Hot! - Inland 1TB NVMe Premium $107.99 Microcenter

Discussion in '[H]ot|DEALS' started by SixFootDuo, Mar 6, 2019.

  1. groebuck

    groebuck 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,458
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2000
    And temps before the upgrade - my ssd would hit 78 and throttle - (the fun lil alarm in CDinfo) - now - it does not seem to go above 55 C and gets slightly better throuput on the writes.
    upload_2019-3-26_9-48-31.png
     
  2. groebuck

    groebuck 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,458
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2000
    Just for reference - before i updated this was my second NVME drive's results when hitting high temps and throttling.
    203228_upload_2019-3-25_13-41-32.png
     
  3. nightanole

    nightanole [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    2,016
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2003
    Can someone school me?

    https://www.asrock.com/MB/AMD/X470 Taichi/index.asp

    1 Ultra M.2 (PCIe Gen3 x4 & SATA3), 1 M.2 (PCIe Gen2 x4)

    So can run these in raid 0 at full speed since gen2 4x is still 20GBs? i only "need" 1 sata slot for my hot swap bay, and i have 1 gtx 1070.
     
  4. Hulk

    Hulk [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,894
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    This NVMe is running way too hot, I think I'll just get the SSD version instead. Plus the only place on my MB to install it would be right under my GPU using the PCI. Everything from what I've read says that you will hardly notice a difference between an SSD and NVMe unless you are copying huge amounts of data. I can place the SSD right in front of my giant intake fan in the front of my computer to cool it. Current Samsung 7200 HDDs are at 29 and 31 Celsius.
     
  5. Damn Dirty Ape

    Damn Dirty Ape [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,825
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    So I picked up one of these the other day, a note or teo and a question or two.

    1. Sais it has firmware 12.2 , from what I see this is the latest.
    2. Finding it is not showing up in the m.2 section of the asus zz370-i strix motherboard., BUT it still works and I can install windows 10 on it no problem.

    Observations:

    1. faster than my 960 evo but a good bit.
    2. Showing right at 70c during crystal disk mark test. (too hot)? It was idling about 59c CDM shows temp in red but says 'good' on the header with that temp.
     
  6. groebuck

    groebuck 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,458
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2000
    NVME and AMD is funky - to get raid NVME on my x399 you have to go deep in the bios and turn it on in some obtuse setting.
     
  7. cybrnook

    cybrnook [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,522
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2013
    Not really, I am running 4 x on an AsRock NVME expansion card (I like it better then the MSI bundled one) on my MEG Creation X399 and it was pretty straight forward. Enable bifurcation on your PCI slot to 4x4x4x4, save reboot back into BIOS, then enabled RAID, add your drives as members of the array, then reboot and install windows (having your driver on a USB thumb drive). I don't think it's any more wonky than Intels vroc, and we don't have that stupid key to worry about.
     
    Last edited: Mar 26, 2019
    Jim Kim likes this.
  8. Jim Kim

    Jim Kim 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,468
    Joined:
    May 24, 2012
  9. groebuck

    groebuck 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,458
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2000
    on a riser card.. :) using the included 3 nvme on the mobo is a bit more fun.
     
  10. groebuck

    groebuck 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,458
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2000
  11. Tricyclthief

    Tricyclthief Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    307
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
  12. cybrnook

    cybrnook [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,522
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2013
    Thanks buddy! Translated the readme:

    About PG2VN Firmware update tool
    Required conditions for rewriting: Windows 10 environment
    * Be careful about the execution *
    Please run the Firmware update tool at your own risk.
    If rewriting fails, it may not be recognized and may not be recovered / available.
    --- Procedure ---
    1. Please unzip the downloaded file.
    2. Run the extracted executable file (.exe) with administrator privileges.
    3. If Windows Protecter is protected, please click on the detailed information.
    Then press the run button.
    4. The user account control screen is displayed.
    Allow apps from this unknown publisher to make changes to the device? When
    It will come out, please press "Yes".
    5. 5 files are created.
    6. The firmware tool starts automatically as it is.
    7. Press the Rescan button in the Device column.
    The old firmware version SSD is displayed.
    8. Make sure that the Function column is DLMC. (Do not press the RUN button at this time)
    9. Make sure that the Action selector in the Parameter column is "activated at the next reset".
    10. Press Run in the Function column.
    11. Firmware will be updated.
    12. When the Tool finishes writing the Firmware, you will be prompted to shut down and restart your PC.
    Please shut down without closing the Tool window.
    13. Turn off the PC, wait for a while and then restart it.
    14. If successful, the Firmware version will be ECFM 12.2.
     
    darknite39, Anh N. and Jim Kim like this.
  13. groebuck

    groebuck 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,458
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2000
  14. Lateralus

    Lateralus More [H]uman than Human

    Messages:
    14,492
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    I totally don't need one of these.

    But I want one.

    I'm nowhere near using the full capacity of my 2 x 2TB SATA SSDs, and my 512GB 950 Pro is only about 1/3 full.

    I hate this forum sometimes, lol.
     
    86 5.0L, Jim Kim and eclypse like this.
  15. arnemetis

    arnemetis 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,668
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    I felt a similar way when I picked up my 970 evo. I really wanted to test out my 10gbit fiber connection to my server though, and bought one. Besides transfers over that, it feels identical to my 850 evo sata ssd and I regret purchasing it. Unless you have a use case for processing large amounts of data (I've found gaming to show nearly no benefit) save your money.
     
    Nenu and Lateralus like this.
  16. eclypse

    eclypse 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,050
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2003
    With that said I guess if one was installing a new system, one would then need to use this as a second drive and not the main OS drive then if we wanted to update the firmware.

    For a gaming system. Would it be best to use this drive as the os or game drive?

    I was originally thinking game drive but wondering if it would be better to have the os running off it.. ??
     
  17. Lateralus

    Lateralus More [H]uman than Human

    Messages:
    14,492
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    That's right, talk me back from that ledge! Lol. Thanks, voices of reason help keep spending in check.

    If it were me, I'd use it as an OS drive and maybe put your top 2-3 games that you're currently playing on there if you really want to. If you don't have a lot of programs installed, there's no use leaving the drive 80% empty. Someone said earlier that there isn't a huge improvement in load times vs. a SATA SSD and I'm inclined to believe that.
     
    eclypse and arnemetis like this.
  18. groebuck

    groebuck 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,458
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2000
    There have been plenty of youtube videos on mechanical vs ssd vs nvme for game loads time. LSS - ssd is just as fast a nvme for game loads in the real world and mechanical is a distant third
     
    Hulk and eclypse like this.
  19. eclypse

    eclypse 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,050
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2003
    Ok so install it as an os drive and try and flash it to the latest firmware? Hope it dont wipe it.. if so just reinstall os.

    The flash program will work if the drive is an OS drive?
     
  20. groebuck

    groebuck 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,458
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2000
    it worked for me - I flashed both my drives at the same time - rebooted - the OS drive cam back the seocnd did not, rebooted again nothing, powered down and restarted (hard off and on) it came back. No data loss. YMMV
     
    eclypse likes this.
  21. crazycuz20

    crazycuz20 [H]Lite

    Messages:
    81
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2017
    It does require a bunch of bios changes and restarting the computer to enable additional BIOS menu's. And they're motherboard specific. Then again, if you're doing NVME raid, you should know what your doing as 99% of people don't need that kind of performance. Maybe 20% on this forum ;)

    Anyways:, this youtube video, though super long, goes step by step in setting up NVME raid on a TR4 mobo
     
  22. SixFootDuo

    SixFootDuo [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,517
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004

    Absolutely terrible logic. Save your money? You mean, don't buy an SSD ... ever? This SSD is so cheap yet so incredibly fast it defies logic. If you go compare this drive and it's cost to a wide gamut of SSD's on the market its not only faster but cheaper than many of the ultra old and slower drives that are still out there cost nearly as much if not more. How you could even possibly suggest this very near-sighted.

    What would you honestly have them buy? Care to elaborate and share? Please, link us ... anything you want. Model, price and performance and explain to us why that would be a better buy over this drive.

    It's a massive 1tb NVMe for $135 that clearly holds a world top 3 spot performance wise. Zero logic applies here. You just buy it.

    And I think the community has already spoken. I'm fairly sure dozens upon dozens along with many unaccounted people have made this purchase.
     
  23. arnemetis

    arnemetis 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,668
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    I was replying to, and quoted, Lateralus. Who had mentioned he already had three ssds and was nowhere near close to filling them. So my post was specific to that scenario. I absolutely think everyone should be running on ssds for their systems and games...but I don't think the upgrade from a sata ssd to nvme ssd would serve Lateralus any benefit.

    Otherwise for someone building a pc, upgrading due to space concerns, or those who have an actual use case for the crazy speed, this is absolutely a great buy. I was never arguing against it.
     
  24. groebuck

    groebuck 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,458
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2000
    okay as requested up thread - 12.1 firm ware - TR1950x x399 mono - 1 TB Inland NVME - I set the Seq to 64/16 threads to push it - here are the results
    upload_2019-3-26_17-55-17.png
     
  25. Jim Kim

    Jim Kim 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,468
    Joined:
    May 24, 2012
    Something broke, No q1t1 write.
     
  26. groebuck

    groebuck 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,458
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2000
    after firmware - nothing broke I just stopped it - the test that really heats it up is the seq read writes
    upload_2019-3-26_18-5-44.png
     
  27. cybrnook

    cybrnook [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,522
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2013
    I am using it as an OS drive, and also installing steam and my games on the same array. With that said, I am also backing up with Acronis my specific game folders to my unraid server for safe keeping and future formats.

    You could also boot your current system up with one drive at a time and flash them all one by one, which is what I did. THEN build your array once you are ready to commit.
     
  28. yossarian

    yossarian Gawd

    Messages:
    798
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Interesting. My SSD came with the 12.2 firmware:

    Capture2.JPG

    I hoped updated to 12.2 might clear up my issue.
     
  29. Jim Kim

    Jim Kim 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,468
    Joined:
    May 24, 2012
    14 degrees celsius = 57.2 degrees fahrenheit
    Nope, you're still gonna have to put a separate space heater in the case.
     
  30. eclypse

    eclypse 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,050
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2003
    I'm not going to do a raid like I always did back in the day with spinners.

    I also have a new 1tb samsung 970 evo "free" that I was plan on using but I dont think I can use 2 m.2 drives on the asus extreme XI without causing one of them to run slow?
     
  31. Bankie

    Bankie [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,545
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    How are you guys getting 3,000+ MB/s writes? The drive specs list 1900MB/s max write and I'm getting anywhere from 1400-1900MB/s....
     
    Hulk likes this.
  32. SixFootDuo

    SixFootDuo [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,517
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004

    My apologies I took your comment out of context.
     
    Hulk and arnemetis like this.
  33. Jim Kim

    Jim Kim 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,468
    Joined:
    May 24, 2012
    What is your motherboard and what's in the occupied slots?

    If you are using the GA Z270n gaming 5 is the m2 nvme connector on the back?
    What are the drives temps?
     
    Last edited: Mar 26, 2019
  34. SixFootDuo

    SixFootDuo [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,517
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    The Phison E12 actually lists a write speed of up to 3,200MB seq. So the packaging is wrong. OR, it could just be a number they felt would cover more end users than say, the 3,000MB writes and thus avoiding returns and general headache and complaints from buyers.
     
    Last edited: Mar 27, 2019
  35. Bankie

    Bankie [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,545
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Yeah Z270 ITX board with the m.2 connector on the back. Idles in the high 40s but when testing it gets up to 72C. I'll have to see if I can rig up some way to get extra cooling to it.
     
  36. Hawk Hardcase

    Hawk Hardcase n00b

    Messages:
    43
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2019
  37. SixFootDuo

    SixFootDuo [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,517
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004

    Nice find. Looking at the PCB from what I can tell this is def from the same factor as ours and others.

    1000's of these cheap and super fast SSD NVMe are flooding into the market as we speak. No doubt Samsung will take notice soon if not already.
     
  38. encore2097

    encore2097 [H]Lite

    Messages:
    113
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Reserved the Inland Premium 1TB but Corsair MP510 960GB and this Sabrent 1 TB Rocket have 5 year warranty..

    I plan to clean install but lots of folks mention Sabrent 1TB Rocket having issues with cloning, is this specific to this drive or do all Phison E12 lack 512e?
     
  39. encore2097

    encore2097 [H]Lite

    Messages:
    113
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Well Samsung SSD bit the dust and they wont honor their warranty. Luckily paid with AmEx and they saved the day. Grabbed the Sabrent 1TB for around $125.
     
  40. SixFootDuo

    SixFootDuo [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,517
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    3 years is an incredibly long time to own an SSD. I'm guessing 4TB NVMe in 3 years for $150? Who the hell knows.

    I suspect we will see 2TB NVMe's come down to $150 by the end of this year.

    I think you're going to be ok with a 3 year warranty.

    Also, logic tells us that if these other companies are willing to give out a 5 year warranty then chances are that your same "EXACT" ssd will be healthy in 5 years. Right?