HOT ! Various 1TB NVMe with coveted E12 Controller $135 aprox retail

Status
Not open for further replies.

Xerack

Gawd
Joined
Jan 24, 2006
Messages
640
Apparently Microcenter doesn't want my money :(

  1. Unable to verify billing address.

I had the same issue when I ordered one. I ended up having to call them and ordered it over the phone. I received a confirmation email that I had placed the order - and I am supposed to receive another once it has shipped.
 

NickJames

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Apr 28, 2009
Messages
6,675
They have some weird security with their credit page, I just changed my billing address to the 'verified' address they had and it went through..
Yeah tried that, I have ordered from them years ago with no issues, same address too so I have no idea why it's giving me shit all of a sudden. Guess I'll have to contact support but I am also really lazy so..
 

86 5.0L

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
6,981
Honestly only the controller needs cooling, might get this and replace the silicone bands with zip ties



517EB076-D21A-4184-955E-DCB143D04031.jpeg
 

kwatch

Weaksauce
Joined
Sep 28, 2006
Messages
78
I bought 512GB version today. Please recommend me a disk utility program to check endurance and updating firmware like Samsung Magician. Thanks.
 

tangoseal

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Dec 18, 2010
Messages
8,840
I bought 512GB version today. Please recommend me a disk utility program to check endurance and updating firmware like Samsung Magician. Thanks.
I dont think there is any out there. I could be wrong. At least not from MIcrocenter or Inland.

I placed one on reservation to pickup at the Marietta, GA store tomorrow when I get around to going down there.
To everyone else here is the datasheet on the drive.

upload_2019-3-19_1-40-2.png
 

bullet-worm

Limp Gawd
Joined
Oct 8, 2013
Messages
128
I'm looking at this for my next gaming system build where my main goal is to cut load-screen times. Assuming you do not have serious air flow problems in your case, does the throttling only happen on large data writes (like copying a large amount of data), or is it a problem with general gaming use as well? Some of these games are taking 30-40 seconds to load on a normal Sata SSD these days, and minutes to load on a mechanical drive...

Also, just to clarify in case I want to heatsink the drive anyway, the controller chip is the Phison chip, correct? I am thinking those Raspberry Pi heatsinks should be just about the right size to sit on just that chip and at least give it some more thermal headroom.

I don't think I have seen anyone mention what size the cache is on this drive. How long before the drive writes slow down because the cache is full? I know this isn't a real issue for game loading, but perhaps it could be in game installs as these can hit 50+GB regularly these days...

Finally, I'm not even certain how these people even know they are hitting thermal throttling when it could just be that the cache is simply full. My layman's understanding is that once that cache is full, any further writes have to go straight to TLC which is much slower, and that is being done at the same time as the cache being written to TLC as well, but when some cache gets freed up there is another short burst of write speed until the cache is full again. This appears to be exactly what people are experiencing on the videos I have seen that call it "throttling". I'm certainly no SSD expert though, so I could be way off there.

worm
 

DogsofJune

2[H]4U
Joined
Nov 7, 2008
Messages
3,780
I should look at the temps of my name on my Asus board. It has a heatsink and is sandwiched between Mobo and sound.
 
Joined
Mar 14, 2019
Messages
49
Remember reading somewhere that the most heat comes from the controller, not the RAM, I totally agree.

What this video says is that according to storage expert, the controller tends to heat up but it's rare, while the Flash RAM actually 'wants' to get hot, it experiences less wear if it is allowed to operate at higher temperatures.

Gonna open up my machines again and do some trimming with the ol' X-Acto blade..
 

eclypse

2[H]4U
Joined
Dec 7, 2003
Messages
3,264
Yeah I guess I might return that cooler back to Amazon. Or just trim the pad so only the controller is touching.. be tuff since it's a dual sided cooler.
 

SixFootDuo

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Oct 5, 2004
Messages
5,697
Ummm, yeah SSD heatsinks raise temps, not lower them. This is with the past 3 motherboards I've owned across a few M.2 ssd's. My experience that is.

Used an after market cooler and then the 2 that came with my Asus Hero boards. If you guys didn't know, the high end Asus boards ship with SSD coolers now, and have for the past few years.

Also, this new Phison E12 controller uses a new .28 micron process which is ( and I think I've read this ) is industry leading? So it runs cooler than past SSD's ...

The operating temps for these SSD is pretty high. So there shouldn't be anything to really be worried about unless you're just trying to pretty up your SSDs.

Are some of you guys suggesting that you're taking performance hits because of thermal throttling?

Also, this is an option if you want to put additional air flow directly across your SSD's.

https://www.ebay.com/itm/Thermal-Se...m466dd9e712:g:FYsAAOxy9X5TW63R&frcectupt=true

$12.99 shipped free.

If you have deep pockets, and I've used a few of these, there are also those InWin Mars 120mm's

https://www.amazon.com/InWin-Mars-B...MD1XAN9Y92X&psc=1&refRID=GVS8KNB5PMD1XAN9Y92X

Lot of you will not even know these were on the market. They are pricey at $50+ each.

Here is a video.

 

Attachments

Xerack

Gawd
Joined
Jan 24, 2006
Messages
640
Mine is on its way! The great thing is it's coming by FedEx SmartPost, that way you know it gets a chance to be handled by every human on the planet only adding 3-4 days shipping time.o_O
LOL - yeah, I guess I should have chosen a faster shipping method as well....ordered mine last friday...it's scheduled to arrive next thursday. (via same method)
 

equinox654

Limp Gawd
Joined
Apr 7, 2005
Messages
324
I picked mine up this past sunday at microcenter to put into my new Razer blade 15. None of the guys in the component area were wise to it. Guy in front of me in line got a 660p drive. I showed him the inland one on my phone and he scoffed lol.
 

SixFootDuo

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Oct 5, 2004
Messages
5,697
I picked mine up this past sunday at microcenter to put into my new Razer blade 15. None of the guys in the component area were wise to it. Guy in front of me in line got a 660p drive. I showed him the inland one on my phone and he scoffed lol.
Lot of guys do this. Even here on these forums that have read this very forum thread. They are so blind to branding, they will literally lose money, time and performance out of ignorance.
 

tangoseal

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Dec 18, 2010
Messages
8,840
Here is my 960 Pro 512GB with approx 156 GB of data on it currently.

upload_2019-3-19_22-7-59.png


This is the Inland Professional 1TB from Microcenter with no data on it.

upload_2019-3-19_22-11-4.png


This is the Inland Professional 1TB from Microcenter with 156 GB Dummy File that I created to see how the fast the controller/nand is with the same amount of data as the 960 pro.
upload_2019-3-19_22-22-36.png


Samsung 960 Pro Input Output Operations
upload_2019-3-19_22-24-45.png


Inland Pro 1tb IOPS
upload_2019-3-19_22-26-16.png
 

SixFootDuo

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Oct 5, 2004
Messages
5,697
Here is my 960 Pro 512GB with approx 156 GB of data on it currently.

View attachment 149377

This is the Inland Professional 1TB from Microcenter with no data on it.

View attachment 149380

This is the Inland Professional 1TB from Microcenter with 156 GB Dummy File that I created to see how the fast the controller/nand is with the same amount of data as the 960 pro.
View attachment 149386

Samsung 960 Pro Input Output Operations
View attachment 149387

Inland Pro 1tb IOPS
View attachment 149390
You can actually fill up the Inland to 87% maybe more and the read / write speed will not degrade according to one of the reviews I read.
 

Kajun614

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 7, 2016
Messages
157
Ok, have the 1TB in my hand for my work pc. The fun of having work pay for a pc upgrade. then I can see how I like it for future home use.
 

caw2007

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jan 8, 2008
Messages
1,872
STL store just got a bunch, I grabbed two for fun! I almost grabbed two 512GB last week. I'm glad I waited.
 

Tricyclthief

Limp Gawd
Joined
Aug 12, 2011
Messages
309
Apparently Microcenter doesn't want my money :(

  1. Unable to verify billing address.
I had the same issue, if you have an apartment # in your address remove that from the billing address and leave it in the shipping. Mine went through fine after that.
 

crazycuz20

Limp Gawd
Joined
Oct 3, 2017
Messages
166
Ugh I have to stop logging into this forum, just reserved 4 of them and ordered the Asus Hyper M.2 to go with the $88 open box Strix X399 I got yesterday. That replaced my Zenith Extreme that fried, but I bought the 2 year replacement plan so they gave me a store credit for it. Not bad a trade, spend an extra $200, get 4TB's of super high speed storage and a slightly inferior board. Instead of a measly 3 NVME, I'm upgrading to 4.5 (.5 being the stupid vertical slot) and a little less RGB. I kept all the accessories so that 10G NIC card will fit nicely into the new FreeNAS/VM build. Living 5 minutes from MC is a blessing and a curse.
 

NickJames

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Apr 28, 2009
Messages
6,675
I had the same issue, if you have an apartment # in your address remove that from the billing address and leave it in the shipping. Mine went through fine after that.
Nope just an address, I live in a home. Literally tried 3 different version of it including the verified. Same address (I had saved) I have used to purchase from MC before so they must've changed point of sale systems and now it's throwing this stupid error for no reason.
 

tangoseal

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Dec 18, 2010
Messages
8,840
Nope just an address, I live in a home. Literally tried 3 different version of it including the verified. Same address (I had saved) I have used to purchase from MC before so they must've changed point of sale systems and now it's throwing this stupid error for no reason.
Just call them and place your order old school. No one thinks about this stuff anymore.
 

DogsofJune

2[H]4U
Joined
Nov 7, 2008
Messages
3,780
Wonder if Inland will ever produce a 2 TB part based on the Phison E12?
I was actually just thinking that. I'm sure eventually we may see something like that. Though for mass storage, I'll probably stick to regular HD's. But, I wouldn't mind seeing other options.
 

Jim Kim

2[H]4U
Joined
May 24, 2012
Messages
3,747
/beginrant
I live in Tx. The ssd left a Mesquite TX warehouse in a fedex truck 2 days ago and crossed the street into beautiful Dallas TX where it is now;
Status
Pre-Shipment
March 20, 2019
Pre-Shipment Info Sent to USPS, USPS Awaiting Item
/endrant
fml
:D
 

eclypse

2[H]4U
Joined
Dec 7, 2003
Messages
3,264
I just went today to return my new 979 evo that I bought at the time i bought my upgrade as they didnt have that bad ass drive in stock at the moment.

Here on the recipet showed I didnt pay for the Samsung 970 evo. The guy tried to keep saying the women didnt ring me up for it.. and hes gona keep it.

I'm like no. I might of bought it on newegg or Amazon so I think I'll take it home and check. ;)


Seriously.. it's not my fault the women was too busy trying to sell me on the warranties for the 9900k cpu, evga 2080ti ftw3 ultra GPU and asus maximus z390 formula mb to miss scanning the 970 1t drive.


Free drive.. I got the inland 1t drive from there web site as well.. hope I can use both drives!
 

SixFootDuo

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Oct 5, 2004
Messages
5,697
Ugh I have to stop logging into this forum, just reserved 4 of them and ordered the Asus Hyper M.2 to go with the $88 open box Strix X399 I got yesterday. That replaced my Zenith Extreme that fried, but I bought the 2 year replacement plan so they gave me a store credit for it. Not bad a trade, spend an extra $200, get 4TB's of super high speed storage and a slightly inferior board. Instead of a measly 3 NVME, I'm upgrading to 4.5 (.5 being the stupid vertical slot) and a little less RGB. I kept all the accessories so that 10G NIC card will fit nicely into the new FreeNAS/VM build. Living 5 minutes from MC is a blessing and a curse.
Would you please take pictures for us of all the drives, the Asus card and benches? Many of us are very interested in this. You should see 10k to 12K reads and writes. Also, some load times, etc
 

equinox654

Limp Gawd
Joined
Apr 7, 2005
Messages
324
/beginrant
I live in Tx. The ssd left a Mesquite TX warehouse in a fedex truck 2 days ago and crossed the street into beautiful Dallas TX where it is now;
Status
Pre-Shipment
March 20, 2019
Pre-Shipment Info Sent to USPS, USPS Awaiting Item
/endrant
fml
:D
I live in the dfw. There is nothing beautiful about Dallas. All the roads are shitty and they have those concrete dividers everywhere. Every time I drive through that place I wish for the aliens to come vaporize 1/2 the people on the road.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top