How do I resolve Unable to find file containing Live Operating System?

Discussion in 'Linux/BSD/Free Systems' started by scharfshutze009, Jan 21, 2018.

  1. scharfshutze009

    scharfshutze009 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,862
    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    How do I resolve Unable to find file containing Live Operating System for Linuxmint Debian 2 or Ubuntu 14.4.3 LTS Desktop i386 aka 32-bit? I was trying to run the LIve OS on the following hardware specs:

    My Pentium 3 (CUC2) Computer Specs

    -Motherboard: Asus CUC2 Intel 820E socket 370 motherboard

    -Processor: Intel Pentium III Coppermine 1 GHz 133 MHz FSB 256 KB L2 cache 32 KB L1 cache

    -Memory: Elpida PC-800 512MB x2

    -Heatsink: Thermalright SLK-800A

    -Heatsink fan: Vantec Tornado 80mm Double Ball Bearing High Air Flow Case Fan - Model TD8038H

    -Sound: Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS Platinum

    -Video: BFG 7800GS 256MB GDDR3 AGP

    -USB: StarTech 7 Port PCI USB Card Adapter Model PCIUSB7

    -LAN: D-Link 530TX+

    -RAID controller: PNY SPU5103PPB PCI SATA S-CURE Storage Card

    -Optical Reader: MSI 18X DVD-ROM 48X CD-ROM IDE DVD-ROM Drive Model DH-18DP

    -Optical Writer: LG DVD-RW DL Burner

    -Floppy Drive: SAMSUNG Black 1.44MB 3.5" Internal Floppy Drive Model SFD321B/LFBL1 - O

    -Case: Lian Li Classic Series PC-A71F / Black / Full Tower Case

    I had this issue on my Supermicro P4SCT+II system as well at least with LDME or LDME2, but never figurered out how to resolve the issue. Is it just a bad burn to optical media or does LDME or Ubuntu not like these system specs?
     
    Last edited: Jan 23, 2018
  2. scharfshutze009

    scharfshutze009 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,862
    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Turns out that the reason the Asus CUC2 computer might not boot from the Live Optical media is that AHCI might need to be enabled in BIOS instead of IDE, which might also be true of my P4SCT+II system that I would also like to post a video demonstration of on youtube and embed here in another thread as well as comment.
     
  3. scharfshutze009

    scharfshutze009 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,862
    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    If turning on AHCI doesn't help maybe using USB or flash media might if this system or the P4SCT+II will support it.
     
  4. CrimsonKnight13

    CrimsonKnight13 Lord Stabington of [H]ard|Fortress

    Messages:
    7,151
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    What's the exact error you're getting?
     
  5. tbg

    tbg Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    140
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2013
    The Asus CUC2 does not have any sata ports, how do you plan to enable ahci. please tell us more.
     
  6. scharfshutze009

    scharfshutze009 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,862
    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Exactly, but I do think it has AHCI for some reason and I'm going to check anyway. If the problem is with booting from optical media maybe flash media will help, but I believe the solution of AHCI said they were using usb flash and I don't think that is supported on this board either. Therefore, it will have to be another type of flash media that can if usb flash can't be used.
     
  7. scharfshutze009

    scharfshutze009 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,862
    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    "Unable to find file containing Live Operating System"

    Just like I said in the original post.
     
  8. CrimsonKnight13

    CrimsonKnight13 Lord Stabington of [H]ard|Fortress

    Messages:
    7,151
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    I was hoping for more than that. I've corrected some live booting LInux distros by using "ln -s".
     
  9. scharfshutze009

    scharfshutze009 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,862
    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Yes, but how am I supposed to do that if it won't boot from the live cd and there is no other operating system on the computer or in another optical or device reader to do that?
     
  10. B00nie

    B00nie [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,425
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2012
    That motherboard is so old that it's probably not supported. Also the 1Gb of ram is so and so for a modern distro. Try booting a light distro such as puppy linux.
     
    Wild1 likes this.
  11. scharfshutze009

    scharfshutze009 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,862
    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    It's going the have to be Windows 7 on this Machine then, even if I have to buy hard drives because Linuxmint wouldn't work and I know Ubuntu won't work because it requires a 2 GHz processor for the desktop version.
     
  12. you2

    you2 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,157
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    This makes no sense 'it requires 2 GHz processor??????" I never heard anything so insane. Linux is far more efficient than windows with regards to memory/cpu requirements. Unable to find operating system is completely unrelated to whether the hardware is supported. It is a problem with the bios finding the device with the OS.
    -

     
  13. Mega6

    Mega6 Gawd

    Messages:
    957
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2017
    Dude its a suggested bs, recommended RAM is another story. Put linux on it. Redhat, Ubuntu..If its not too slow for win 7 there is no way it is too slow for Linux.
     
  14. B00nie

    B00nie [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,425
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2012
    Scharf this post is proof that you lack fundamental understanding on how computers work in general. You're in the wrong line of business unfortunately.
     
  15. Mazzspeed

    Mazzspeed Gawd

    Messages:
    855
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2017
    The Linux community has done what Microsoft will probably now begin doing since Nvidia have announced that they're dropping support of 32 bit drivers and ditched 32 bit almost entirely. I don't like your chances at finding a 32 bit distro for a 32 bit processor, even dependencies are a major issue under 32 bit Linux, assuming you manage to find a distro that supports 32 bit.

    That system would make a fine retro gamer, in which case I'd recommend Windows 2000/XP. But sadly, as fine a processor as the 1Ghz P!!! was, attempting to use it in a modern day setting is just unrealistic. Coming from someone with a 1.4Ghz Pentium !!! Tualatin @ 1.7Ghz.
     
  16. you2

    you2 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,157
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Mazzspeed likes this.
  17. Wild1

    Wild1 n00bie

    Messages:
    51
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2018
    I have 64bit machine with dual core amd 1.6ghz and it can't run modern distros such as ubuntu 17.10.1 or Debian. Try puppy linux or damn small linux imo they are better suited to that old timer.
     
  18. WhoMe

    WhoMe Gawd

    Messages:
    737
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2018
    Speaking of 32 bit. Anyone try this. Seems I've seen some people resurrecting some pretty old PC hardware including ancient laptops with it. I've been thinking of dusting off some old machines and seeing what they could do. But I'm total nube in Linux (last used Unix on a PDP 11) maybe the ones listed above are better?
     
  19. Mazzspeed

    Mazzspeed Gawd

    Messages:
    855
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2017
    I'm confused, what is that? Is it Debian for RPi or is it Debian for x86? Both are completely different architectures. If you could handle UNIX on a PDP than Linux should be a walk in the park.
     
  20. WhoMe

    WhoMe Gawd

    Messages:
    737
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2018
    It's their try at a very small Debian for resource poor x86, but is very similar to their RPi Linux (I believe, I keep meaning to play with an RPi but somehow never do).
    The main trouble is time the PDP was in the 80's...but hopefully it will come back.

    Edit: Here's the discussion forum you can get a better idea of what people are doing from it.
     
    Last edited: Apr 28, 2018
  21. Mazzspeed

    Mazzspeed Gawd

    Messages:
    855
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2017
    It's a shame you don't still have a PDP, lovely old machines.
     
  22. WhoMe

    WhoMe Gawd

    Messages:
    737
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2018
    It wasn't mine, it belonged to the math dept. (it was a mini not one of their micros...or a Heathkit ;) ) of the university where I was a math/comp sci major. But yeah, the thing could serve a bunch of terminals and not bat an eye...had a whopping 4MB of RAM if I remember right (the 11/70 I'm pretty sure). Of course it was just for the use of the math/comp dept. we also used a Cyber something or other but it was usually in heavy use and too slow (unless you submitted punched cards which had priority...a little trick I learned ;) ). I personally had a TRS-80 model 1 back then until I built a PC clone in '86. The one I always regretted not keeping though was my Amiga..

    But in a way it's thinking about those old days that makes me want to put Linux on some old systems and see what they can do. I've stuff in the shed going back to 8086...pretty sure I can dig up a PIII.
    If you're feeling nostalgic try this. (edit: uses Java script and you can download the source.)

    SOMEWHERE NEARBY IS COLOSSAL CAVE, WHERE OTHERS HAVE FOUND FORTUNES IN
    TREASURE AND GOLD, THOUGH IT IS RUMORED THAT SOME WHO ENTER ARE NEVER
    SEEN AGAIN. MAGIC IS SAID TO WORK IN THE CAVE.
     
  23. scharfshutze009

    scharfshutze009 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,862
    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Exactly, but I still think I say AHCI support for some reason.
     
  24. scharfshutze009

    scharfshutze009 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,862
    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Ok I will, but I've had trouble get some Pubby distros and I think Puppy Arcade is one of them.
     
  25. scharfshutze009

    scharfshutze009 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,862
    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    I don't lack the fundamentals I've forgotten them. This is just something I spend time working on in my spare time to see how much more I can do with it. I've always wanted to see how well this machine can emulate N64 ROMS for development of improved Nintendo 64 gaming experiences even though most N64 games turned out good enough for the most part and it's a dead console. One game, such as resident evil 2 could have just used a bigger capacity cartridge, so video could be full screen, but was still better than the Playstation 2 version that I played through both of. Either way though I'm interested in seeing what this machine can do for the most part. On my P4SCT+II system N64 ROMS would crash and on the TUSL2 or ST6-RAID I believe they did to just not as often, so I'm interested in seeing if RAMBUS support makes any difference.
     
  26. ChadD

    ChadD I Love TEXAS

    Messages:
    3,087
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2016
    https://www.asus.com/supportonly/CUC2/HelpDesk_Manual/

    That is a very old board without SATA ports so no you can not enable AHCI.

    Perhaps you are thinking of ACPI or something which is a completely different thing.

    Your going to have to use IDE HDDs, good chance old IDE drives are long in the tooth and there is a good chance they will fail on you. But good luck.
     
  27. tbg

    tbg Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    140
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2013
    you said that already like 5 months ago... you also said you were going to look in to it, what did you find between feb 8th and now?
     
    Mazzspeed and ChadD like this.
  28. B00nie

    B00nie [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,425
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2012
    You can't forget something you fundamentally understand. You either do or you don't.
    Probably his buttocks with two hands.
     
  29. tbg

    tbg Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    140
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2013
    being a bit generous with the credit there arn't you?