How far can you push the X800 pro card (OC)

Ztalin

n00b
Joined
Aug 25, 2004
Messages
20
I got the X800 pro (non vivo =/ ) and I was wonderin how far ppl here were able to OC their cards ... I got mine @ 515 core and 500 ram and it runs stable w/o any additional cooling (just the stock cooler) Since I got the non vivo x800 pro (should have done some reading b4 I bought it ) I´m gonna have to OC it usin the ATi tool... just wonderin how far u guys were able to go.... It does 56 fps timedemo 1 in D3 @ 1024x768 High Quality AA on


Sys Specs.
AMD Xp 3200 (OC´d 2500 barton)
Gig RAM
X800 pro
36gig 10k Raptor
SB Audigy
 

Timdog

Gawd
Joined
Feb 7, 2003
Messages
661
Stock cooling I get 555/570. No extra mods or anything. It's totally stable in all my games and with ATITool.
 

Jaden

Weaksauce
Joined
Jul 2, 2003
Messages
117
I have had two X800 pros now and neither overlocked past 500/500. I keep getting the video recovery. Do you guys get this ? How do you get past it ?
 

WuTangClam

Limp Gawd
Joined
Dec 11, 2001
Messages
478
Make sure fast writes are turned off. If you don't mind the noise, you can use atitool to increase the fan speed of the stock cooler. Also, try disabling VPU recover.

You could also try doing the pencil mod to increase voltage to the core.

http://www.vr-zone.com/?i=817&s=1
 

Ztalin

n00b
Joined
Aug 25, 2004
Messages
20
Ok a lil update... got it to 520 core 550 ram with them new Omega drivers and it runs everything just fine .... gets up to ca. 65-70 c after and hour of Quake III :D so everything looks good...... I was thinkin if the system RAM was an important factor in this ... I got a 1024 mb RAM but it´s a no name sumthin CL 3 I think.




Sys Specs..
Xp 3200
1024 Ram
x800pro
36 gig Raptor
+ some shit I don´t bother to type in =)
 

bboynitrous

2[H]4U
Joined
Feb 29, 2004
Messages
2,514
Drivers nor fast writes cause me any problems. Either way I can get 561/590 with a volt mod of 1.4 and that's not even maxing out the core :). That was just good for a 3dmark run or two, otherwise the memory kind of artifacts. Now my everyday overclock is 535/545 with no volt mods and it's 100% stable. It maxed out at 545/570 or so. Then the core would freeze my computer :eek:
 

mrjungle

n00b
Joined
Aug 11, 2004
Messages
28
Ztalin said:
Ok a lil update... got it to 520 core 550 ram with them new Omega drivers and it runs everything just fine .... gets up to ca. 65-70 c after and hour of Quake III :D so everything looks good...... I was thinkin if the system RAM was an important factor in this ... I got a 1024 mb RAM but it´s a no name sumthin CL 3 I think.




Sys Specs..
Xp 3200
1024 Ram
x800pro
36 gig Raptor
+ some shit I don´t bother to type in =)


What did you get before you installed the Omega drivers?
 

Ztalin

n00b
Joined
Aug 25, 2004
Messages
20
The Omega drivers gave me some 5-6 fps I think + all the goodies that come with em... rad linker.. etc.. was thinkin about doin the hard mod but I read somwhere that has only about 20% success rate so it´s hardly worth doin it if that´s true...... mite aswell stick with this setup for the next year till the dual core CPU´s come and all that new shit that makes my current setup look like bad joke ;)
 

SocketA

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 9, 2004
Messages
423
I have pritty much the same setup as Ztalin. I am able to push my X800pro card to 520/570. That gets me to 11,037 on 3dmark2003. I am happy with the extra Fps and horsepower this card brings over my 9800pro. I was thinking of doing the pencil mod but its just not worth destroying a $400 dollard card over. I go gaming at 515/545 and am happy with that. Omega drivers??? I am using the 4.8's. I was going to try the 4.9 beta as Doom3 has one slight chop that I want to eliminate at everything set to high.
 

bboynitrous

2[H]4U
Joined
Feb 29, 2004
Messages
2,514
SocketA said:
I have pritty much the same setup as Ztalin. I am able to push my X800pro card to 520/570. That gets me to 11,037 on 3dmark2003. I am happy with the extra Fps and horsepower this card brings over my 9800pro. I was thinking of doing the pencil mod but its just not worth destroying a $400 dollard card over. I go gaming at 515/545 and am happy with that. Omega drivers??? I am using the 4.8's. I was going to try the 4.9 beta as Doom3 has one slight chop that I want to eliminate at everything set to high.

Pencil mod isn't that risky. I did it and I got another 20-30MHz out of my core, and another 10-15MHz on my memory. Just be careful to connect the right points. Multimeter would be nice too. I upped mine and my temps only went up about 5-6C on the load. Not too bad.
 

PureBooYah

2[H]4U
Joined
Aug 26, 2002
Messages
3,363
bboynitrous said:
Pencil mod isn't that risky. I did it and I got another 20-30MHz out of my core, and another 10-15MHz on my memory. Just be careful to connect the right points. Multimeter would be nice too. I upped mine and my temps only went up about 5-6C on the load. Not too bad.


yeah, i did it yesterday and increased 25mhz on the core, haven't tried up'ing the memory any.

if anyone is going to do it, i'd test it with a multimeter before you start and then after to know it works. If you want to remove it at anytime then just erase the pencil :cool:
 

Mutalys

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jun 18, 2004
Messages
148
I thnk it's kind of hit and miss with how high you can push yours. I have an Sapphire Pro Vivo modded to 16 pipes, I can barely get 520/520.
 

PureBooYah

2[H]4U
Joined
Aug 26, 2002
Messages
3,363
Mutalys said:
I thnk it's kind of hit and miss with how high you can push yours. I have an Sapphire Pro Vivo modded to 16 pipes, I can barely get 520/520.

i've read that adding the extra 4 pipes to your card will hurt your oc'ability, but it's worth it for the extra performance the 4 pipes give.
 

Ztalin

n00b
Joined
Aug 25, 2004
Messages
20
got 10544 in 3Dmark03 card is at 513/540 is that good ? can´t browse other resaults cuz I didn´t buy it......oh and Mutalys ...if you have the ATI tool go in to the fancontrol settings and change the fan speeds to dynamic .... worked wonders for me, hours and hours of uninterrupted gaming :D with the max OC on. :::::::::Z::::::::::
 

Mutalys

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jun 18, 2004
Messages
148
Ztalin said:
got 10544 in 3Dmark03 card is at 513/540 is that good ? can´t browse other resaults cuz I didn´t buy it......oh and Mutalys ...if you have the ATI tool go in to the fancontrol settings and change the fan speeds to dynamic .... worked wonders for me, hours and hours of uninterrupted gaming :D with the max OC on. :::::::::Z::::::::::

Nah, it's not the fan speed. I even set it to 100%, not that it needs it. It isn't over heating (I have an Arctic Silencer 4 BTW) it just can't go any higher. I was able to play Doom3 for about 4 hours at 522/522, but I can't run 3dMark03.
 

Chazums

n00b
Joined
Aug 17, 2004
Messages
29
I get 530/520 with VGA silencers rev.3 and BGA heatsinks
core will go higher i reckon, its still @ 40C after doom3 but the RAM is topped out

i get about 11k in 3dMark03

A64 3400+
 
Top