Hot! - Inland 1TB NVMe Premium $107.99 Microcenter

Discussion in '[H]ot|DEALS' started by SixFootDuo, Mar 6, 2019.

  1. Hruodgar

    Hruodgar [H]Lite

    Messages:
    74
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    amazon has it https://www.amazon.com/JEYI-SK8-NEW-Expansion-Adapter-2230-22110/dp/B07VD5PZYC
     
  2. IdiotInCharge

    IdiotInCharge [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,291
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
  3. TheSlySyl

    TheSlySyl [H]Lite

    Messages:
    86
    Joined:
    May 30, 2018
    There's a good chance they aren't traced all the way through. It doesn't show in any of the promotional shots, but when actually looking at the board, the PCI-E to M.2 converter I use only has traces on the PCB for X4. I assume its probably easier to manufacture all of them at once or something due to standardization?

    I'd show you a picture, but honestly, its already installed and i'm typing on the computer it's installed on and I just don't want to take it out again because that is a lot of work.
     
    IdiotInCharge likes this.
  4. owkia

    owkia 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,727
    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    From the product description:

    Support ×4 ×8 ×16:Based on the bandwidth limit of the NVME disk ,the underlying transport protocol is still ×4 speed.
     
  5. Unknown-One

    Unknown-One [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    8,869
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2005
    Quick note for anyone applying a heatsink to one of these: Remember to cut the thermal pad so that it ONLY makes contact with the controller and DRAM, avoiding the NAND chips entirely.

    The controller likes to run cool, but the flash actually works better at higher temperatures. Cooling NAND too much can impact the longevity of written data.
     
    tangoseal, dvsman and Hruodgar like this.
  6. Unknown-One

    Unknown-One [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    8,869
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2005
    On the adapter they linked? The fingers beyond 4x are non-functional, and the PCB is notched to allow installation into smaller slots.

    The length does, however, allow it to use the 16x slot locking mechanism, which makes for a very secure mounting system. This might be desirable in some cases (and is why the adapters that don't use a rear-bracket at all are often in 16x form factor).
     
  7. hititnquitit

    hititnquitit Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    434
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2018
  8. IdiotInCharge

    IdiotInCharge [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,291
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    See I was thinking something along these lines- forgot about that 16x lock. Also, if the traces aren't connected, then you could just snap them off (carefully) if there are motherboard components in the way.
     
  9. Lateralus

    Lateralus More [H]uman than Human

    Messages:
    14,111
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Agreed that the controller is the main thing that you'd want to keep cool. NAND is fine when it's warm; it's the controller that causes throttling.

    This was posted earlier in the thread also - may be a solution if you don't want to purchase a full length heatsink: https://www.dfrobot.com/product-112...MIpK7C2_Ca4QIV8R-tBh1nVwZiEAQYBSABEgIUQfD_BwE

    I'm sure Amazon/eBay have these also. May be a good way to go so that you don't have to worry about worrying whether the heatsink is for single sided or double sided drives, or the difference in height between the controller and the NAND. Just stick that guy on the controller and go. Even better if you can get some airflow across it.
     
    IdiotInCharge likes this.
  10. fakeng

    fakeng n00b

    Messages:
    13
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2014
    Put it in my Gigabyte Aorus X570 pro wifi. Not reconized is it just me? Might have to reseat it but jw anybody else?
     
  11. arnemetis

    arnemetis 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,631
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    On my Asus prime x370-pro, I had to unplug some of the sata devices I had (I think on ports 5&6) as they were shared. Try unplugging all sata devices and see if it's detected.
     
  12. fakeng

    fakeng n00b

    Messages:
    13
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2014
    alright it works, so can i still use the sata ports? I need at least four of them. Does yours have 6 ports? so only 5+6?
     
  13. DooLocsta

    DooLocsta [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,522
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    You will have to read your MB manual. Some of the ports are shared.
     
    Jim Kim likes this.
  14. arnemetis

    arnemetis 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,631
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Yeah I had the other four available to me. This is correct, although you may need do some trial & error. My motherboard's manual did NOT specify which ones.
     
  15. fakeng

    fakeng n00b

    Messages:
    13
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2014
    ok it works now I had to just remove sata ports. then reconnect them after restart.
     
    TheSlySyl likes this.
  16. erek

    erek 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,509
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2005
    how are these holding up so far? a good many failures reported or not? (just curious... i'm waiting to use mine for the Ryzen 3950X build...)
     
  17. TheSlySyl

    TheSlySyl [H]Lite

    Messages:
    86
    Joined:
    May 30, 2018
    Mines doing fantastic, but I haven't really put it under that many strenuous circumstances.
     
  18. clownfish27

    clownfish27 n00b

    Messages:
    31
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    i've bought one of these. i'm very satisfied.
     
  19. Kardonxt

    Kardonxt 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,907
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Mine is also problem free. No crazy loads, just my gaming PC.
     
  20. MixManSC

    MixManSC ║▌║█║▌│║▌║▌█ Staff Member

    Messages:
    6,831
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2004