How can I restart in DOS with XP?

Discussion in 'Operating Systems' started by DellAxim, Feb 7, 2004.

  1. DellAxim

    DellAxim Gawd

    Messages:
    971
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2003
    I have a laptop running windows XP with no floppy drive and I won't have the CD drive for about a week. I need to restart into DOS...is there any way for me to do it?
     
  2. ZenPirate

    ZenPirate Gawd

    Messages:
    568
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2001
    Either the dos prompt from your menu to run stuff, or I'd guess rebooting to the recovery console is pretty close.
     
  3. DellAxim

    DellAxim Gawd

    Messages:
    971
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2003
    Won't work from a dos prompt...how do I "reboot to a recover console"?
     
  4. Jgedeon

    Jgedeon Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    500
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2002
    If memory serves right while it's booting press F8 then you can get to command.
     
  5. tim_m

    tim_m i'm so nice

    Messages:
    5,534
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2003
    if you could tell us what you're trying to do we may be able to provide alternatives
     
  6. DellAxim

    DellAxim Gawd

    Messages:
    971
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2003
    Nope, no option there. I'm trying to run dell's diagnostics, which only run in dos...
     
  7. Jgedeon

    Jgedeon Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    500
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2002
    Thats strange I just tried it and there is an option there for Start windows in Safe mode with Command Prompt.
     
  8. aug1516

    aug1516 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,288
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2000
    All that does is bring up XP to a cmd window first, I believe you still have the desktop in the background. DellAxim, the Recovery Console has to be installed to access it form the F8 menu. Since you didn't install it while windows was functional you have to get to it using the other method. Boot off a Win2k or XP cd and start the install process. At the very first screen one of the options is to repair your exisiting install, choose that. This will startup into the Recovery Console which isn't quite DOS but does have a bunch of tools that may help you with whatever you are doing. Don't confused this repair prompt with the one that comes later during the install. This one should be at the first screen where it asks you for input.
     
  9. laserlights2000

    laserlights2000 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,162
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2002
    download and install dos 6.2 :)
     
  10. cyberphox

    cyberphox [H]Lite

    Messages:
    99
    Joined:
    May 1, 2002
    as someone who works for Windows XP support for Microsoft I will tell you what we tell our customers:

    Windows 98 startup/boot floppy. Bang..you're in dos
     
  11. Zwitterion

    Zwitterion Gawd

    Messages:
    938
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2002
    If you restart in safe mode with command prompt it'll give you sorta dos. but you can do that from within windows anyways. You're pretty much out of luck without a floppy drive.
     
  12. DellAxim

    DellAxim Gawd

    Messages:
    971
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2003
    Yeah, if you'll read the first post, the whole point of this post was that I don't have a floppy or a CD rom at the moment...
     
  13. GreNME

    GreNME 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,604
    Joined:
    May 18, 2002
    Well, considering XP does not run on DOS, the answer is quite simple: you can't. ME was the last one you could get to DOS from.
     
  14. Ranma_Sao

    Ranma_Sao 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,578
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2002
    Well, you could pull the hard disk out, put it in a dell with a floppy, and put dos on it, but yeah, your pretty much out of luck.
     
  15. Stanley Pain

    Stanley Pain 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,405
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2001
    To get recovery console there's 2 things you can do.

    Boot from the XP CD, go through the prompts, until it asks you if you want to repair, and select recovery console.

    The other method is

    From your Windows XP cd, in a command prompt (or from run), run winnt32 /cmdcons

    It'll install it and you'll have that option to go into recovery console when you boot (boot menu).

    Cheers,

    Mr. Pain
     
  16. PhreakPhy

    PhreakPhy Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    357
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    No floppy or CD rom? No repair console installed. Your SOL as far as i know. Spend 8 bucks and get a floppy hooked up. Go to a friends and go to bootdisk.com and download a 98se boot disk, if you cant make one. And bam, there ya go.
     
  17. Stanley Pain

    Stanley Pain 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,405
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2001
    Damn didn't see no CD or Floppy =P

    Crapola.

    Cheers,

    Mr. Pain
     
  18. DarkSoldier

    DarkSoldier Gawd

    Messages:
    610
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2001
    >>Spend 8 bucks and get a floppy hooked up<<

    To his laptop?

    :rolleyes:
     
  19. PhreakPhy

    PhreakPhy Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    357
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    eh i musta missed that it was a lappy.

    Begg, borrow, steal the drives that you need.
    or
    just be patient untill your drive arivres.
     
  20. ameoba

    ameoba [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,413
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2001
    Yeah... pretty much hosed, unless you can find yourself an adapter to hook the lappy HDD up to a working desktop w/ CD or floppy.
     
  21. GreNME

    GreNME 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,604
    Joined:
    May 18, 2002
    Um, if it's a recent laptop, spend a few bucks to get a USB floppy (OfficeMax is selling a "maddog" brand for $19 and a $10 MIR, totalling $9), then boot off of floppy.

    All it takes is being aware of options.
     
  22. DellAxim

    DellAxim Gawd

    Messages:
    971
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2003
    Not worth buying a floppy because, well, what the hell else will I use it for? :D