HOT ! Various 1TB NVMe with coveted E12 Controller $135 aprox retail

Status
Not open for further replies.

ClockerXP

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 6, 2005
Messages
424
Huh, guess Ive been out of the loop, didn't know there were cases designed to use riser's/pcie extensions to keep the weight of the card balanced vertically in a tower. Neat.
It's flexible---you can set it up that way or the regular way. Works great for using a card vertically by getting it far enough from the glass to not restrict the air flow.
 

Revenant_Knight

Limp Gawd
Joined
Nov 18, 2011
Messages
390
In case you don’t live close to a Microcenter, there are several vendors putting out Phison E12 based SSDs. I have 2 Sabrent Rockets. One is 1TB, and the other is 2TB. $109 and $250 on amazon respectively. They’re both faster than my Samsung 950 Pro.

Corsair was also selling an E12 based drive for about the same price.
 

/dev/null

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Mar 31, 2001
Messages
14,847
This thread is now 32 pages long :). Anyone tried the 1TB pci-e 4.0 x4 drive for $179? I'm thinking of using this for my new linux build.
 
Last edited:

arnemetis

2[H]4U
Joined
Aug 2, 2004
Messages
2,942
This thread is now 32 pages long :). Anyone tried the 1TB pci-e 4.0 x4 drive for $189? I'm thinking of using this for my new linux build.
I'm curious what use case you have for that kind of ridiculous speed? I can't make use of my lowly pcie 3.0 drives outside of transferring files to each other over my 10gbit fiber link, in every other way a regular sata ssd was just as fast in Windows & games. Not trying to discourage you, I am genuinely curious!
 

/dev/null

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Mar 31, 2001
Messages
14,847
I'm curious what use case you have for that kind of ridiculous speed? I can't make use of my lowly pcie 3.0 drives outside of transferring files to each other over my 10gbit fiber link, in every other way a regular sata ssd was just as fast in Windows & games. Not trying to discourage you, I am genuinely curious!
I only upgrade every few years, so I try to get whatever is current because I'm stuck with it for a while. My linux systems rarely if ever get reinstalled, so I just don't want to regret my choice later.

I could probably get by with a ryzen 5 3600 or even maybe a 1700x as well, and only 16G ram, but again I don't want to touch this box for a few years...
 

alaricljs

Limp Gawd
Joined
Apr 6, 2011
Messages
300
... My linux systems rarely if ever get reinstalled ...
Reinstall? I've lost track of how many different disks my main rig install has resided on... My server is on it's 4th mirrored pair of SSDs.

Linux is too easy to move for that to be the reason you don't upgrade your storage.
 

/dev/null

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Mar 31, 2001
Messages
14,847
Reinstall? I've lost track of how many different disks my main rig install has resided on... My server is on it's 4th mirrored pair of SSDs.

Linux is too easy to move for that to be the reason you don't upgrade your storage.
It's lack of time, not difficulty. I only do if absolutely necessary.
 

123Lanoix

2[H]4U
Joined
Nov 13, 2005
Messages
3,935
Can anyone post any benchmarks of the 2TB nvme version ? I bought 2 of the 1 TB version and they have been great !
 

Forge

n00b
Joined
Mar 3, 2010
Messages
19
It's flexible---you can set it up that way or the regular way. Works great for using a card vertically by getting it far enough from the glass to not restrict the air flow.
I went this route when I went water this last spring. I love it. Back on topic, I'll be picking up two of these later today, to replace two 512GBs in my gaming laptop. Games keep getting bigger, need more GBs.
2019-02-11 21.13.33.jpg 2019-02-11 23.40.00.jpg
 

Nenu

[H]ardened
Joined
Apr 28, 2007
Messages
19,331
Imperceptible amounts. Electricity moves at roughly 280,000,000 meters per second. So this extra 6 inches is really gonna matter.
Close.

Electricity moves around 1mm per second.
An electrical signal travels around 270,000,000 meters per second.
The extra 6 inches "isn't" really gonna matter.
 

KATEKATEKATE

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 20, 2019
Messages
354
I picked up the 512GB and 256GB versions of these for a system disk and a scratch disk respectively. Finally decided its time to give the Samsung 840 I've been using across I don't know how many builds a break lol (its a game disk now)

i wasn't sure if I'd notice any difference, and for the most part I don't, but Metro Exodus and Far Cry 5 (only games I put on the NVMe, the rest can make do w/SATA) FINALLY stopped stuttering, so at least there's that!

When price drops on the 2TB version I'm gonna pick up one or two for storing video I shoot, and on that day I will give thanks to the harmonics goddesses for the end of nearly two decades of 7200rpm disks making my whole desk hum at 120hz :LOL: hhhmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm
 

ClockerXP

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 6, 2005
Messages
424
Close.

Electricity moves around 1mm per second.
An electrical signal travels around 270,000,000 meters per second.
The extra 6 inches "isn't" really gonna matter.
Whoa... Glad mine is only 3.9" long (10cm). :) lol
 

xx0xx

Gawd
Joined
Oct 20, 2005
Messages
657
Which god do I need to pray to, to get NVME enclosures to come down in price? I see a Sabrent on sale on Amazon for about $38 that I'm considering, but ouch, that costs more than the 256GB drive I want to put in it lol
 

TheSlySyl

Gawd
Joined
May 30, 2018
Messages
528
There's a good chance this was software and not hardware, but last night when trying to load MH world from this drive my entire system hard crashed and rebooted, with the end result involving me having to re-verify the MH World files and redownload corrupt files.

It could be a primocache hiccup, as that's the cacheing software I use which introduces far more variables (such as a ram drive) but it's the first issue i've had with anything loading off this drive since I installed it so I figured it might be worth a mention. All SMART settings look perfect so I'm not sure what happened.
 

Bankie

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jul 27, 2004
Messages
1,707
Huh, guess Ive been out of the loop, didn't know there were cases designed to use riser's/pcie extensions to keep the weight of the card balanced vertically in a tower. Neat.
I have a 8-ish year old Cooler Master CM690 II case that has a vertical slot or two.
 

tempertantrum

Limp Gawd
Joined
Apr 19, 2009
Messages
394
Reinstall? I've lost track of how many different disks my main rig install has resided on... My server is on it's 4th mirrored pair of SSDs.

Linux is too easy to move for that to be the reason you don't upgrade your storage.
I only upgrade every few years, so I try to get whatever is current because I'm stuck with it for a while. My linux systems rarely if ever get reinstalled, so I just don't want to regret my choice later.

I could probably get by with a ryzen 5 3600 or even maybe a 1700x as well, and only 16G ram, but again I don't want to touch this box for a few years...

FYI, you can't use PCIe 4.0 with non-Ryzen 2 CPUs. A 1700X would only get you PCIe 3.0 speeds. If you're going to do this, go with the 3600.
 

RogueTrip

2[H]4U
Joined
Feb 22, 2003
Messages
2,802
Just got my overpriced 1tb inland from amazon.

Crystal disk info shows firmware ECFM22.4.

Does that mean it is running 12.3? The tool listed from a few pages shows firmware commit fail.

My speeds seem a little slow in my laptop but I did just clone windows onto it and running from the inland drive now.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top