.

As some of you guessed this type of usage is totally possible because my phone is my home network connection. I do not have an ISP available for a reasonable price in my current apartment complex and that's why my usage is where it is for now.
 

Justintoxicated

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Apr 10, 2002
Messages
14,500
So my previous quoted number was from my phones calculated data usage. According to Verizon, for this billing cycle I'm at 183GB.

As some of you guessed this type of usage is totally possible because my phone is my home network connection. I do not have an ISP available for a reasonable price in my current apartment complex and that's why my usage is where it is for now.

Do you have your phone plugged into your router somehow? I would like to use my phone as well, but not sure how to get the router connected to it.
 

///AMG

2[H]4U
Joined
Sep 19, 2012
Messages
3,743
So my previous quoted number was from my phones calculated data usage. According to Verizon, for this billing cycle I'm at 183GB.

As some of you guessed this type of usage is totally possible because my phone is my home network connection. I do not have an ISP available for a reasonable price in my current apartment complex and that's why my usage is where it is for now.

lol how can you play games with LTE? The latency is horrible.

When I had verizon on unlimited I used around 10-15gbs, on AT&T I have the 5gb data plan so I started using wifi more and I use about 3gb.
 

paperwastage

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jul 12, 2009
Messages
1,131
Do you have your phone plugged into your router somehow? I would like to use my phone as well, but not sure how to get the router connected to it.

if your router has wireless bridge or wireless client mode (if you can load custom ROMs like tomato/dd-wrt, those have it), you can broadcast a wifi network on your phone, and have your router connect to it.

your router then can either broadcast a separate WAN under the phone's wifi (using wireless bridge), or repeat the signal (wireless client mode)
 

T4rd

Fully [H]
Joined
Apr 8, 2009
Messages
19,555
lol how can you play games with LTE? The latency is horrible.

Not in my experience. I usually get a ping of 50-100ms in my speed tests on (Verizon) LTE in my area. That's definitely good to game on, I think.
 

///AMG

2[H]4U
Joined
Sep 19, 2012
Messages
3,743
Not in my experience. I usually get a ping of 50-100ms in my speed tests on (Verizon) LTE in my area. That's definitely good to game on, I think.

When I was with verizon, I had 130ms~ with AT&T right now its about 110ms~. I cant really stand anything above 90ms. Specifically for MOBAs and FPS.
 

Hazakins

Weaksauce
Joined
Jan 1, 2012
Messages
115
Yeah I never use much data, always in WIFI range and to slow. So glad I switched to Ting. save so much money.
 

caw2007

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jan 8, 2008
Messages
1,912
Do you have your phone plugged into your router somehow? I would like to use my phone as well, but not sure how to get the router connected to it.

I run a custom ROM on my phone that allows me to use the built in HTC wireless tether app without an additional monthly charge. It's functionally a software AP and the HTC app is one of the best I've used ever.

ASUS routers have a functionality that is supposed to pass the cell modem to the router via USB but I've never been able to get it to work with VZW.
 
Last edited:

caw2007

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jan 8, 2008
Messages
1,912
lol how can you play games with LTE? The latency is horrible.

When I had verizon on unlimited I used around 10-15gbs, on AT&T I have the 5gb data plan so I started using wifi more and I use about 3gb.

Aside for the occasional service interruptions I've never really had an issue but I don't play online a ton. The game I've put the most time into that would hit it like that would be Guild Wars 2 and I've never had an issue with lag or drops.
 

groebuck

2[H]4U
Joined
Mar 9, 2000
Messages
2,587
how do they not throttle you @ 183 GB? even if you have a grandfathered unlimited plan?
 

T4rd

Fully [H]
Joined
Apr 8, 2009
Messages
19,555
how do they not throttle you @ 183 GB? even if you have a grandfathered unlimited plan?

Verizon has never throttled on LTE. I'm pretty sure that was imposed by the FCC when Verizon acquired their spectrum for their current LTE bands.
 

Morphene

Weaksauce
Joined
Aug 15, 2006
Messages
108
i struggle to keep my data to 4 gigs a month, i lost my Grandfathered verizon unlimited plan(damn fiance :( )
 

BeavermanA

2[H]4U
Joined
Apr 27, 2006
Messages
2,804
Do you have your phone plugged into your router somehow? I would like to use my phone as well, but not sure how to get the router connected to it.
I was just able to do it. Updated firmware on my Asus RT-56U to the latest. Plugged in my phone, went to its options and enabled usb tether. Asus router automatically detected it, I just left settings at default and pressed apply on the usb modem settings page.

Now my router is getting internet directly from my Note 2 vzw LTE. Pretty sweet.

3405520632.png
 

caw2007

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jan 8, 2008
Messages
1,912
I was just able to do it. Updated firmware on my Asus RT-56U to the latest. Plugged in my phone, went to its options and enabled usb tether. Asus router automatically detected it, I just left settings at default and pressed apply on the usb modem settings page.

Now my router is getting internet directly from my Note 2 vzw LTE. Pretty sweet.

3405520632.png

Hmmm, I might be giving one of these another try today then! Are you running a custom ROM?
 

Domini

2[H]4U
Joined
Sep 12, 2005
Messages
2,079
Hmmm, I might be giving one of these another try today then! Are you running a custom ROM?

You may need to use a thirdparty software as carrier software will require you to subscribe to tethering. Also not all routers will support this feature
 

CHANG3D

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jul 23, 2010
Messages
4,975
BTW, Sprint folks. I had a few connections with Sprint engineers, but they both left the company for nearly unrelated jobs. I used to believe it was those connections that got me special treatment. But I recently reported bad connectivity to a certain shopping areas in my town and the next thing I know is that Sprint Spark lit up and I'm getting over 20 Mbps in those area in question (even though I only have one bar). I dunno if it's coincidence or maybe I'm in Sprint system as a "good" customer, or maybe it's my Sensorly reports. So complain and report!
 

/usr/sbin

Successfully Trolled by Megalith
Joined
Jul 18, 2010
Messages
3,927
500-700MB moble data per month average.

I'm usually around wifi. I VPN to home/UK to keep my data transmissions out of prying eyes since I mostly use public or work wifi.
 

devman

2[H]4U
Joined
Dec 3, 2005
Messages
2,400
Use less than 500MB a month. I'm around a lot of wifi, and when I'm not, I'm usually not doing data intensive things.

I'm switching two lines to AIO wireless $35/mo. plan after my contract with Verizon is up in July.
 

FiveFig

Gawd
Joined
Jun 27, 2011
Messages
517
Depending on if I am downloading movies for family or just my own gaming/streaming/etc... I use ~35-65GB a month.
Go Go grandfathered verizon plan mwwuuahahah

Loving my G2, just can't wait till I can stop using 4G LTE and can start using AWS
 
Last edited:
Top