HOT ! Various 1TB NVMe with coveted E12 Controller $135 aprox retail

Status
Not open for further replies.

cambrian

Gawd
Joined
Aug 5, 2004
Messages
627
Not that much faster than my 970 evo. You can get the 970 plus 1tb right now for $248. So in context of $100 cheaper with similar performance and longevity, I'd say this is a deal.

JBcnt84.png
 

SixFootDuo

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Oct 5, 2004
Messages
5,697
Not that much faster than my 970 evo. You can get the 970 plus 1tb right now for $248. So in context of $100 cheaper with similar performance and longevity, I'd say this is a deal.

View attachment 147092
My Asus Hero has 2 M.2 ports I get better numbers in one port vs the other, not sure why. And they are both set to 4x data rate.

My numbers are actually better than my Samsung 970 Pro in 50% of the speed test. Your Inland numbers are VERY close to Pro speeds
 

ReTiCuLeX

Gawd
Joined
Oct 31, 2002
Messages
873
My Asus Hero has 2 M.2 ports I get better numbers in one port vs the other, not sure why. And they are both set to 4x data rate.

My numbers are actually better than my Samsung 970 Pro in 50% of the speed test. Your Inland numbers are VERY close to Pro speeds
Which chipset driver and NVme driver are you using if I may ask?
 

SixFootDuo

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Oct 5, 2004
Messages
5,697
I'm using Windows 10 default NVMe driver .... but I have been looking for one more specific to the new Phison controller, maybe there is one out there. I'm kinda halfass looking.

Using the newest release that I am aware of on the chip driver off Asus.com specific to my motherboard.

Is there a better NVMe driver I should be using?
 

OFaceSIG

2[H]4U
Joined
Aug 31, 2009
Messages
2,437
Unless MyDigitalSSD buys their PCBs from someone else this is a rebraned MyDigitalSSD BPX Pro. Same PCB, same controller. As others have stated, this is not a microcenter engineered product. All reviews I've read of the Mydigital BPX Pro have been phenomenal.
 

odditory

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
6,452
Unless MyDigitalSSD buys their PCBs from someone else this is a rebraned MyDigitalSSD BPX Pro. Same PCB, same controller. As others have stated, this is not a microcenter engineered product. All reviews I've read of the Mydigital BPX Pro have been phenomenal.
Yeah, I noticed this Inland drive is recognized by MyDigital's firmware updater (but it doesn't need a firmware update since it ships with 12.1, and updater is also 12.1, so "Reinitialize" is only option in dropdown).

Only difference seems to be HWID string, and I *think* there's a discrepancy in firmware-programmed formatted capacity: Inland drive = 1024GB, Digital = 960GB (7% overprovision which is good) but I'd need an actual MyDigital drive to compare.
 
Last edited:

DeeFrag

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jan 14, 2005
Messages
6,364
The link in the OP keeps taking me to the Inland Professional product and not the Inland Premium item. Is it the same thing?
 

westrock2000

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jun 3, 2005
Messages
9,201
My only suggestion is that if you live near a Microcenter I would *strongly* suggest buying the Inland SSD's in store instead of on Amazon.

Inland is one of Microcenter's store brand. Like Insignia for Best Buy.

It's not much of a surprise, but you can't return an Inland product to Microcenter if you buy it from Amazon. And Inland will make you pay shipping costs for warranty claims.

I have several Inland SSD's in our household and the only one that has had a problem was one I bought from Amazon because I didn't want to drive across town to Microcenter. Luckily I was able to do a free exchange through Amazon (the replacement drive has worked fine).
 

SixFootDuo

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Oct 5, 2004
Messages
5,697
Unless MyDigitalSSD buys their PCBs from someone else this is a rebraned MyDigitalSSD BPX Pro. Same PCB, same controller. As others have stated, this is not a microcenter engineered product. All reviews I've read of the Mydigital BPX Pro have been phenomenal.
The Inland is just a rebranded OEM, so is the Mydigital. The Mydigital is OEM as well. It's cheaper for companies to just get them in on bulk from someone else and then brand, package these drives.

The Mydigital is a 960GB drive btw, not 1TB, but, same Phison controller. I saw 4 different branded SSD's, same controller, but same exact PCB during my research 10 or so days ago. Same chips, layout but different branding and firmware / bios provising ( I think ) I'm fairly certain it's just one company putting a majority of these out, possibly two. I don't think there are 20 different companies all designing and manufacturing individual SSD's using this new Phison E12 controller.

Kinda how nVidia provides their boards to other companies who then brand and package them, etc.

Also, the Mydigital firmware tool is a rebranded Phison tool. That's why the Inland drive shows up. It's based off the controller, not the branding.

I also contacted Phison to ask them about their firmware tool, firmware efforts and having the ability to upgrade my Inland 1TB NVMe Premium drive. I haven't heard anything back yet.
 
Last edited:

SixFootDuo

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Oct 5, 2004
Messages
5,697
Here are my newest numbers.

It's def right there with the 970 pro, with some of the speeds besting the 970. I think both drives probably average out to be about the same performance.

Pretty damn sweet for $144 dollars

Untitled.jpg
 

SixFootDuo

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Oct 5, 2004
Messages
5,697
860312 is the sku, so yes. Thit is the same thing.
Yeah, sorry about that. I think I did mention the packaging had errors but I should have been a bit more specific as to what those errors were exactly.

The write speed is wrong but the world "premium" is there. There might be a few other things. Well, the read speed is wrong as well now that I took a 2nd look at the packaging.

This product has only been out a handful of weeks with very limited stock. I'm guessing that's why there are errors on this obviously first version of the products blister pack packaging.

I might reach out to Inland and give them the updated numbers and ask if they can comment on who makes this drive, or, any other information that I could share with the community. I think most of these companies however, just don't do that.

Also, if anyone of us had 30k, 40K, something substantial, maybe even just 20K, we could order these drives from Taiwan, the factory making these and place an order and then provide our own branding and packaging, web site and start selling them. How cool would that be.

I often wonder why Kyle doesn't license HardOCP for some of these products. I know at one time he had a mouse pad.
 

OFaceSIG

2[H]4U
Joined
Aug 31, 2009
Messages
2,437
The Inland is just a rebranded OEM, so is the Mydigital. The Mydigital is OEM as well. It's cheaper for companies to just get them in on bulk from someone else and then brand, package these drives.

The Mydigital is a 960GB drive btw, not 1TB, but, same Phison controller. I saw 4 different branded SSD's, same controller, but same exact PCB during my research 10 or so days ago. Same chips, layout but different branding and firmware / bios provising ( I think ) I'm fairly certain it's just one company putting a majority of these out, possibly two. I don't think there are 20 different companies all designing and manufacturing individual SSD's using this new Phison E12 controller.
Off hand any specific drives you remember that had the same PCB? I'd like to know for my own curiosities and future comparisons.
 

SixFootDuo

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Oct 5, 2004
Messages
5,697
Off hand any specific drives you remember that had the same PCB? I'd like to know for my own curiosities and future comparisons.
You can just do a search for the "Phison E12 Controller" and start searching thru those links and then click thru when you can to the 'usually' linked products. That's all I did. I think I found about 6 different SSD's and 2 or 3 of those are identical.

Anandtech has an article where they say 20 or so of these SSD's are hitting the market in late 2018 and early 2019, I think. A handful have just recently shipped out and in fact the picture that anandtech uses for their article is the same as the Inland 1TB NVMe SSD Premium, and others as well.

Here is that link:

https://www.anandtech.com/show/13338/phison-ps5012e12-controller-in-mass-production
 

odditory

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
6,452
Last edited:

odditory

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
6,452
This particular test made my decision to buy, because I put a lot of weight in a drive's sequential write performance - it not only fits my usage patterns, but it's also more of a true test of the speed of the NAND. So many benches are really just expressing the speed of the onboard DRAM, pseudo-SLC cache, which together with firmware tricks will mask slow NAND to a point; especially true with QLC drives.

And it beats a 970 Pro here.

Screenshot_2019-03-08-12-47-11~2.png
 
Last edited:

SixFootDuo

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Oct 5, 2004
Messages
5,697
This particular test made my decision to buy, because I put a lot of weight in a drive's sequential write performance - it not only fits my usage patterns, but it's also more of a true test of the speed of the NAND. So many benches are really just expressing the speed of the pseudo-SLC cache, which together with firmware tricks will mask slow NAND to a point; especially true with QLC drives.

And it beats a 970 Pro here.

I actually own a 512GB 970 Pro ... I can confirm thru my own testing that this Inland 1TB NVMe Premium SSD beats the 970 Pro is 50% of the CrystalDiskMark speed tests.

View attachment 147623
 

OFaceSIG

2[H]4U
Joined
Aug 31, 2009
Messages
2,437
Sure enough. The image in that article is a match for the mydigital. Interesting to see "reference" SSDs in the wild. You learn something everyday!
 

SixFootDuo

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Oct 5, 2004
Messages
5,697
WOW ............. That is a smoking deal, $75 for 512GB? 970 Pro performance? Jesus ..............

I honestly have trouble using my 1TB NVMe in that I have a ton of productivity apps on here and I'm still at under 20% ... and I have a ton of stuff.

All my games go to secondary SSD's, I have a few 1TB SSD's I throw games on to.

So there is a lot of room.

512GB still seems like the perfect size for a boot drive.

This is seriously going to fuck up Samsung if these drives start flooding the market at this price point especially with this level of performance.

Just ... WOW ......
 
Last edited:

DogsofJune

2[H]4U
Joined
Nov 7, 2008
Messages
3,781
I'll have to keep my eye out for the 512's as well. Decent for OS drives and cheaper than the WD Blacks.
 

odditory

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
6,452
Not sure how this compares but since this is sold out everywhere I found this. $95 for another brand, Figured I would post, not sure if it is comparable or not.

https://slickdeals.net/f/12917398-i...romo-through-google-express-app?src=frontpage
It doesn't compare. QLC drives already suck, and that Intel is one of the worst QLCs. Get it full enough and writes are slower than a magnetic HDD (100MB/s). Slickdeals dummies won't notice the diff but here people should want better.
 
Last edited:

SixFootDuo

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Oct 5, 2004
Messages
5,697
I would recommend the 512GB version of this drive for $75 ... most guy are not gonna cram it full to the gills with data so it is plenty of room.
 

SixFootDuo

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Oct 5, 2004
Messages
5,697
Changed ports on my motherboard ... I guess, I really don't know.

But I do run a very highly customized LITE versions of Windows 10 that's been decrapafied. I have 70% less processes running and BS installed than most. Almost nothing in my startup. Could be the 5Ggz 9900K or the 32GB of 3200mhz DDR4 @ 15-17-17-32 ... I really don't know.

Probably a combination of a few different things.

But these numbers are good regardless of what you guys are doing, there great in fact.

Post your numbers. Also, my 2nd posting of my numbers are really not that much different than the first ones I posted.
 

DogsofJune

2[H]4U
Joined
Nov 7, 2008
Messages
3,781
Anyone want to hooka brother up and pick me up one from MC? :)
I can sell you the one I have pictured in this thread. It's still in the package. It'll be shipping from 67526. Make an offer


And, it comes with a receipt....
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top