Hot: Inland 1TB NVMe Premium $109 w/ tax @ Microcenter

Discussion in '[H]ot|DEALS' started by SixFootDuo, Mar 6, 2019.

  1. Zarathustra[H]

    Zarathustra[H] Official Forum Curmudgeon

    Messages:
    28,650
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2000
    Yeah, I plan on getting two, not for RAID I've always considered BIOS/Chipset software RAID to be marginal, and RAID0 to be way to risky. Besides, when you stripe them you get much better sequential speeds, but access times, latencies, etc. actually seem to go down, so it may even slow things down, rather than speed things up.

    I just want more than 1TB of space. I wish there were a 2TB version of this drive. I'd buy that. It would be better, saving me some PCIe lanes.
     
  2. tangoseal

    tangoseal [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,722
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    I returned my extra 1tb today.

    Waiting to build a 12 core zen 2 and get an e16 based drive instead.
     
  3. Hawk Hardcase

    Hawk Hardcase n00b

    Messages:
    45
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2019
    Sabrent Rocket 2 TB is just $260 up on Amazon.

    https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07MTQTNVR/

    Pretty sure it's the same Phison E12 powered, TLC Toshiba NAND as the others, especially according to the GoogleDocs spreadsheet that Maxx posted last page.
     
    Zarathustra[H] likes this.
  4. IdiotInCharge

    IdiotInCharge [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    12,063
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Mirror all the things. This stuff is cheap.
     
    tempertantrum and geok1ng like this.
  5. YeuEmMaiMai

    YeuEmMaiMai [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    15,382
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2004
    Got one installed in this PC, waiting for other one to show up...then that will make 2 installed in PC... I also have a PCIE card that can handle 4 more...
     
    MixManSC likes this.
  6. Skarth

    Skarth Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    487
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Upgraded from a Samsung 850 Pro 1TB Sata drive to this, here is a quick benchmark comparison. Both tests are done with them as the OS drive.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. YeuEmMaiMai

    YeuEmMaiMai [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    15,382
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2004
    here are the scores for the inland drive

    upload_2019-5-30_19-23-41.png

    Win 10
    Gigabyte gaming M with Intel Z390
    32GB ram
    i5 9400F
    Radeon RX580X
     
    MixManSC likes this.
  8. tangoseal

    tangoseal [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,722
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Ypur 32 queue 4k tests should be way in the 500's. Probably your CPU holding you back or something.
     
  9. Jedi

    Jedi [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,548
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2005
    This is a great drive I have it in my MacBook pro, but it is a battery / energy hog compared to the stock apple nvme drive, but the space and performance makes me overlook the battery shortcomings.
     
  10. Insomniator

    Insomniator Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    180
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2010
    I really don't need it but I reserved one anyway, not sure I'll even go get it. 50/50 afraid that NAND prices will explode back up right when I actually do need more space.
     
    jmilcher likes this.
  11. workshop35

    workshop35 Gawd

    Messages:
    579
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2013
    prices are supposed to continue the downward trend

    https://www.digitimes.com/news/a20190529PD209.html

    *edit* link requires login, lame
     
  12. UnknownSouljer

    UnknownSouljer [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,015
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2001
    Wish there was a $200 2TB. Or even a 4TB $400.
     
    LightsOut41, DF-1, darknite39 and 2 others like this.
  13. Hulk

    Hulk [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,906
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    From everything that I've read it's not worth it to raid these drives in RAID0 because the CPU becomes the bottleneck yet people keep doing it, what's the point? In other words what kind of real life differences are you getting between running RAID0 and non raid? Is it like 5% or 100% faster? Now that the price is under $100 (it was just a matter of time) I'm thinking of picking one of these up to put in my laptop that came with a 256GB NVMe drive but not sure how to go about it. Do I just clone the stock 256GB NVMe drive to any external drive and after installing the new drive into the laptop copy the OS and everything else from the external HDD to it?
     
    lostin3d likes this.
  14. alaricljs

    alaricljs Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    277
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    While that may work, typically if you have to do it in 2 steps you save the clone to a file on an external drive, swap the boot drive out, and write it in from the file. In this way of there is any sort of image translation like block size being done, it's only being done once and may not happen at all if the original and boot drive are similar.
     
    Hulk and IdiotInCharge like this.
  15. lostin3d

    lostin3d [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    2,038
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2016
    I wondered about that. WIth SATA III on both my rigs, and an early gen m.2 laptop, I still see worthwhile improvements for RAID0 & SSD's. Usually going form 160MB/s to 300+, but I theorized that it would become an issue with much higher speeds in the 1500MB/s or higher range. Seemed reasonable that between CPU & RAM speeds, plus varying MOBO chipsets, that sooner or later there would be a bottleneck type issue.
     
    Hulk likes this.
  16. IdiotInCharge

    IdiotInCharge [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    12,063
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Clonezilla is your friend!
     
  17. IdiotInCharge

    IdiotInCharge [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    12,063
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Even with M.2 NVMe going straight to the CPU, there can be bottlenecks.

    Fun part is that most of those bottlenecks are software. This is why there is no practical difference in usability between modern NVMe and SATA III SSDs on the desktop. The higher transfer rates are pretty meanlingless in daily use.
     
    lostin3d, Hulk and arnemetis like this.
  18. kidstechno3

    kidstechno3 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    173
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2016
    I'm trying to make sense if I could buy 2 of these and put them in RAID 0 on my current motherboard. Is this true? Would both go into the actual PCIE 3.0 slots standing up or the slide in slots?
    https://www.msi.com/Motherboard/Z370-GAMING-PRO-CARBON-AC/Specification

    Intel® Z370 Chipset
    • 6 x SATA 6Gb/s ports1
    • 2 x M.2 slots (Key M)
      • Support up to PCIe 3.0 x4 and SATA 6Gb/s
      • Support PCIe 3.0 x4 NVMe U.2 SSD with Turbo U.2 Host Card2
      • M2_1 slot supports 2242/ 2260 /2280/ 22110 storage devices
      • M2_2 slot supports 2242/ 2260 /2280 storage devices
      • Intel® Optane™ Memory Ready for all M.2 slots3
    1. M.2 and SATA ports maximum support 1x M.2 PCIe SSD + 1x M.2 SATA SSD + 5x SATA HDDs.
    2. The Turbo U.2 Host Card is not included, please purchase separately.
    3. Before using Intel® Optane™ memory modules, please ensure that you have updated the drivers and BIOS to the latest version from MSI website.
     
  19. arnemetis

    arnemetis 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,707
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    They would go in the m2 slots laying down on the motherboard. I'm genuinely curious what application you have for raiding these? I see no benefit with my Samsung 970 evo nvme over my old 850 evo sata ssd, outside of benchmarks and file transfers over 10gbit fiber. I really want to know what amazing things people are doing where a single nvme isn't enough speed!
     
    lostin3d and Jim Kim like this.
  20. YeuEmMaiMai

    YeuEmMaiMai [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    15,382
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2004
    Boot times on my new PC are about half of what it was with the crucial SSD...nearly 6x the read performance...
     
  21. YeuEmMaiMai

    YeuEmMaiMai [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    15,382
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2004
    i will run the test again once i verify that the board and the drive are most current firmware
     
  22. CruisD64

    CruisD64 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,103
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    It makes me lol how many times the title of this thread has changed due to this thing getting cheaper and cheaper. :)
     
    MixManSC, Hulk, eclypse and 2 others like this.
  23. tangoseal

    tangoseal [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,722
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    This thread is very much alive
     
    eclypse likes this.
  24. tangoseal

    tangoseal [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,722
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Maybe 400 at least is a realistic number
     
  25. tempertantrum

    tempertantrum Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    337
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Sigh... I've not purchased four... I hate you MC. (PS, I was able to get the price guarantee adjustment on the first two I'd gotten for $120 down to the $100 price, but I had to go there in person to get it. You might be able to get corporate headquarters to send an email to the store oking that, but it's not something the store will normally do over the phone. They were doing it, for me, but it took over a half hour, and then the line got cut off. :-/ )
     
  26. dvsman

    dvsman 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,837
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Man, if they come out with a newer version with the latest controller for close to the same price, I'll definitely be in for 2 for my next rig. When does the next Ryzen come out again? :-D
     
  27. antok86

    antok86 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    8,090
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2006
    All my rigs getting an additional 1tb for games lol
     
    mikeo likes this.
  28. YeuEmMaiMai

    YeuEmMaiMai [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    15,382
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2004
    well installed the inland drive yesterday and today the PC will no longer boot from it. back to Microcenter it goes... when I ran windows setup it errored out stating that it could not install windows there... even after deleting and repartitioning the drive

    edit: got windows to install again by disabling the SATA controller...we will see if it still works when I re-enable the controller
     
    Last edited: Jun 1, 2019
  29. YeuEmMaiMai

    YeuEmMaiMai [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    15,382
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2004
    disabling the controller did the trick, everything is installed and running properly
     
  30. InfeKtioN

    InfeKtioN [H]Lite

    Messages:
    118
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Does the SATA controller have to stay disabled ? Which board ?

    Thanks
     
  31. YeuEmMaiMai

    YeuEmMaiMai [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    15,382
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2004
    once I got Winblows 10 installed, I was able to turn the SATA controller on and the system booted. Evidently this is a common problem with Windows setup and having >2TB drive active during install and you are not putting the OS on it

    Board is a Gigabyte mATX gaming M board with ye ol' Intel Z390 on it
     
    MixManSC likes this.
  32. InfeKtioN

    InfeKtioN [H]Lite

    Messages:
    118
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Nice ... Thanks

    Waiting on mine :D
     
  33. YeuEmMaiMai

    YeuEmMaiMai [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    15,382
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2004
    boot time from power button press to windows login is 4 seconds. I have ultra fast boot enabled... this Inland drive is wicked fast
     
    MixManSC likes this.
  34. lightsout

    lightsout Gawd

    Messages:
    1,014
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2014
    I swear I looked the other day and these were available to be shipped. Am I crazy or does that option come and go?
     
    eclypse likes this.
  35. erek

    erek 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,940
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2005
    what settings did you use to enable ultra fast boot
     
  36. Jim Kim

    Jim Kim 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,547
    Joined:
    May 24, 2012
    Those vary from bios to bios.
     
  37. MixManSC

    MixManSC ║▌║█║▌│║▌║▌█ Staff Member

    Messages:
    6,934
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2004
    Seems to come and go regarding being able to order them online and have them shipped.... I ordered two that way.
     
    Jim Kim likes this.
  38. YeuEmMaiMai

    YeuEmMaiMai [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    15,382
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2004
    ultra fast boot settings is in setup under bios tab on my board
     
  39. Gorilla

    Gorilla [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,125
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    They hit the front page of slickdeals.net today which probably wiped out their web inventory.
     
    jmilcher likes this.
  40. YeuEmMaiMai

    YeuEmMaiMai [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    15,382
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2004
    store only pickup now