HOT ! Various 1TB NVMe with coveted E12 Controller $135 aprox retail

Status
Not open for further replies.

groebuck

2[H]4U
Joined
Mar 9, 2000
Messages
2,502
And temps before the upgrade - my ssd would hit 78 and throttle - (the fun lil alarm in CDinfo) - now - it does not seem to go above 55 C and gets slightly better throuput on the writes.
upload_2019-3-26_9-48-31.png
 

groebuck

2[H]4U
Joined
Mar 9, 2000
Messages
2,502
Just for reference - before i updated this was my second NVME drive's results when hitting high temps and throttling.
203228_upload_2019-3-25_13-41-32.png
 

Hulk

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Nov 4, 2005
Messages
5,962
This NVMe is running way too hot, I think I'll just get the SSD version instead. Plus the only place on my MB to install it would be right under my GPU using the PCI. Everything from what I've read says that you will hardly notice a difference between an SSD and NVMe unless you are copying huge amounts of data. I can place the SSD right in front of my giant intake fan in the front of my computer to cool it. Current Samsung 7200 HDDs are at 29 and 31 Celsius.
 

Damn Dirty Ape

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Nov 21, 2005
Messages
1,837
So I picked up one of these the other day, a note or teo and a question or two.

1. Sais it has firmware 12.2 , from what I see this is the latest.
2. Finding it is not showing up in the m.2 section of the asus zz370-i strix motherboard., BUT it still works and I can install windows 10 on it no problem.

Observations:

1. faster than my 960 evo but a good bit.
2. Showing right at 70c during crystal disk mark test. (too hot)? It was idling about 59c CDM shows temp in red but says 'good' on the header with that temp.
 

groebuck

2[H]4U
Joined
Mar 9, 2000
Messages
2,502
NVME and AMD is funky - to get raid NVME on my x399 you have to go deep in the bios and turn it on in some obtuse setting.
 

cybrnook

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jan 14, 2013
Messages
1,621
NVME and AMD is funky - to get raid NVME on my x399 you have to go deep in the bios and turn it on in some obtuse setting.
Not really, I am running 4 x on an AsRock NVME expansion card (I like it better then the MSI bundled one) on my MEG Creation X399 and it was pretty straight forward. Enable bifurcation on your PCI slot to 4x4x4x4, save reboot back into BIOS, then enabled RAID, add your drives as members of the array, then reboot and install windows (having your driver on a USB thumb drive). I don't think it's any more wonky than Intels vroc, and we don't have that stupid key to worry about.
 
Last edited:

groebuck

2[H]4U
Joined
Mar 9, 2000
Messages
2,502
Not really, I am running 4 x on an AsRock NVME expansion card (I like it better then the MSI bundled one) on my MEG Creation X399 and it was pretty straight forward. Enable bifurcation on your PCI slot to 4x4x4x4, save reboot back into BIOS, then enabled RAID, add your drives as members of the array, then reboot and install windows (having your driver on a USB thumb drive). I don't think it's any more wonky than Intels vroc, and we don't have that stupid key to worry about.
on a riser card.. :) using the included 3 nvme on the mobo is a bit more fun.
 

cybrnook

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jan 14, 2013
Messages
1,621
sure thing! a japanese company called CFD also sells an nvme drive which uses the phison e12 controller, and they posted a firmware update tool on their site for their ssds. i downloaded that from here and used the setting "DLMC" for function, and "activated at the next reset" for parameter action within the program. once it was complete i just restarted and the firmware was updated. hope this helps!
Thanks buddy! Translated the readme:

About PG2VN Firmware update tool
Required conditions for rewriting: Windows 10 environment
* Be careful about the execution *
Please run the Firmware update tool at your own risk.
If rewriting fails, it may not be recognized and may not be recovered / available.
--- Procedure ---
1. Please unzip the downloaded file.
2. Run the extracted executable file (.exe) with administrator privileges.
3. If Windows Protecter is protected, please click on the detailed information.
Then press the run button.
4. The user account control screen is displayed.
Allow apps from this unknown publisher to make changes to the device? When
It will come out, please press "Yes".
5. 5 files are created.
6. The firmware tool starts automatically as it is.
7. Press the Rescan button in the Device column.
The old firmware version SSD is displayed.
8. Make sure that the Function column is DLMC. (Do not press the RUN button at this time)
9. Make sure that the Action selector in the Parameter column is "activated at the next reset".
10. Press Run in the Function column.
11. Firmware will be updated.
12. When the Tool finishes writing the Firmware, you will be prompted to shut down and restart your PC.
Please shut down without closing the Tool window.
13. Turn off the PC, wait for a while and then restart it.
14. If successful, the Firmware version will be ECFM 12.2.
 

groebuck

2[H]4U
Joined
Mar 9, 2000
Messages
2,502

Lateralus

More [H]uman than Human
Joined
Aug 7, 2004
Messages
15,933
I totally don't need one of these.

But I want one.

I'm nowhere near using the full capacity of my 2 x 2TB SATA SSDs, and my 512GB 950 Pro is only about 1/3 full.

I hate this forum sometimes, lol.
 

arnemetis

2[H]4U
Joined
Aug 2, 2004
Messages
2,942
I totally don't need one of these.

But I want one.

I'm nowhere near using the full capacity of my 2 x 2TB SATA SSDs, and my 512GB 950 Pro is only about 1/3 full.

I hate this forum sometimes, lol.
I felt a similar way when I picked up my 970 evo. I really wanted to test out my 10gbit fiber connection to my server though, and bought one. Besides transfers over that, it feels identical to my 850 evo sata ssd and I regret purchasing it. Unless you have a use case for processing large amounts of data (I've found gaming to show nearly no benefit) save your money.
 

eclypse

2[H]4U
Joined
Dec 7, 2003
Messages
3,261
Thanks buddy! Translated the readme:

About PG2VN Firmware update tool
Required conditions for rewriting: Windows 10 environment
* Be careful about the execution *
Please run the Firmware update tool at your own risk.
If rewriting fails, it may not be recognized and may not be recovered / available.
--- Procedure ---
1. Please unzip the downloaded file.
2. Run the extracted executable file (.exe) with administrator privileges.
3. If Windows Protecter is protected, please click on the detailed information.
Then press the run button.
4. The user account control screen is displayed.
Allow apps from this unknown publisher to make changes to the device? When
It will come out, please press "Yes".
5. 5 files are created.
6. The firmware tool starts automatically as it is.
7. Press the Rescan button in the Device column.
The old firmware version SSD is displayed.
8. Make sure that the Function column is DLMC. (Do not press the RUN button at this time)
9. Make sure that the Action selector in the Parameter column is "activated at the next reset".
10. Press Run in the Function column.
11. Firmware will be updated.
12. When the Tool finishes writing the Firmware, you will be prompted to shut down and restart your PC.
Please shut down without closing the Tool window.
13. Turn off the PC, wait for a while and then restart it.
14. If successful, the Firmware version will be ECFM 12.2.
With that said I guess if one was installing a new system, one would then need to use this as a second drive and not the main OS drive then if we wanted to update the firmware.

For a gaming system. Would it be best to use this drive as the os or game drive?

I was originally thinking game drive but wondering if it would be better to have the os running off it.. ??
 

Lateralus

More [H]uman than Human
Joined
Aug 7, 2004
Messages
15,933
I felt a similar way when I picked up my 970 evo. I really wanted to test out my 10gbit fiber connection to my server though, and bought one. Besides transfers over that, it feels identical to my 850 evo sata ssd and I regret purchasing it. Unless you have a use case for processing large amounts of data (I've found gaming to show nearly no benefit) save your money.
That's right, talk me back from that ledge! Lol. Thanks, voices of reason help keep spending in check.

With that said I guess if one was installing a new system, one would then need to use this as a second drive and not the main OS drive then if we wanted to update the firmware.

For a gaming system. Would it be best to use this drive as the os or game drive?

I was originally thinking game drive but wondering if it would be better to have the os running off it.. ??
If it were me, I'd use it as an OS drive and maybe put your top 2-3 games that you're currently playing on there if you really want to. If you don't have a lot of programs installed, there's no use leaving the drive 80% empty. Someone said earlier that there isn't a huge improvement in load times vs. a SATA SSD and I'm inclined to believe that.
 

groebuck

2[H]4U
Joined
Mar 9, 2000
Messages
2,502
There have been plenty of youtube videos on mechanical vs ssd vs nvme for game loads time. LSS - ssd is just as fast a nvme for game loads in the real world and mechanical is a distant third
 

eclypse

2[H]4U
Joined
Dec 7, 2003
Messages
3,261
Ok so install it as an os drive and try and flash it to the latest firmware? Hope it dont wipe it.. if so just reinstall os.

The flash program will work if the drive is an OS drive?
 

groebuck

2[H]4U
Joined
Mar 9, 2000
Messages
2,502
Ok so install it as an os drive and try and flash it to the latest firmware? Hope it dont wipe it.. if so just reinstall os.

The flash program will work if the drive is an OS drive?
it worked for me - I flashed both my drives at the same time - rebooted - the OS drive cam back the seocnd did not, rebooted again nothing, powered down and restarted (hard off and on) it came back. No data loss. YMMV
 

crazycuz20

Limp Gawd
Joined
Oct 3, 2017
Messages
166
NVME and AMD is funky - to get raid NVME on my x399 you have to go deep in the bios and turn it on in some obtuse setting.
It does require a bunch of bios changes and restarting the computer to enable additional BIOS menu's. And they're motherboard specific. Then again, if you're doing NVME raid, you should know what your doing as 99% of people don't need that kind of performance. Maybe 20% on this forum ;)

Anyways:, this youtube video, though super long, goes step by step in setting up NVME raid on a TR4 mobo
 

SixFootDuo

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Oct 5, 2004
Messages
5,676
I felt a similar way when I picked up my 970 evo. I really wanted to test out my 10gbit fiber connection to my server though, and bought one. Besides transfers over that, it feels identical to my 850 evo sata ssd and I regret purchasing it. Unless you have a use case for processing large amounts of data (I've found gaming to show nearly no benefit) save your money.

Absolutely terrible logic. Save your money? You mean, don't buy an SSD ... ever? This SSD is so cheap yet so incredibly fast it defies logic. If you go compare this drive and it's cost to a wide gamut of SSD's on the market its not only faster but cheaper than many of the ultra old and slower drives that are still out there cost nearly as much if not more. How you could even possibly suggest this very near-sighted.

What would you honestly have them buy? Care to elaborate and share? Please, link us ... anything you want. Model, price and performance and explain to us why that would be a better buy over this drive.

It's a massive 1tb NVMe for $135 that clearly holds a world top 3 spot performance wise. Zero logic applies here. You just buy it.

And I think the community has already spoken. I'm fairly sure dozens upon dozens along with many unaccounted people have made this purchase.
 

arnemetis

2[H]4U
Joined
Aug 2, 2004
Messages
2,942
Absolutely terrible logic. Save your money? You mean, don't buy an SSD ... ever? This SSD is so cheap yet so incredibly fast it defies logic. If you go compare this drive and it's cost to a wide gamut of SSD's on the market its not only faster but cheaper than many of the ultra old and slower drives that are still out there cost nearly as much if not more. How you could even possibly suggest this very near-sighted.

What would you honestly have them buy? Care to elaborate and share? Please, link us ... anything you want. Model, price and performance and explain to us why that would be a better buy over this drive.

It's a massive 1tb NVMe for $135 that clearly holds a world top 3 spot performance wise. Zero logic applies here. You just buy it.

And I think the community has already spoken. I'm fairly sure dozens upon dozens along with many unaccounted people have made this purchase.
I was replying to, and quoted, Lateralus. Who had mentioned he already had three ssds and was nowhere near close to filling them. So my post was specific to that scenario. I absolutely think everyone should be running on ssds for their systems and games...but I don't think the upgrade from a sata ssd to nvme ssd would serve Lateralus any benefit.

Otherwise for someone building a pc, upgrading due to space concerns, or those who have an actual use case for the crazy speed, this is absolutely a great buy. I was never arguing against it.
 

groebuck

2[H]4U
Joined
Mar 9, 2000
Messages
2,502
okay as requested up thread - 12.1 firm ware - TR1950x x399 mono - 1 TB Inland NVME - I set the Seq to 64/16 threads to push it - here are the results
upload_2019-3-26_17-55-17.png
 

groebuck

2[H]4U
Joined
Mar 9, 2000
Messages
2,502
after firmware - nothing broke I just stopped it - the test that really heats it up is the seq read writes
upload_2019-3-26_18-5-44.png
 

cybrnook

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jan 14, 2013
Messages
1,621
With that said I guess if one was installing a new system, one would then need to use this as a second drive and not the main OS drive then if we wanted to update the firmware.

For a gaming system. Would it be best to use this drive as the os or game drive?

I was originally thinking game drive but wondering if it would be better to have the os running off it.. ??
I am using it as an OS drive, and also installing steam and my games on the same array. With that said, I am also backing up with Acronis my specific game folders to my unraid server for safe keeping and future formats.

You could also boot your current system up with one drive at a time and flash them all one by one, which is what I did. THEN build your array once you are ready to commit.
 

yossarian

Gawd
Joined
Nov 2, 2004
Messages
799
Interesting. My SSD came with the 12.2 firmware:

Capture2.JPG


I hoped updated to 12.2 might clear up my issue.
 

eclypse

2[H]4U
Joined
Dec 7, 2003
Messages
3,261
I am using it as an OS drive, and also installing steam and my games on the same array. With that said, I am also backing up with Acronis my specific game folders to my unraid server for safe keeping and future formats.

You could also boot your current system up with one drive at a time and flash them all one by one, which is what I did. THEN build your array once you are ready to commit.
I'm not going to do a raid like I always did back in the day with spinners.

I also have a new 1tb samsung 970 evo "free" that I was plan on using but I dont think I can use 2 m.2 drives on the asus extreme XI without causing one of them to run slow?
 

Bankie

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jul 27, 2004
Messages
1,707
How are you guys getting 3,000+ MB/s writes? The drive specs list 1900MB/s max write and I'm getting anywhere from 1400-1900MB/s....
 
  • Like
Reactions: Hulk
like this

SixFootDuo

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Oct 5, 2004
Messages
5,676
I was replying to, and quoted, Lateralus. Who had mentioned he already had three ssds and was nowhere near close to filling them. So my post was specific to that scenario. I absolutely think everyone should be running on ssds for their systems and games...but I don't think the upgrade from a sata ssd to nvme ssd would serve Lateralus any benefit.

Otherwise for someone building a pc, upgrading due to space concerns, or those who have an actual use case for the crazy speed, this is absolutely a great buy. I was never arguing against it.

My apologies I took your comment out of context.
 

Jim Kim

2[H]4U
Joined
May 24, 2012
Messages
3,745
How are you guys getting 3,000+ MB/s writes? The drive specs list 1900MB/s max write and I'm getting anywhere from 1400-1900MB/s....
What is your motherboard and what's in the occupied slots?

If you are using the GA Z270n gaming 5 is the m2 nvme connector on the back?
What are the drives temps?
 
Last edited:

SixFootDuo

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Oct 5, 2004
Messages
5,676
How are you guys getting 3,000+ MB/s writes? The drive specs list 1900MB/s max write and I'm getting anywhere from 1400-1900MB/s....
The Phison E12 actually lists a write speed of up to 3,200MB seq. So the packaging is wrong. OR, it could just be a number they felt would cover more end users than say, the 3,000MB writes and thus avoiding returns and general headache and complaints from buyers.
 
Last edited:

Bankie

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jul 27, 2004
Messages
1,707
What is your motherboard and what's in the occupied slots?

If you are using the GA Z270n gaming 5 is the m2 nvme connector on the back?
What are the drives temps?
Yeah Z270 ITX board with the m.2 connector on the back. Idles in the high 40s but when testing it gets up to 72C. I'll have to see if I can rig up some way to get extra cooling to it.
 

SixFootDuo

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Oct 5, 2004
Messages
5,676
BTW, Slickdeals is reporting a big sale on the Sabrent Rocket NVMe SSDs which are Phison E12 based.

https://slickdeals.net/f/12967240-s...b-nvme-usb-3-1-external-160-2tb-300-much-more

With discount codes, a Sabrent 1 TB Rocket NVMe SSD drive is $124.99 shipped, $10 cheaper than the MicroCenter price on the Inland.

Does everyone want to unload these or what?

Nice find. Looking at the PCB from what I can tell this is def from the same factor as ours and others.

1000's of these cheap and super fast SSD NVMe are flooding into the market as we speak. No doubt Samsung will take notice soon if not already.
 

encore2097

Weaksauce
Joined
Mar 14, 2010
Messages
114
Reserved the Inland Premium 1TB but Corsair MP510 960GB and this Sabrent 1 TB Rocket have 5 year warranty..

I plan to clean install but lots of folks mention Sabrent 1TB Rocket having issues with cloning, is this specific to this drive or do all Phison E12 lack 512e?
 

encore2097

Weaksauce
Joined
Mar 14, 2010
Messages
114
Well Samsung SSD bit the dust and they wont honor their warranty. Luckily paid with AmEx and they saved the day. Grabbed the Sabrent 1TB for around $125.
 

SixFootDuo

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Oct 5, 2004
Messages
5,676
Reserved the Inland Premium 1TB but Corsair MP510 960GB and this Sabrent 1 TB Rocket have 5 year warranty..

I plan to clean install but lots of folks mention Sabrent 1TB Rocket having issues with cloning, is this specific to this drive or do all Phison E12 lack 512e?
3 years is an incredibly long time to own an SSD. I'm guessing 4TB NVMe in 3 years for $150? Who the hell knows.

I suspect we will see 2TB NVMe's come down to $150 by the end of this year.

I think you're going to be ok with a 3 year warranty.

Also, logic tells us that if these other companies are willing to give out a 5 year warranty then chances are that your same "EXACT" ssd will be healthy in 5 years. Right?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top